We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base to tour the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An excellent base to tour the city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We've stayed in this hotel 3 times over the last 3 years and have never been disappointed. The rooms we have used are very comfortable and pleasantly furnished. The en suite facilities are extremely clean, the showers actually do shower you with water and you even get very generous sized bath sheets!!! The breakfast menu offers a wide choice and is freshly cooked (no 'stewed' bacon). Staff are pleasant and helpful, providing a wealthof information to help make the most of your time. Reaching the centre is easy using one of the many buses. The hotel has its own off road car park another plus. It really is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    139
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
68
307
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Wanted to have a relaxing time with my partner, in a wonderful hotel and was lucky enough to find this gem online!

I booked the room over the telephone with the reception manager and explained I was hoping for a relaxing weekend with my partner as I had just had a car crash and had a broken arm, I was offered room 4 witch is positioned on the ground floor close to the car-park, again just another example of how caring and friendly the service was

The room was really nice and furnished to a very high standard, with large king-size beds nice cushioned to ceiling headboard & warm fabrics. As requested the chocolates were placed in the room and the receptionist brought a chilled bottle of champagne just after we checked in.

I Booked a weekend break for two nights in an executive room with an added champagne & chocolate package this cost just under £330.

This hotel is wonderful, the service is great and the rooms are very comfortable. As the staffing seems to be a only a small team we really did receive the individual & personal service that I hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL0veH0tels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

I booked this hotel through trip advisor for my parents. They came back raving about it. They were supposed to stay 2 nights but ended up booking the entire 4 day trip there at the same rate. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very nice. My parents highly recommended it!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rtkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Lovely, older lodge, comfortably furnished. The quiet rooms are in the back. Very comfortable bed. Guests are treated to wine and canapes on the night of arrival. There is a decanter of sherry in every room, along with shortbread (replenished daily). Lovely dining room. Generous breakfast, great selection of hot and cold foods. An honesty bar with drinks and snacks is available in the lounge. There was a bit of a mixup at check-out time; I think the new managers are still feeling their way.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isolde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

We come to Edinburgh frequently and stop here if we can get in. You can get a cheap day return on the frequent buses over the road that take you quickly to central Edinburgh.
If you want minimalism and perfection don't come here. This is Victorian architecture and suitable eighties/ Victorian decor - sometimes starting to show its age and now in the process of being repaired. Personally I love this - I can relax here. And I adore the fresh lilies and roses on the landings.
If there is anything wrong - report it at once- the staff are helpful and friendly. Matthew's restaurant menu is a few dishes he has perfected with occasional extras - so we know what to expect there too - and it is delicious. Breakfast here is for me a great treat. There is Internet access in the lounge of the lodge - but we never used it. If you want the latest gadgets and TV that gets digital etc you may not get that in your room unless you ask beforehand, but the bed last weekend ( and I get a bad back) was sooo comfortable. Oh and Joan from Matthews restaurant and Sean and Sue always greet us like old pals.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordFatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

This is a nice hotel, but is more of a large guest house rather than a true hotel. The rooms were of good size and we had a four poster bed and a jacuzzi. We had a very good breakfast but I would not recommend Matthews restaurant for dinner, as it is very over hyped in the hotels own literature. It is nothing more than average and does not live up to the high prices charged.
This hotel is extremely handy for the centre of Edingburgh with buses running from just outside the door every few minute for just £1.20

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Badboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

I had a wonderful 4 days at this hotel. I had found it online and when I walked in- it was instantly charming and pleasant. My room was on the very top floor and was sweet, comfortable and welcoming.
The lounge on the ground floor was very enjoyable: honour bar, satellite television, comfortavle "lounge-y" furniture, large windows.
The breakfast was also lovely, filling, well portioned and served by friendly staff.
Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badness59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Property: Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing