We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in south of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in south of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A very welcoming and comfortable hotel about 1.5 miles south of Edinburgh city centre. Very convenient both for the University Kings Buildings campus (10-15 mins walk) and for the city centre (35-40 mins walk), so for a mix of business and leisure. An ideal base when visiting Edinburgh by car (easy access from/to the city by-pass). Our room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a superb meal in their restaurant on the evening we arrived and did not feel like venturing very far. I can thoroughly recommend it and hope to be back when I next have business in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Hapgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    141
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
311
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Kildonan: the hotel was very good value with excellent service and very comfortable stay in a very convenient location. The hotel has on-site parking and excellent bus loinks into the city.

The staff were very good, the room & bed comfortable and the facilities were also very comfortable – a very nice lounge and conservatory. The sherry & shortcake in the room was a nice touch and breakfast was excellent too.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very comfortable but underneath the dining room so a bit noisy in the morniong if a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I visit Edinburgh quite often and have stayed in several hotels, however I am so glad to have discovered this little gem in our capital. Impeccably clean, wonderful service and a stones throw from the bustle of Princes Street. Excellent bus service from outside the front door. Lovely touch having sherry and shortbread in our room on arrival. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you found the service wonderful and that you enjoy the sherry and shortbread.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan hopefully soon.

From all of us at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a treat from our daughter along with visits to Edinburgh Zoo and the Scottish Parliament Question Time. We could not fault this hotel on anything. Our reception at this hotel was first class as was the service from the staff!

Room Tip: Our room was to the back of the hotel, very quiet away from the bustle of the busy street. just perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and service first class.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is our 2nd visit to the Kildonan Lodge, and it wont be our last. As soon as we walked in it felt warm cosy and inviting. The lamps were all on in the sitting room and the fire on. We had booked the same room as last year the Blackwatch room, so we knew what to expect. We were not disappointed. The complimentary decanter of sherry and shortbread were on the table, a lovely welcome gesture. I had booked a table in the restaurant for the Friday evening, I am coeliac which is not a problem for the staff at the Kildonan. We had eaten here last visit so I knew the food was good. We were that impressed we booked for our 2nd night. The chef had gone to the trouble of getting me gluten free bread so that I could enjoy the balsamic vinegar and oil dip. The waitress that served us for our evening meals was wonderful, a credit to the Kildonan Lodge. Our meals on both nights were delicious and very good value. I Had fillet steak on one night and it was cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for the waitress (I forgot to ask her name) or the chef. Breakfast is again delicious and what a choice you get. Getting into Edinburgh center is so easy, the bus stops are directly opposite the hotel and run every 10 mins, Its cheaper to get a day ticket at £3.50.(You dont get any change, so have the correct money for all bus journey's)
We love the personal service that you receive at the Kildonan Lodge, something larger hotels could learn from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate it.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Maggie and all of us at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

just back from a weekend visit to kildonan lodge bed and breakfast and evening meal deal ,staff were excellent,room was lovely,breakfast and evening meal were off a high standard and most enjoyable,give this hotel a try you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmct m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Maggie and staff would like to thank you for your lovely review. We really do appreciate guests taking the time to post such lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kildonan Lodge Hotel sometime in the future.
Kind regards
From all of us at the Kildonan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Pros : Hotel was well cleaned and well presented. Bed was comfy and really loved the jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was more than adequate and had good selection of none cooked options. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Cons: Had slight problem with the safe

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixiewillow1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing