We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party night thefts!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel
Ranked #67 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Party night thefts!!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Went to a party night here last night. Food was excellent, Dj good but drinks service very slow. Evening was ruined as went to collect our belongings at the end of the night and all our stuff missing or stolen. Coats shoes and scarfs all gone. I'm a travel agent by trade and will not be booking anyone to this hotel for them to get their belongings stolen! Duty manager made out that "we were at it and it couldn't have happened". Not interested in our complaint and dampened our whole night. We will never go back. Theifs!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Claire M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    675
    234
    82
    53
See reviews for
294
979
64
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located for Edinburgh city centre, but that's where the positives ended.

Stood for 15 mins at reception waiting to get checked-in whilst receptionist chatted to other guests. Member of staff came out of office behind the desk and walked right past me with the comment 'shouldn't be long'. Once I finally got checked-in I headed for my room on the third floor only to discover was out of order. Stairs are a narrow spiral and not easy when carrying two bags.

Room overlooked the corner of Charlotte Square and George Street and was VERY warm. Had to open the windows and turn off the radiators before I passed out. Bathroom was very small with very little pressure in the handbasin taps.

Returning from dinner outside the hotel I was immediately struck by the noise outside the hotel - even after closing the windows (poor soundproofing) - and later inside the hotel. By 3am I still had not got to sleep…two hours after I did fire alarm went off and had to evacuate. Talking to colleagues who have used this hotel in the past this is not an unusual occurrence and faulty sensors have been mentioned. Got back in after fire brigade confirmed another false alarm and it was time to shower and checkout.

No apology at checkout or offer of compensation. Later I filled out an online survey for m stay via my membership of the IHG Rewards Club and asked that the hotel contact me. Received an email two days later from the Hotel Operations Manager, no offer of compensation for a very uncomfortable night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room. Only discovered there was such a thing after complaining via on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuillin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear cuillin2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are truly sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

A very nice location and building, but a shoddy hotel

Service very slow. Took ages to get checked in and out.. There were sufficient people around ,but it was unclear what they were doing.
I had a very noisy room, right above the bar that made it impossible to sleep until it closed at 2pm
Most lights in the room didn't work.
We ordered a phone conference facility before our meeting ,but it arrived too late, and they couldn't get it to work.
when I returned in the evening, they closed the passage to my room and when asked i was told to take a complext detour because they were cleaning the restaurant.
Coffee is ( among) the worst i ever had
Very slippery shower area.( and rightfully so, there were warnings about that..... Seems to make more sense to solve the issue rather than waring the people)
All public areas are very messy. All kind of stuff lying around....
Very limited breakfast with poor service.

Etc.

Seems like operations needs a serious overhaul.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coelewij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear coelewij,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the location and structure of our hotel. The Crowne Plaza Edinburgh The Roxburghe is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is very regrettable to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us in particular with our guest services, variety of food at breakfast and the conditions of your room. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your comments are important to the success of our organization. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights early in December. We were lucky to receive a room upgrade, rooms were big, comfortable and very well appointed. Breakfast 1st class, grill was bring used for Christmas party night which at first put us off however, staff went out of there way to ensure we had all we needed and good was really good. Party night was super too. Would return to this hotel in a minute. Book it you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TURKEYTRAVELLER_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear TURKEYTRAVEL,

Thank you for our review of the Roxburghe Hotel and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and the festive party night that you attended. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon to the hotel and perhaps even next Christmas for another party night.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December with almost a years worth of points. My Husband has been a platinum member for years. The location is good and the staff friendly and keen to help. The concierge is outstanding! The room was pleasant and clean. We were disturbed at night from the loud music and merriment downstairs, one night at 1am I could hear a man on a microphone bellowing away.This hotel seems to place its value in the parties that are held there. One night we couldn't access the executive lounge as it had been used as a private function room for one of its parties. At other times the room was unmanned and empty of little else other than tea and coffee.I think they need to decide if they are going to offer this facility to its guests or not as its rather half hearted.We have been fortunate to stay in many hotels over the world and enjoy executive club access and this was worst for drinks and snacks. I would have been furious if I had paid for the executive room, In many ways we did though as my Husband travels all years and gives his loyalty to the IHG group where ever possible.I can say though that the breakfast was wonderful and we were grateful for a quiet room in which to eat it.Its a very busy hotel with a huge amount of parties going on.I would also add it seems rather understaffed . I would not necessarily stay here unless the price was good other than with points. if you stay here it will be an ok experience but little more I think despite the efforts of staff members

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlecottage1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear littlecottage1972,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe. I am sorry that you did not have the experience that you were hoping for and I would very much like the opportunity to reply in more detail to your issues, If you would be able to contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com with the subject ' littlecottage1972 trip advisor' I will reply on receipt and further discuss your issues.

Warm wishes and Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Cracking hotel in the heart of Edinburgh. Great service, lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent food and a hearty breakfast.

The only down side was the size, age and reliability of the lift. Staying on the 4th floor I had to share the lift with two other people. Now I am not a small man but if the lift was any smaller or slower I think that, without trying, there could have been a paternity suit. 100% for everything else but please modernise this bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrumBumJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear ScrumBumJakarta,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I appreciate your comments regarding our elevator and we are having our engineers look at ways of improving this service.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

This trip was planned for my husbands birthday and to go round the Edinburgh/Glasgow markets check in went smoothly and the staff were very friendly. Room was ok, looked onto street. The lift broke on the Friday night and was still broken when we checked out on the Monday. Breakfast on the Sunday was manic queues out the door. We were kept waiting for our order to be taken and when it came it was 2 very small pieces of bacon and only 1 mushroom, I haven't got a big appetite at all but a man would not have been happy with that . Monday morning was completely different straight to table and served straight away . Don't think they can cope with crowds.
The hotel is ideally suited for Princes Street and a short walk to the Station.
Don't think I would stay here again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear lynney63,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your trip to the City but would like to apologise for your experience of breakfast on the Sunday morning. I would like to be able to welcome you back to the hotel. Should you be returning to Edinburgh and looking for accommodation please contact me directly on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com and I will be personally ensure you have an excellent stay should you choose to stay with us.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing