We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel for three nights between 14th and 17th February. We arrived mid-afternoon after a long drive, and the staff couldn't be more welcoming. We were offered the cosy living room area to wait in while they finalised our booking, and then received the good news that we had been upgraded to the four-poster room. The room was beautiful - modern yet traditional, with a lovely touch in complimentary whiskey and shortbread. We also had extra chocolates on our pillows because it was Valentines Day - all the little gestures make a big difference. There were tea and coffee making facilities as well as a TV, and iPod deck.

Our tea and coffee, and the whiskey and shortbread were replaced every day, and our towels changed too.

The breakfasts were lovely - there was a huge variety of cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fruit and yoghurt, and also hot options such as a classic Scottish breakfast and porridge. I trialled most of it and it was all very tasty.

The location of the hotel is nearing on perfect. It is walkable distance into town if you are a keen stroller (takes about 25-30mins) but if not, it is on a main bus route. There are a number of buses you can get in and out of the city, and we never waited more than 5mins. The distance from the city meant that it was still quiet despite being so close to a huge city.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and answered any questions we had - they have good tips on where to go and when, and told us exactly which buses to get to go where we wanted. They also allowed us to leave our car in the hotel car park until late afternoon, after we had checked out.

Since we have returned, the staff have continued their excellent service as well - I inadvertantly left a t-shirt behind in our room. On calling the hotel, they had located it and were more than happy to post it to my home address. My t-shirt is lost no more!

Tips on what to do in Edinburgh:
Arthur's Seat makes a cracking walk on a nice day. It's quite strenuous but the view from the top is unbeatable.
The ghost tours on the Royal Mile were good fun, and also quite insightful and educational. We used a company called Auld Reekie.
The Britannia - we weren't going to bother heading to the port to see HMY Britannia, but it was interesting and worth the trip.

I would **DEFINITELY** recommend this hotel to anybody looking to head to Edinburgh for a city break, and would stay there again if I ever return.

Well done Kildonan Lodge - you deserve every one of the four stars you have got, plus another!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. All of us really appreciate the lovely things you have said.

It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Edinburgh. It is a great city to visit and has lots to see and do.

We do hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind regards,
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked out most rooms of this boutique hotel for a weekend birthday party group and danced away a couple of nights until three. Cosy drawing room with flame fire and 24 hour bar service, masqueraded by the snowy lawns outside. Banqueting service used in the hotel restaurant, complimented the experience. Definitely my hotel of choice in Edinburgh, after years of trying all the well known brands. Wonderful full Scottish breakfast, should impress you. Close to bus service into the City and Waverley Railway Station. Good bars and restaurants 30 minutes walk, one & half miles away; or a good taxi service available. Take a train ride over the Forth Bridge alongside the Fife coast, if you have a sunny afternoon spare, or visit the Panda's at the zoo.

Room Tip: Try the Annex if you prefer very quiet enviroment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Excellent hotel, tastefully and sympathetically decorated, very clean with friendly and helpful staff. Also has the advantage in Edinburgh of having a good size car park and being an easy short bus ride or taxi journey to the city centre. We stayed in one of the Executive King rooms and the bed was huge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Booked the 4 Poster Bed Double Room for a weekend away with the S.O. and was very impressed with the overall quality and level of service here. The room was immaculate and well furnished, with many additional amenities such as DVD player, iron and complimentary sherry and short bread! The jacuzzi bath was fantastic as well, with the bathroom overall being very spacious and well cleaned. Breakfast was great, fresh Full English breakfast as well as a buffet with the usual juices and nibbles. We stayed in the hotel for food the first night as well, and the quality was very good; I'd definitely recommend the Rib-eye steak, it's very reasonably priced and excellently prepared.

As for location, couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. Across the road is a bus stop that has services into both the Haymarket, Waverly station and the Zoo, though the new tram line makes for quite a long travel time to the zoo. You can get a day ticket for £3.50 that covers you on all Lothian bus services, which are the majority of services to and from the hotel. It's around £8 to get a taxi into town or to the station, and the hotel will gladly ring you a taxi and are very prompt to arrive.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel for those looking for a convenient, luxury trip away! The value for money is great, but may be a little expensive for most, though I'd argue worth every penny! The S.O. loved it, so all in all money well spent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are all really pleased that you were impressed with the quality and level of service and that you thought that your room was immaculate.
All our rooms do come with the same amenities and especially in the winter months we do find that the complimentary sherry and shortbread go down a treat to warm guests up after sightseeing.
We are on a main bus route so it is easy getting in to the city centre with several buses that go to the city centre from right across from the Kildonan.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again! Kind regards
All of us at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

What a wonderful find this hotel was - serendipity!
We had an awful journey to Edinburgh which should of taken 4-5 hrs max but ended up being 7, we were tired and stressed but this all vanished when we walked through the doors of this wee gem of a hotel.
A warm fire awaited us in the lounge and when we were shown to our bedroom WOW!! We had booked the Blackwatch room with its enormous 6ft wide 4 posterbed, This room is so spacious with its ornate high ceiling and marble fireplace. Breakfast the following morning was a choice from the menu as well as the buffet of cheeses, fruit salad, yogurts, cooked meats and pastries not forgetting fruit juices and as much tea or coffee as you like. We ate at the hotel on Saturday evening and had a fantastic meal, the ribeye steak was the best we had ever had. Sean who served us was a wonderful host and very friendly. The honesty bar is very good value with ample choice. With free parking and its close proximity to the city centre this is a perfect choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skye1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the Kildonan for five nights in January travelling with our four months old baby. We found all needed comforts and facilties for him (small bath tub, changing mat, cot, highchair,...). Breakfast selection and quality are great, the hotel staff is nice and helpful. The hotel is a small historic building (don't expect a moden style reception, nor search for an elevetor since it can't find place easily in this kind of building) placed at 15 minutes by direct bus from the Royal Mile. This is my second time here, I'll surely stay here if I travel to Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

this small hotel is a wee gem - it is warm, friendly and cosy and near the bus stop for the city - the staff are absolutely lovely and the whole ambience is very relaxed - it has a country house sort of feel about it. The lounge in the main building has a fire (coal effect gas - very nice) - sofas, newsaper and an honesty bar to which you help yourself and just note what you have taken. the annex has another more modern lounge with TV and computer/printer access. If you are looking for a big hotel with pool etc then this is not your sort of place but if you are looking for the personal touch in a smaller establishment then this is for you. the rooms are all different and you can have a four poster bed if you want !

I was at a private party and we had a set meal so i can't say what the a la carte menu was like. the food at the pary was quality straighforward cooking with and excellent steak pie and superb cakes. The wine served by the hotel was very nice - e.g a particularly high quality Prosecco. People who stayed over told me the breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: ask about the different styles of room - some are more modern, some traditional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £87 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing