We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was on a short two day business trip to Edinburgh.This hotel is well located .Overall a good experience. The reception is comfortable and well decorated. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast offers a wide range of choice for most tastes.

The room was clean and tidy and even the lighting was adequate to read by. Why do so many hotels these days think that mood lighting is a substitute for good lighting!?The bathroom was fine if a little dated.

The lift is very slow and I ended up walking down the stairs a few times. Also on check out yesterday at 10 am it seemed to come as a surprise with only one very pleasant but overworked lady working alone for a while dealing with a queue of people trying to check out and In.

The gym is quite good if a little claustrophobic.

Overall, a good experience and recommended.

Room Tip: As a general room avoid rooms too close to the lift and maybe on a lower floor as the lift is slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel, I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay over all and that you found our team to be helpful and friendly. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    656
    226
    77
    51
See reviews for
282
941
60
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice and comfortable! Beautiful room, great breakfast, and great service! My only complaint would be parking. We had a rental car and had a problem finding parking. Once we checked in the staff was more than happy to help with parking. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAlwaysWantToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear IAlwaysWantToGo,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your visit so much. I am glad that we managed to assist you with parking for your stay. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Roxburghe hotel again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, helpful and cheerful staff, lovely linen and dressing gowns and a tasty breakfast. Would recommend it! Easy access to Princes Street, the New Town and Galleries and buses nearby. Easy walking distance to the station and theatres.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Picnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Picnicker,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and found our location to be ideal for your trip. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be visiting the city again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a Fri/ Sat using ICH points for 1 night and Avios for the second night. On check in , the nice receptionist tied up the 2 seperate bookings so that we didnt need to check back out and in again.
Room was big, with a very, very comfy king bed. Due to the high ceilings, the bottom of the mirror in the bedroom was at least 5'6 from the ground, so the only way my wife could see when drying her hair was to stand on a chair or run back and forward to the bathroom. We managed, but this would certainly annoy some people. A small vanity mirror on the dressing table would be handy.
Location of hotel is excellent. Right on the corner of George St and Charlotte Square, so you really right in the thick of it. Hundreds of shops, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions just a stroll away.
Breakfast was very good. Can't beat a full Scottish.
My wife used both the pool and gym and said they were both good.
If you are paying for your room, it is always best to join ICH Rewards and book direct, you get 10% discount and with bonus point codes , it only takes a few stays in Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inns or Express's before you can get a free stay like we had.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear ericom,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. We will have the maintenance team look at the mirror you have mentioned and improve where we can the issue you have raised. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon to the hotel.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely champagne afternoon tea today. Presentation was beautiful and service very friendly. Thank you again to the amazing butler!

Only change if possible would be a savoury afternoon tea option like Fortnum & Mason's!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Namiki I,

Thank you for your review of our afternoon tea here at the Roxburghe. We have recently enhanced our offering and we are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your visit so much. I do hopw we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Firstly, the Roxburghe hotel is in an Ideal location for any kind of person wanting to visit Edinburgh whether it be for shopping, wining and dining, historical sightseeing or family entertainment. The hotel is 20 metres off of Princes Street and is very close to Edinburgh castle and a short walk of 5 minutes will take you to the 'old town' and the royal mile. Even closer are plenty of Shops and shopping Malls. There are also plenty of nice bars and restauraunts located on George Street another 20 yards in the opposite direction to Princes Street.

The rooms are perfectly clean, decorated to a high standard and the Beds are extremely comfortable. The bathroom has a good sized bath and a good shower.

The only negative point to the hotel is the Car Parking Facilities.
Although the hotel does have a guest Car Park, it comes at a Daily Parking Fee of £22.00 which is stupidly high and an additional cost to the price of the room. Plus the parking around the hotel is extremely expensive costing at least £3.20 per hour along with very vigilant Traffic Wardens ready to pounce if your car is left without a valid ticket....

All in all, the Hotel is perfect for a long or short stay in Edinburgh but only if you decided to travel by any means apart from car.

Regards,

Callum Stewart

Room Tip: Only worthwhile if you don't need to park a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewartcallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Stewartcallum,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and our location was ideal for you. Our car parking charges are priced just under the city parking average which is at a premium in our location as you would expect in a city centre, we also do offer secure parking within the hotel building. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

For a weekly trip to Scotland we decided to stay for a few days at the Crowne Plaza - The Roxburghe.
Coming from the airport the Airlink 100 brings you to the city center within 30 minutes and from there you only need to walk another 3 minutes to arrive at the hotel.
The Roxburghe has a great location facing Charlotte Square and being around the corner of George as well as Princess Street.
Check-in went smoothly and Jack did a great job helping us with the luggage and, at the same time, giving us some first information about Edinburgh.
The room was nice, spacious with all being there what you need to enjoy your stay. Only con is the bathroom which seemed a little dated but clean.
We then went to Gavin, their Chief Concierge, who gave us a very good impression of the city, the distances and some good places to visit. Great recommendations!
Breakfast in the morning was good with a broad selection of cereals, rolls and eggs freshly made. Also, the wellness area was nice with a pool, steam and a normal sauna.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German_Workaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear German_Workaholic,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and both Jack and Gavin send their very best wishes to you. I am glad to see that you managed to enjoy the hotel Spa and Leisure facilities during you stay as well as taking advantage of our location to explore the city.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel should you be visiting Edinburgh again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,155 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing