We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stumbled across Kildonan Lodge when lots of other hotels in the city center were occupied. It turned out to be a good choice because it is a charming and elegant small hotel with friendly staff and nice comfortable rooms. And good parking behind the hotel which was handy and it turned out that the city was quite near with public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights whilst on a golf tour. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, pointing out to a South African the ways and means of getting into the heart of Edinburgh. And assisting with any and all queries as to places to visit. The breakfast was both fulsome and hearty (the scrambled eggs were particularly enjoyable), and my party of 9 thoroughly enjoyed the porridge. I stayed in room 12 at the top of the Lodge, which being a poor sleeper was a slight hassle given the ventilation in the room relied on the window fronting onto the road, with the resultant noise problem. But the room was spacious, my fitness improved climbing the steps, and the entire establishment was spotlessly clean. I was a little surprised that ironing could not be done (a clothes washing service was offered but did not include ironing), and the honesty bar was well stocked and something of a curiosity to me coming from whence I do. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed for a night during the Edinburgh Festival. I arrived too early to check-in but the receptionist was very helpful and assured me I could check in even if I arrived back very late after a show. She was as true as her word. I arrived at 11.30pm and was still greeted in a friendly manner and the man who looked after me insisted on carrying my bag up to the 2nd floor for me.

My room was very well appointed and comfortable. There was even a small carafe of sherry and shortbread biscuits waiting as a greeting. The Wi-Fi was, however, rather weak and pretty useless.

My breakfast in the morning was very nice and the Wi-Fi on the ground floor strong. They obviously need to tweak the signal on the upper floors.

The hotel is a few miles outside Edinburgh but directly on a bus route into the centre of with a number of different lines serving it. In effect I had my own my own Park & Ride with unlimited bus travel for £3.50 per day.

The hotel wasn't cheap but neither was it very expensive, it was right in the middle of the Edinburgh Festival and as I booked rather late I had to pay a premium. In all it offered good value for money.

Room Tip: Being on the second (top) floor meant that there was no one above me. I noticed that the floor creak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieCoppersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The long road from the centre of Edinburgh which starts as North Bridge and changes a few times ending up at Craigmillar Park at the Kildonan is home to many small hotels and B&Bs. The Kildonan is a large house in the local style, rooms are very spacious and attractively furnished. Good breakfast in a very nice dining room. Helpful, friendly staff. Attracts civilised clientele.

About a 25 minute walk into town or 1.50 pounds on a very frequent, exact change only bus service.

Rooms 4 and 5 suffer from a lot of step noise from creaky wooden floor above. Not a problem if you are getting up for work in the mornings but would avoid if you are planning a lie-in. Surprisingly, road noise wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Staying in Edinburgh for a few days and this hotel is ideally placed - not too far out of the city and frequent buses. We walked in once but then decided on the bus for the rest of our journeys!
The rooms were very comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and the breakfast ample.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here from the 2nd to the 4th August. Staff are very friendly and helpful, advised us on how to get to the centre and what busses to catch and which ones to not. Our room was very clean and tidy. A couple of suggestions would be to maybe have some water and soft drinks in the bar fridge rather than just beer and wine and maybe have fans available for the bedrooms in hot weather, as our room was quite warm on a night. However these are just personal preferences and overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frakiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

stayed for 3 nights in the lodge at the rear of the hotel (room 2) and found all to be good. clean,helpful staff,fantastic breakfast and location is good. far enough out of the centre but not too far away with regular buses and taxis are easy to get in such a big city. would go back here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ste33ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,311 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing