We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A little disappointed but great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was my first visit to Edinburgh and was delighted with the city but not quite so taken with the Kildonan Lodge I'm afraid. We had booked an executive room as it was my birthday but the room (room 5) was stuffy and airless and the window was extremely hard to open and because the room was on the "garden" floor, in other words basement, we were unable to leave it open for security reasons. The shower was poor and the room was very noisy as we were underneath the kitchen and I am very surprised that this comment has not been made before as it was hard to ignore the footsteps scurrying around above us early in the morning and past 10 in the evening.

However on the positive side, the sherry and shortbread were a lovely touch, the location was great but if I were to visit Edinburgh again, and I sincerely hope I do, I would not stay at the Kildonan again - sorry but I think you could do better in a city which is crammed full of visitors.

Room Tip: Not Room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arstambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    141
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
311
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The School Reunion was a lunch event with 21 attending. We chose the Kildonan Lodge because of its elegance, gentle and friendly atmosphere. Chrystal and Sean could not have been more attentive, even down to last minute changes, photocopying requests - nothing was too much trouble. I had requested the heating at the last minute, even though this was mid-May and it was lovely and warm. The lunch was expertly cooked and beautifully presented and served. We had the sole use of the relaxing drawing room and comfortable dining room. The facilities were good and clean. I had been shown the bedrooms and noted the complimentary sherry as well as tea/coffee facilities. It is the little extras that count. We chose the Kildonan Lodge as it is only 10 mins from the centre of Edinburgh and has ample parking at the rear. This suited our guests who were from as far away as Australia, London, south of England, Cumbria, the Borders, Aberdeen and Glasgow.
This is definitely a venue to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Spent an enjoyable break in the Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh. The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of the city, with ample, private free parking behind the hotel. We spent two nights in a sumptuous room with a large and comfy four-poster bed. The room was spacious, with the bay window filling the room with light. The room was very clean and well appointed, and all of the staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and was fresh and wholesome. Wi-Fi in the room and a bus-stop just outside the hotel. Whenever possible I stay in this hotel when in Edinburgh and will do so again in the future. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaygeetee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Excellent rooms, clean and stylish with superb bathroom and a good shower! Superb coffee/tea making facilities - great to see hot chocolate in the rooms. The complimentary sherry and shortcake was gorgeous too and a nice touch
Breakfast had a good buffet and hot selection - i recommend the porridge!
the wi-fi connection was very good and i was able to work with ease in the sitting room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyH1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just stayed this weekend, had a fantastic time, lovely room with four poster bed.
Usually stay in the city centre at Roxburgh, George, Apex or Hilton Hotels but this is better !
Staff were lovely, breakfast was delicious.
Will definately come back.
City Centre 10 mins by bus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmct m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in Edinburgh, originally we looked to stay nearer the city centre in one of the 'chain hotels' But, for not much more money we decided last minute to try the Kildonan Lodge. So glad we did, it is a lovely period property, we stayed in one of the superior four poster rooms with jacuzzi bath, which is fab after walking round Edinburgh for 6-7 hours. the quality of the furnishings is superb and the bed was perfect for a great nights sleep.. Great full breakfast is a must to start the day. The staff were very freindly and helpful, making our stay a great one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Thank you to Crystal and all staff. Superb service, fantastic food and that warm lounge! Fabulous! Nothing was too much trouble. The lodge is amazing! Had a lovely big room with gorgeous big bath, steaming hot water and sensible sized towels.. Lovely! We had a wonderful stay and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deacon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing