We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worked well for the Festival” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“worked well for the Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were part of a group of 3 couple who stayed here for the Edinburgh Festival. A nice old house that is a little tired but has beautiful original features. The staff are all great and we enjoyed the breakfasts. The bus stop is outside on the other side of the road and we never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus. The trip in to town is only about 10 minutes. Parking spaces are large and I was not concerned that another thoughless guest was going to dent my car. The parking is set back , and lower than the road so not visible. It is difficult to be objective about the price as I think it is very good vale at its normal rates but not so at the inflated Festival levels. I sleep with the window open and we were on the front of the house so traffic noise is very obvious my friends were on the back of the house and had no issues.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    137
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
301
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Booked this hotel having read previous reviews about being on bus route to city centre and this proved to be a big plus in our stay.
Arrived early morning and parked up the car to let us have a great day in the city.
Room wasnt ready but that wasnt a problem since we were there very early.
Staff very helpful and pointed us in right direction for bus.
Single ticket to centre £1.50 and very frequent service both ways.
Returned late that night to a super room which was spotless and very comfortable.
Excellent breakfast the following morning.
Great service and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed here several times and find it reasonably priced and comfortable. It is on a good bus route into the centre of Edinburgh and has plenty of parking. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfasts are good. We like the jacuzzi baths, particularly after walking around Edinburgh. We will no doubt stay again.

Room Tip: The Hotel is on a busy road so rooms at the back are quieter. This time we had a room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for returning to stay with us.
We are glad that you find the staff friendly and helpful and that the breakfast is good.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan Lodge Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Chrystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our 4th visit to Kildonan Lodge, we love the warm ambiance, the friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Stayed in lodge 1 this time, love the new bathroom. Thanks, see you all next year. George and Ellie, Yarm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norika11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you George and Ellie

We were delighted to welcome you back to the Kildonan Lodge Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The staff were friendly, polite and attentive. We booked the executive double room which, with the exception of an off-putting dark line where the carpet met the skirting boards, was clean and comfortable However, as it was in the basement, it seemed dark and dingy regardless of the decor. We saw your reply to a previous guest that they had only booked a classic double and this seemed to imply they shouldn't expect much, hence we opted for what we thought would be a better room. The main parts of the hotel really are in need of attention. I'm sure many overseas visitors regard them as quaint but they just appeared really 1970/80's to us - very tired. The guest lounge and dining room give you the impression you're staying with your grandparents. The honesty bar is a side board where you help yourself. There are only three choices of whisky in the "whisky bar". We enjoyed the breakfast with much of the produce locally sourced. The room price was double the hotel we had stayed the previous evening and I'm sorry to say it wasn't a patch on it. I note that the Scottish tourist board have this a four star rating but that's very subjective and whilst older people may find the "home comforts" theme welcoming, we just found it oppressive and a little scary - and we're in our fifties! The bus service is very frequent and the hotel is conveniently situated for easy access to the city. The free car park is an ample size. I believe the dinner is provided by outside caterers ( I think they're called "Number 27"). We didn't have dinner as, disappointingly we were told on arrival that the caterer had telephoned in sick and so we'd have to eat out. I note your comment to a previous visitor that they should have raised these issues with you in person but short of suggesting a complete refurbishment there seemed little point. Guests vote with their feet, and if you want to retain customers you need to up your game.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Julsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Kildonan Lodge Hotel which has been awarded four stars by Visitscotland.

We are delighted that you found the staff friendly polite and attentive and pleased that you found your executive room clean and comfortable. This room has recently been completely furbished with its flat screen TV, super king size bed and new bathroom. The room is situated on our garden level and the door leads direct to our large free car park and lodge garden. Our hotel as stated on our website dates back to 1874 and our public rooms are furnished with antique furniture to reflect that period.

We are very fortunate to have a very frequent bus service outside the hotel which reaches the city centre very quickly. We are glad that you appreciated this.
Our restaurant is privately run by Maggi Orr. Maggi has won a taste our best award for her excellent food using fresh locally sourced produce. Unfortunately it was her day off and her deputy chef phoned in sick. We are sorry that this happened on your visit. We always endeavour in these situations to help our guests choose from the many excellent local restaurants Edinburgh has to offer.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and should you wish to speak to me directly you can email me at info@kildonanlodgehotel.co.uk

Kind regards
Maggie Urquhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently took a weekend trip to Edinburgh, and I had a really difficult time finding an affordable place that could cater for 3 adults and 1 child for 2 nights. Luckily, Kildonan Lodge had 2 rooms available at what I thought was a very reasonable rate. The lady who took my booking went out of her way to figure out how to accommodate us, even at one point calling me back to suggest a room alteration that might make our group more comfortable.

Kildonan Lodge is an easy bus ride from the city center - or about an 8 pound taxi trip. We called a cab from the lobby phone to take us into the city on four occasions, and never waited for more than 5 minutes for the taxi to show up. Walking to/from the castle is possible, and we in fact did it one evening (not sure what a previous review means when it says the hotel is in a place you wouldn't want to walk through at night - we certainly had no problems) though it can be a bit far after a day of walking around the city.
The hotel itself is clean, and in line with what you'd expect for a four star establishment. Two of the adults in our party stayed in room 6, which is right across from the guest counter. We were initially concerned about being disturbed by the noise of people coming and going, but had no problems. Room 6 is also towards the back of the hotel, so no problems with street noise either. The room was small, but not cramped, and we found the double four-poster bed very comfortable. There was decent hanging space with a wardrobe on either side of the bed, and a few drawers for storing folded clothes. The bathroom was spacious, though the bathtub/shower was a bit narrow, and the bathtub drain didn't provide enough of a seal to hold water (though I notified the hotel of this and it may be fixed for future guests). There was no lock on the bathroom door, and the door itself sticks in the upper right corner, making opening/closing it a bit of a chore (my wife actually got stuck in the bathroom at one point and needed me to come get her out).
The other adult and child stayed in room 2, on the lower-ground floor. This room was a bit larger, had a fully functioning bathtub, though again, no lock on the bathroom door, and also had decent hanging space. The two single beds were very comfortable. Both rooms had complimentary sherry and biscuits, which was a very nice touch. We were able to access the complimentary wifi from both rooms, though the signal wasn't very strong, and we found internet access to be slow.
Breakfast was good, with a small buffet for cereals, fruits, yogurts and a small sampling of cold meats and cheeses. The full Scottish breakfast comes with plenty of food, the omelettes were huge, and the staff were very accommodating of any requests for extra sides. We all enjoyed the breakfast, though I think we would have gotten bored with the selection had we stayed for a few more nights. We did not have a chance to try the restaurant for dinner, but we got a couple of great recommendations for restaurants in town from the hotel staff.
Speaking of the staff, everyone we dealt with was without fail pleasant, polite, and helpful. They really do a lot to make this a nice place to stay.
Overall, despite a few minor issues, we very much enjoyed our stay here. It was the ideal combination of value and comfort from which to base our exploration of Edinburgh. I would certainly stay again if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Kildonan lodge Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your comfortable stay and would stay again. We are glad that you found the complimentary sherry and biscuits a very nice touch and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
The minor points that you mentioned have been rectified and we appreciate that you have taken the time to bring them to our attention. We always welcome feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan Lodge Hotel.

Kind regards
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I and many of my colleagues have used this hotel for many years as it is convenient to our business address. The staff are always excellent, welcoming, friendly and professional.
The rooms are in very good order, the breakfast is a good size and the dining room, in this lovely old house, is a very pleasant place to eat.
I have stayed in a variety of rooms but prefer the main house to the annexe at the back, the car park is large too.
I thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay that's within easy access by bus or a brisk 30 minute walk into town.

Room Tip: The ground floor and above in the main house are what I'd ask for, the annexe is ok but isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Owner & Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear David

Thank you for your very kind review. We appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted that you and your colleagues have stayed with us for many years we really appreciate your loyalty.
We would love you to have a look at the lodge next time you here all the rooms have been completely refurbished including the bathrooms which look fantastic.
But as always it is your choice which room you stay in.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Maggie & Chrystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing