We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$237
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$271
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
388
158
35
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
158
35
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barcomplimentary sherryfour poster bedspa bathhonor barcity centreblack watchday ticketsmall hotelbus servicesitting roomlovely hotelfrequent busesfree car parkleave the carmain roadminute bus ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently took a weekend trip to Edinburgh, and I had a really difficult time finding an affordable place that could cater for 3 adults and 1 child for 2 nights. Luckily, Kildonan Lodge had 2 rooms available at what I thought was a very reasonable rate. The lady who took my booking went out of her way to figure out how to accommodate us, even at one point calling me back to suggest a room alteration that might make our group more comfortable.

Kildonan Lodge is an easy bus ride from the city center - or about an 8 pound taxi trip. We called a cab from the lobby phone to take us into the city on four occasions, and never waited for more than 5 minutes for the taxi to show up. Walking to/from the castle is possible, and we in fact did it one evening (not sure what a previous review means when it says the hotel is in a place you wouldn't want to walk through at night - we certainly had no problems) though it can be a bit far after a day of walking around the city.
The hotel itself is clean, and in line with what you'd expect for a four star establishment. Two of the adults in our party stayed in room 6, which is right across from the guest counter. We were initially concerned about being disturbed by the noise of people coming and going, but had no problems. Room 6 is also towards the back of the hotel, so no problems with street noise either. The room was small, but not cramped, and we found the double four-poster bed very comfortable. There was decent hanging space with a wardrobe on either side of the bed, and a few drawers for storing folded clothes. The bathroom was spacious, though the bathtub/shower was a bit narrow, and the bathtub drain didn't provide enough of a seal to hold water (though I notified the hotel of this and it may be fixed for future guests). There was no lock on the bathroom door, and the door itself sticks in the upper right corner, making opening/closing it a bit of a chore (my wife actually got stuck in the bathroom at one point and needed me to come get her out).
The other adult and child stayed in room 2, on the lower-ground floor. This room was a bit larger, had a fully functioning bathtub, though again, no lock on the bathroom door, and also had decent hanging space. The two single beds were very comfortable. Both rooms had complimentary sherry and biscuits, which was a very nice touch. We were able to access the complimentary wifi from both rooms, though the signal wasn't very strong, and we found internet access to be slow.
Breakfast was good, with a small buffet for cereals, fruits, yogurts and a small sampling of cold meats and cheeses. The full Scottish breakfast comes with plenty of food, the omelettes were huge, and the staff were very accommodating of any requests for extra sides. We all enjoyed the breakfast, though I think we would have gotten bored with the selection had we stayed for a few more nights. We did not have a chance to try the restaurant for dinner, but we got a couple of great recommendations for restaurants in town from the hotel staff.
Speaking of the staff, everyone we dealt with was without fail pleasant, polite, and helpful. They really do a lot to make this a nice place to stay.
Overall, despite a few minor issues, we very much enjoyed our stay here. It was the ideal combination of value and comfort from which to base our exploration of Edinburgh. I would certainly stay again if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Kildonan lodge Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your comfortable stay and would stay again. We are glad that you found the complimentary sherry and biscuits a very nice touch and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
The minor points that you mentioned have been rectified and we appreciate that you have taken the time to bring them to our attention. We always welcome feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan Lodge Hotel.

Kind regards
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I and many of my colleagues have used this hotel for many years as it is convenient to our business address. The staff are always excellent, welcoming, friendly and professional.
The rooms are in very good order, the breakfast is a good size and the dining room, in this lovely old house, is a very pleasant place to eat.
I have stayed in a variety of rooms but prefer the main house to the annexe at the back, the car park is large too.
I thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay that's within easy access by bus or a brisk 30 minute walk into town.

Room Tip: The ground floor and above in the main house are what I'd ask for, the annexe is ok but isn't old and has no character but the room standards always match the main house.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner & Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear David

Thank you for your very kind review. We appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted that you and your colleagues have stayed with us for many years we really appreciate your loyalty.
We would love you to have a look at the lodge next time you here all the rooms have been completely refurbished including the bathrooms which look fantastic.
But as always it is your choice which room you stay in.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Maggie & Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed two nights, that was more than enough. All the staff were excellent, very attentive polite and nothing was too much trouble. Award winning chef I don't think so, we were not impressed at all with any of the meals. The hotel itself is in dire need of some TLC. The only other positive I would give is the location for easy access to the city by bus, its not a district to walk through in the evening.It certainly does not deserve 4 Star Status.

Room Tip: Room 14 small and noisy, road noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always appreciate guest feedback. We are pleased that you found the staff attentive, polite and that nothing was too much trouble. We are disappointed that you did not raise your concerns with us during your visit and we may have had an opportunity to resolve your issues.
Our restaurant has received a taste our best award from VisitScotland who review us independently and without prior knowledge of their visit. We note that you dined with us twice thank you.
When booking a room at Kildonan lodge we do stress that we have standard executive and for poster rooms on this occasion you did selected a Classic Double room. All our rooms have been awarded four star by VisitScotland including our classic Doubles. We have this week had our annual visit by visit Scotland and were delighted to confirm our four star status for the coming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just left after 2 nights there and wished we were staying longer! While our room had the squeakiest floor we have ever heard, our experience there was excellent. We are a family of four (incl two young teens) and had the green tartan bedroom. The kids' beds were very comfortable, as was the lovely (but squeaky!) four-poster bed. The room was huge and beautiful and the bathroom updated. Very friendly staff, delicious food, and great location for buses into town. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Alissa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Charming staff, pleasant rooms, lovely garden. Kildonan Lodge is a good base for seeing Edinburgh, and perfectly good value for a city hotel. We walked into town sometimes, and sometimes took one of the many buses that stop near the hotel. When we arrived, one of the cleaning staff had obviously spilled carpet shampoo or similar on our floor in error, and the wet pool of it smelled really strong, but the staff in charge dealt with the problem quickly and were very apologetic. Decent breakfast, smart bathrooms, great lounge for relaxing with a real Victorian Edinburgh vibe. Our teenage sons shared a basement room which was a little dark, so perhaps ask for the higher-up rooms.

Room Tip: Basement rooms darker.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews