We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location lovely room super breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for two nights last week and it was perfect. 1.5 miles from the centre of Edinburgh the hosts told us about the buses and also arranged castle tickets. The room was bright, comfortable and very clean. The extra touch of shortbread and sherry was nice too.
All the staff were very pleasant and very helpful.
A great stay and we will book again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We usually stay in the centre of Edinburgh but with the Marathon the hotels were booked up. My daughter found this hotel on the internet and although we were apprehensive, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room (room 7) was traditionally decorated, overlooked the car park and was clean and comfortable. The only let down was that the shelf in the wardrobe was dusty. The free car park was brilliant, especially in Edinburgh. Although the hotel is about a 45 min walk from the centre of Edinburgh, it is very convenient for a number of regular buses. The food was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was my first visit to Edinburgh and was delighted with the city but not quite so taken with the Kildonan Lodge I'm afraid. We had booked an executive room as it was my birthday but the room (room 5) was stuffy and airless and the window was extremely hard to open and because the room was on the "garden" floor, in other words basement, we were unable to leave it open for security reasons. The shower was poor and the room was very noisy as we were underneath the kitchen and I am very surprised that this comment has not been made before as it was hard to ignore the footsteps scurrying around above us early in the morning and past 10 in the evening.

However on the positive side, the sherry and shortbread were a lovely touch, the location was great but if I were to visit Edinburgh again, and I sincerely hope I do, I would not stay at the Kildonan again - sorry but I think you could do better in a city which is crammed full of visitors.

Room Tip: Not Room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arstambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The School Reunion was a lunch event with 21 attending. We chose the Kildonan Lodge because of its elegance, gentle and friendly atmosphere. Chrystal and Sean could not have been more attentive, even down to last minute changes, photocopying requests - nothing was too much trouble. I had requested the heating at the last minute, even though this was mid-May and it was lovely and warm. The lunch was expertly cooked and beautifully presented and served. We had the sole use of the relaxing drawing room and comfortable dining room. The facilities were good and clean. I had been shown the bedrooms and noted the complimentary sherry as well as tea/coffee facilities. It is the little extras that count. We chose the Kildonan Lodge as it is only 10 mins from the centre of Edinburgh and has ample parking at the rear. This suited our guests who were from as far away as Australia, London, south of England, Cumbria, the Borders, Aberdeen and Glasgow.
This is definitely a venue to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Spent an enjoyable break in the Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh. The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of the city, with ample, private free parking behind the hotel. We spent two nights in a sumptuous room with a large and comfy four-poster bed. The room was spacious, with the bay window filling the room with light. The room was very clean and well appointed, and all of the staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and was fresh and wholesome. Wi-Fi in the room and a bus-stop just outside the hotel. Whenever possible I stay in this hotel when in Edinburgh and will do so again in the future. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaygeetee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Excellent rooms, clean and stylish with superb bathroom and a good shower! Superb coffee/tea making facilities - great to see hot chocolate in the rooms. The complimentary sherry and shortcake was gorgeous too and a nice touch
Breakfast had a good buffet and hot selection - i recommend the porridge!
the wi-fi connection was very good and i was able to work with ease in the sitting room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyH1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just stayed this weekend, had a fantastic time, lovely room with four poster bed.
Usually stay in the city centre at Roxburgh, George, Apex or Hilton Hotels but this is better !
Staff were lovely, breakfast was delicious.
Will definately come back.
City Centre 10 mins by bus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnmct m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £87 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing