We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Kildonan Lodge for one night during a long overdue trip to Edinburgh. The hotel is handily located - ten minutes from the city centre. The room was large, clean and airy with a large bathroom (jacuzzi bath). Very comfortable hotel, very relaxing and homely. The staff were great - friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was the best I’ve had in a long time. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone, thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which had a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Unit_150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    139
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
68
307
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Kildonan Lodge. We had a huge room (number 8) which had a four poster bed and two twins added for our kids. We had more than enough room for us, our backpacks, etc. The property was very clean and the staff were superb. The hotel is an easy walk to the Royal Mile (1.5 miles). Breakfasts were nice with the cooked breakfast being much better than the continental selections. If you are looking for a place to stay in Edinburgh that is on the outskirts of town this is an excellent choice. It is very easy to drive to without worrying about crazy traffic or parking in the city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Welcoming and comfortable. Ideal location for the excellent bus service to and from the city centre, reception will give you their business card with the bus numbers printed on it, very useful. Holyrood Park is only 20 mins walk away and Arthurs Seat is certainly worth the climb for the wonderful views.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW77Carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel and it was lovely.
So convenient for a trip to Edinburgh so much so we plan to return. The room was comfortable, bed was amazing and the sherry and shortbread were a treat.
I read reviews before going and whilst the basement rooms mean you can hear breakfast being served in the morning it was not to early and I am happy to live with a little noise for the pleasure of staying in such a beautiful character crammed hotel.
We used the honesty bar for a nightcap before bed and sat in the stunning guest lounge enjoying the surroundings.
If you like old buildings with original features, friendly attentive staff and that bit of luxury then this is a great place to stay. We were even allowed to leave our car after checking out so we could call into the city centre on the bus to collect something showing flexibility and great customer service, we will be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in basement room 4 it was lovely, I would presume the top rooms would be quieter in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for two nights last week and it was perfect. 1.5 miles from the centre of Edinburgh the hosts told us about the buses and also arranged castle tickets. The room was bright, comfortable and very clean. The extra touch of shortbread and sherry was nice too.
All the staff were very pleasant and very helpful.
A great stay and we will book again for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We usually stay in the centre of Edinburgh but with the Marathon the hotels were booked up. My daughter found this hotel on the internet and although we were apprehensive, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room (room 7) was traditionally decorated, overlooked the car park and was clean and comfortable. The only let down was that the shelf in the wardrobe was dusty. The free car park was brilliant, especially in Edinburgh. Although the hotel is about a 45 min walk from the centre of Edinburgh, it is very convenient for a number of regular buses. The food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was my first visit to Edinburgh and was delighted with the city but not quite so taken with the Kildonan Lodge I'm afraid. We had booked an executive room as it was my birthday but the room (room 5) was stuffy and airless and the window was extremely hard to open and because the room was on the "garden" floor, in other words basement, we were unable to leave it open for security reasons. The shower was poor and the room was very noisy as we were underneath the kitchen and I am very surprised that this comment has not been made before as it was hard to ignore the footsteps scurrying around above us early in the morning and past 10 in the evening.

However on the positive side, the sherry and shortbread were a lovely touch, the location was great but if I were to visit Edinburgh again, and I sincerely hope I do, I would not stay at the Kildonan again - sorry but I think you could do better in a city which is crammed full of visitors.

Room Tip: Not Room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arstambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing