We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in many ways” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good hotel in many ways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in December as part of a group on our Christmas party weekend. The hotel was extremely well located and only a half an hour transfer from the airport.

Good points

Comfy bed, very friendly staff, efficient bar service, fabulous breakfast.

Less good points

Can only say the room was very small and bathroom even smaller but we had a nice view out over the square and we didn't suffer from early morning delivery noise like others in our group. Some of the interiors could really do with a makeover - the lifts for example and some of the basement toilet areas. However, the main bar area, reception, breakfast room etc were all very nicely decorated. Late at night the hotel did become rather rowdy and there were even a few punches thrown on the Saturday night - not really what we were expecting!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the great location and very nice staff made up for any downsides.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear SusieJM,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am glad to see that you had such an enjoyable stay over Christmas you found our location so suitable for your visit. we have an incredibly successful festive party season at the hotel and it can at times increase noise on busy weekends, however for the vast majority of the time all in the very best of spirits. I do hope you have the chance to return to the hotel again, perhaps next time for a summer visit to the city.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    658
    226
    79
    51
See reviews for
282
948
61
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner and I grabbed a bargain of a weekend at the Roxburghe (from BA, inc flights) for a romantic getaway and couldn't have been happier. Upgraded to a spectacular oval shaped room (241), it was the perfect start to our break. The staff are remarkably friendly and helpful, particularly those serving us in the club lounge.

Great breakfasts, and lovely canapes and drinks early evening set us up foodwise, and the room, with its high ceilings and comfortable bed provided the perfect space to rest and recover in.

Situated right in the heart of Edinburgh, within walking distance of all the major attractions, shops, views and a host of lovely restaurants, we were delighted with just about every element of our stay.

The only improvements I could suggest would be the water pressure for the shower (it was fine, but not great) and maybe another mirror or two - the only one was in the bathroom over the washbasin - could have done with a full length one somewhere.

Otherwise, wonderful in every way!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that room 241 was so suitable for you, it is one of our many feature rooms in the hotel and a real example of our historic building and its character. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Roxburghe hotel again should you be visiting the city again.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the Roxburghe for 3 nights. On the way from Waverley the taxi driver told us we were in for a treat as we had "booked a great hotel". Turns out he was right. The staff couldn't have been more attentive when booking in. The staff were polite, pleasant and efficient and spoke to us in a personable way, not as if they were reciting rote learned pleasantries from the corporate handbook - a refreshing change. Our room was spacious, spotless and well appointed. Special thanks to concierges Les & Jack who couldn't have been more affable and helpful. Thanks to all concerned. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mack5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Mack5558,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us and that Jack and Les looked after you throughout your visit. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I went to Edinburgh for 3 nights (18th- 21st February) for special occasion and stayed at The Roxburghe.
From our arrival, our experience was excellent. We managed to locate the under-ground car park without assistance (it is behind the hotel) and were met by Jack, who transported our bags to our room, and assured us that he would park the car for us. Upon entering the hotel (via the car park link) we were met by Gavin (the concierge) who took us to the Club Lounge. He had checked us in already (as a Platinum Elite member I am sure although he didn’t ever say this was why) and gave us the keys to our room. We were offered a drink as a welcome and given a brief introduction about the hotel, the Club Lounge and Edinburgh. Throughout our stay, Gavin ensured we received the same level of personal service each day; we felt like ‘movie stars’!
Our room was fabulous: spacious and well-designed with a large balcony (perhaps not used much in February but lovely never the less). Breakfast was fantastic, as were drinks and canapés in the evening. Special thanks to Victoria and Maria (both wonderful staff). The atmosphere in the Club Lounge meant we chatted to other guests and shared tales of our days and planned excursions. Crowne Plaza The Roxburghe is one of the best hotels in the IHG group that we’ve stayed in. The hotel building itself is full of character and the staff are wonderful characters too (who all ensured a perfect break). Thank you for a great stay and fond memories

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanT957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear DeanT957,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. As we are a relatively new Crowne Plaza we are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My daughter and I went to the Roxburghe on Thursday 20th February 2014, for a mini pamper day, and we both were so happy with our choice. On entering the Spa the young girl was most helpful in directing us to our private room for the day. When we entered the room, awaiting us were our Robes, and Slippers, along with tea, coffee, water and juice of our choice. The atmosphere was so relaxing. We had access to the swimming, gym, and steam room facilities all day, and the body massages we both had were extremely good and relaxing. We had lunch included in our mini pamper day, with a choice of starter and main, and the food was delicious. I must conclude by adding that all the staff were wonderful on the day, and both my daughter and I plan to return with my other daughter for Mother's Day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Pamela T,

Thank you for your review of the spa day you recently enjoyed at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am delighted to read that you will be back again for Mother's Day. We very much look forward to being able to pamper your other daughter just as much.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in the Crown Plaza Roxburghe hotel for a two night stay. The hotel is situated in a lovely location and is ideal for sight seeing. The bedroom was spotlessly clean with a nice comfortable bed. The staff were all very friendly and couldnt do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was lovely with something to suit everyone. The staff were very nice and friendly serving everyone with a smile.We also used the leisure facilities which are free to guests .Here again we were met with a smile and a nice fluffy towel. We would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Thank You to all the staff.

Michael and Theresa Aldridge . Athy. Co Kildare. Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a teasmade in our room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear teresa a,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us and that you had the opportunity to use the leisure club during your visit. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Had a dreadful experience with this hotel. - Having stayed in various high end hotels in Edinburgh, I would recommend all of them over here, there are much nicer places available in Edinburgh at better value.

Problems here started at reservation where I was allocated a room with a single bed because I'd booked single occupancy. I had booked single occupancy on the basis that my boyfriend needed to go home that night and couldn't stay, but we were still planning an evening in. Called to complain about this, insisting that double beds are the standard for single occupancy rooms and that this wasn't acceptable. The hotel was insistent that I'd received some sort of discount on this room for this, despite the fact that I hadn't and had paid a cost in excess of competing 4-5* hotels for the same night in Edinburgh. Ran round through multiple members of staff over five phone calls and two emails, essentially told that my expectation of a double bed was unreasonable and refused unless I paid a 30.00 GBP surcharge.

On arrival the room was so small that I had to heave my case over the bed to its stand as there wasn't enough space between the bed and wall to wheel it around. As I have a hard shell case, the room had insufficient floorspace at any point to allow me to fully open the case in the room. The desk doubled up as one bedside table and the desk chair had to be tilted inwards to allow sufficient space to walk past it between the cupboard to the bed.

Bed also bizarrely small. Despite only being 5'9, I found my feet stuck off the end of the bed because it was so short. During the night I tried to roll onto my side and fell out of the bed. It was of a bizarre size that was similar to the bed linen displays used in shop frontages and I was unable to sleep properly on it.

Tried using the bar/grill in the evening. No table service appeared available. My friend collected our menus from a waiter's station herself after around ten minutes. Still nobody came to take an order, which I then had to place at the bar in wetherspoons style. Shortly thereafter, at 1900 on a Tuesday with only three groups in the bar, I was advised I couldn't have my meal choices as they were sold out (never stocked?). After another long wait, my starter and main course arrived at the same time. An antipasti platter, beef cheek and pot of tea came to around £40.00 GBP. Food quality itself was okay. Apology for the inconvenience of the situation seemed insincere. After time wasting through multiple managers prior to arriving, I declined yet another invitation to speak to the manager -train your staff in first contact resolution rather than perpetual escalation and multiple conversations about every minor issue they are unable to resolve.

Went out for drinks elsewhere, I forgot my room key. The sign at reception advised to ring a doorbell for access. Doorbell appeared not to exist. I had to phone their reservations number outside in the rain and ask to be let in. Asked the night porter to show me where the doorbell was to explain the sign. He walked out into the street, looked around, came in and remarked 'sorry about that'?!

Tried to call for 24 hour room service to get a ham sandwhich (approx 7-8 GBP without crisps or salad I think). Call to room service just rang out for a couple of minutes despite advertising a 24 hour service. In the end I hung up and did without.

Left my luggage at reception for a few hours after checking out. Upon returning to collect it I was asked for a luggage coupon I'd never been given in the first place.

My boyfriend complained to me that he'd spoken to reception on the phone, who'd also said they'd been very rude to him, were busy and would have to call him back.

The one redeeming feature of the stay was my amusement that the hotel provides a tissue soaked in chemicals to huff before bed.

If I were offered a stay here for free in the future, I would still have to pay to book somewhere else on the basis that the rooms provided fail to meet basic functional requirements or service standards. This hotel obviously believes it sits at a level of prestige it does not. Staff here appear to be of the opinion that their hotel/service is excellent and that consequently all complaints are received in a dismissive fashion as unreasonable and/or invalid. With the exception of one nice receptionist, I found my treatment here so bad I began to almost feel that I was being purposefully badly treated by staff. Worst hotel experience I have ever had in Edinburgh.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Campbell619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Campbell619,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. I would really like the opportunity to discuss your stay further. I would be grateful if you can contact me via email at guestrelations@theroxburghe.com

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing