We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stayed here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Ranked #69 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should have stayed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in December 2012 really great hotel and facilities. Fantastic location for castle, shopping, food and drinks.
Wonderful service, great breakfast and fantastic service.

Opted to stay elsewhere this December which was a mistake, one of those times where you make a decision then regret it, next time will certainly go with gut feeling and stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Andy E,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you remember so fondly your previous visit to us last year and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again next December.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    658
    226
    78
    51
See reviews for
282
945
61
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

On the corner of George Street as well as a stone throw away from the main Edinburgh shopping front, this is a great location for people wanting to explore the City.

Staff are friendly, service is good. For the price, you could do much worse. Rooms are clean and comfy. There is also a pool and gym which, although a little crowded and in the basement, it is better than most places I've stayed in Edinburgh for the price bracket.

The down side to the location is the noise. I've stayed a few times and if your room over looks George Street the don't expect to get any sleep before 1am. I also wasn't impressed with the restaurant throwing a Xmas party with music blaring until after midnight.
Apart from that, it's not a bad place

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking George Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Googgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Googgsy

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find us to be ideal for your needs while in Edinburgh. While we area city centre hotel we do have a selection of 'Quiet rooms' where external street noise is limited through location and positioning of the rooms. Should you be returning please do request one of these rooms and out team will be delighted to allocate accordingly for your. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Really enjoyed my stay! Lovely friendly staff, smart decor and great location. It is a nice mix of the modern and then original features that come with a Georgian building. The swimming pool is a nice touch with sauna steam. Breakfast was nice and generous, as was the lunch we had there. Loved Edinburgh and have recommended this hotel to friends visiting.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cassie19851985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear cassie19851985

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were able to take advantage of our leisure facilities such as the Spa and Steam room.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future to the hotel for another stay with us.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I recently attended a works party night held in this hotel. The party night was well organised with surprisingly good food for this sort of event.
The room we were given was, sadly, far below an acceptable standard - clean with a comfy bed but, unless you are vertically challenged do not accept room 312! The room is stuck up in the eaves with two skylights which were too dirty too see out of which gave a very claustrophobic feel to the room; the heating did not work; you were in great danger of hitting your head when attempting to get anything out of the wardrobe - all in all not a great experience.
Breakfast was okay when we eventually got it but the toast was not toasted and was just some slightly heated soggy bread - they did take it back and replaced it with proper toast. Some friends of ours on a different table could have died of hunger as it took nearly an hour for them to actually get their breakfast - we overhead one of the waitresses telling the person who was supposed to be in charge of the dining room about this poor service but instead of sorting it out he simply told his member of staff to 'tell the kitchen to get a move on'!
When I complained about my room to the manager I was given a 50% discount without any argument - I wonder, are they used to complaints regarding this room?
All in all not a great stay which is a shame because the hotel does have a lot going for it in terms of location and the lovely building that it is in - a bit more effort could make this a place we would look forward to going back to but not to room 312!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonHendersonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear DonHendersonScotland,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to have the opportunity to reply directly to yourself regarding your issues. If you could please contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com I will reply on receipt of your email.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
226 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Upon arrival in the evening there was a big party in the hotel with a lot of noise. I asked for a quiet room which they promised but not true! We were above the party.
Room was not very nice but everything there, flat screen included! Bathroom however had a washbassin for children. When we complained the next morning staying 3 nights nothing else was offered. Careless attitude about more things. The queue for breakfast very impressive! It took agnes.
Elevator not working for 2 days and we were on the second floor! A lot of climbing for seniors.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room for a 3 night stay with washbassin 30 inches (60cm.) in the bathroom We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear FranceMartine

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. The issues you have mentioned are concerning and I would like to respond directly to you and in detail. If you could contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe I will reply on receipt.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Took my mum for afternoon tea with glass of champagne this normally cost £50 for two but they were doing a deal for £29.95.
Taken to lounge which was very dark and dreary and shown to a table.
Prosecco was served not Champagne then food arrived 6 finger sandwiches which were a bit dried up and tasteless , scones were nice ,selection of cakes macaroon and tart all very dry and covered in icing sugar pot of tea was good and we were asked if we wanted a refill.
After being to the Dome the past two years which was lovely the Roxburghe was very disappointing glad I never paid £50 for this!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falkirkgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear avrilshols

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea with us. I would very much like to respond directly to you regarding your experience. If you could contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe I will reply on receipt. I look forward to receiving your email.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here with my friend for couple of days christmas shopping. beautiful building and positioned perfectly for the bars and restaurants and of course the shops! The staff both on front desk, restaurant and the bar are absolutely delightful! so welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Sharon M,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and I do hope you managed to get all of the present your were looking for on your shopping trip.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future to the hotel for another stay with us.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,166 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing