We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Individual styling, extremely friendly service, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
M�Nchen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Individual styling, extremely friendly service, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although I only stayed for 2 days, I will certainly come back to the Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh. The Hotel has recently been re-decorated in a charming and individual way. I enjoyed the living room in particular. The breakfast was delicious (even though I might have liked to have more vegetarian options). The Hotel is in the City Center, easy to walk. Staff was more than pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    394
    145
    43
    18
See reviews for
134
570
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I really liked this hotel. I understand what people are saying in some of their reviews, but maybe it's that I was having so much fun with my daughter, a lot could be overlooked.
Mentioned Tripadvisor and breakfast was included in my rate. Breakfast was DEE-LISH! Loved the full Scottish option. Although we didn't take advantage of it, the honour bar was a nice option. As we experienced the entire time in our European hotels, wifi was sketchy unless on the main floor. We were fine with that but it was frustrating on occasion. Scotland was unusually warm during our stay and our window didn't open much. Thankfully, we were able to borrow a fan for our second night, which made it bearable. The room was quite small, but we weren't spending much time in our room anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. The staff were very kind. Location is great, not too far off the beaten path. Overall, a grand experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNSarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Brooks Hotel Edinburgh for 3 nights in June. The hotel is just a 5-10 minute walk from the train station and when we arrived we were impressed with how the building looks from the outside. Check-in was quick and simple although we were a little disappointed to be told that breakfast wasn't included with our booking as we were under the impression that when we booked it was. Our room was nicely decorated and clean (apart from a couple of stains on the bedding). The room was very small and I think the walls of this hotel must be made of paper as we could here everything that was happening in the room next door and on the corridor also it seems that when your room is serviced all they do is make the bed, we had to ask at reception for toilet roll, tea & coffee as none of these things were replaced in our room after we had used them. Overall we didn't have a bad stay but I wouldn't recommend this hotel as I do not believe it offers particularly good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBarrowclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked this hotel on account of a friend's recommendation and the good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. We were, surprisingly upgraded to a bigger room, which was a lovely bonus on arrival. The room was spacious and had a good shower. The decor of the hotel could do with updating but this isn't a reason to not come again. At breakfast we were spoilt for choice! A great selection on the buffet and fanstatsic specials. The location is ok. It is a good 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile, but this didn't stop us. Edinburgh is a great city to visit and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyAttwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

don't expect the nicest most spacious room, but for what we paid, it was quite comfortable and in a good location. It is a bit run down, but as I mentioned I felt that we got a good deal for what we paid. We did not attend the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

9 if us stayed here for either 1 or 2 nights for a friends 40th birthday. This was the only hotel who was able to accommodate some of the party staying 1 or 2 nights so was by far the most flexible. The hotel is. 5 min walk from Haymarket but 5 mins from Lothian Rd and is quite central. What makes this cool hotel so appealing is the stylish decor, the great breakfasts and the casual dining and living room feel. The staff were more than friendly too. We were able to join as a group in their main reception room and have some birthday celebrations before dinner. They have an honesty bar which makes it feel even more homely and private which is also a unique selling point.
This hotel is great value in comparison to some of the mainstream hotels on offer. Would not really consider staying anywhere else if we were in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bundytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff here was wonderful. The room was a bit cramped, but nice and clean. We did not have a package that included breakfast, so did not eat there. The location was OK. You did have to walk by some strip clubs to get to the Grassmarket area, but it seemed safe enough. Very close to a Tesco food store. The only complaint I have is that the radiators were locked so you could not adjust the temperature. That would have been Ok if they had put a top sheet on the bed in addition to the comforter/duvet. I was too hot at night and needed a lighter covering. Not including a top sheet seemed to be the trend everywhere in Scotland. Out of 5 places we stayed, only two had top sheets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing