We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed at this property since a friend recommended it and had lovely experience.This place is truly unique and magical. The staff is attentive to your needs and will bend over backwards to make sure each and every guest is happy . Would love to stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Btman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at Kildonan in room 5 on July 22nd. Amazing are the only words to describe our stay. We dropped our car off and went to pay our room before we checked in early morning of our stay, we were greeted by a lovely lady only too happy to help. We later returned to check in and the gentleman was also lovely. We were then guided to our room, as soon as I stepped in I was ecstatic as it was gorgeous and we had also been given a complimentary bottle of Prosecco for our engagement weekend. The room was fresh, modern, clean as was the bathroom. There is also comp sherry and shortbread, though we didn't oblige! The room was on the ground floor, prefect for our car as its right outside and easy to carry our bags in. We didn't get to sample the bar or restaurant as we had been out all day. But our stay was fantastic, the staff are so helpful. I can't wait to come back.
Thank you so much!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank perfectlady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great service with friendly and helpful staff.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Warm family welcome; beautiful 4 poster bed and super bathroom. All the service of a larger hotel but Much more friendly. And lovely Scottish breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drdavidwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, great service and nice and cosy rooms. Definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel is very well place, being easy to get to when coming from outside Edinburgh and with good on-site parking - which is a real bonus. It's also easy to get to the centre of Edinburgh either by taxi or bus, which removes all the hassle of fighting through city centre traffic and finding somewhere to park, as the hotel are happy for you to leave your car at the hotel during the day. The only thing to highlight is that the entrance to the car park is not that obvious and can easily be missed when first arriving at the hotel.

The hotel itself is a very gracious Victorian villa, full of character and charm with stylish and comfortable rooms. The gardens and grounds were well groomed and maintained. All the staff were friendly and polite and the breakfast was very enjoyable. The whole stay was very pleasurable and was good value for money, particularly when compared to other hotels in Edinburgh. For either business trip or leisure break this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Channelhopper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you found us to be in a good location. The Edinburgh buses are fantastic as they are so regular and you can get one from right outside the hotel. We are also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff friendly and polite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan Lodge hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff were friendly and very obliging. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and we found the location of the hotel perfect for getting into Edinburgh either on foot or by bus. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silver_lady_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,311 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing