We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night, would happily have stayed more if we could have. Stayed in a feature room which was very plush and included a fireplace. Also had use of the Club Lounge for drinks and canapés in the evening. Breakfast was buffet with hot food cooked to order and gluten free bread for my wife ( she said it was some of the set she has had). Will certainly stay here again, next time I am in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a feature club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear John Jetset,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we were able to look after your wife's dietary requirements during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    681
    237
    83
    53
See reviews for
300
989
65
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's my first visit to Scotland and I must say the overall experience has been amazing. Our stay at the hotel has been excellent from the start. Our room was spacious beautiful high ceilings presented to the highest standard. The staff were friendly helpful and very knowledge about the city recommending the best places, transport and adviceing the best routes.

I can highly recommend the club room which comes with the benefits of the club lounge a private space that has 24 hours access which has added bonus beverages snacks etc... Al the staff members in the club lounge were helpful and pleasant ( especially I think his names is Dimitvis )

Room Tip: I would recommend travellers use the Edinburgh hop on hop off buses. As the hotel is a 20 min walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Sharon J,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to reads that you enjoyed you stay with us so much and also that you found our Club Lounge to be so relaxing. Dimitrios sends his thank for your kind words.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visiting the hotel for a second time and being in the club room I would have to say it been a fantastic experience. The room was amazing, spacious and view looking out into Charlotte square was very impressive. The club lounge exclusivity of being served canapés around 6pm were lovely and it's comfortable setting and relaxing atmosphere are definitely bonus points
The only downside and recommendation is that the spa area needs to be upgraded as it's currently underused and layout is not appealing. Incorporating a jacuzzi would be a good step forward to reflect the high standards of customer service that is offered.

Staff were professional and friendly especially in the club lounge area. All staff including Dimitvis ( I believe that's his name ) were helpful and engaging throughout my stay at the hotel.
Having fruit at my room as a welcome treat set the scene for a wonderful stay at the hotel. I would like to thank the hotel management and Barry who made this trip possible and a great delight

Room Tip: Upgrade to club room as you have access to the club lounge and it's definitely worth it with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear sam l,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that we managed to look after you so well during your visit. Both Barry and Dimitrios send their very best wishes and thanks for your kind words. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked 2 twin rooms in Jan 14 for a stay this last Bank Holiday weekend...so full of promise! Nice hotel and helpful staff, especially the young chap who helped me park in the UG car park. All went OK until dinner the first night; 3 of 4 meals had to be sent back, almost cold from the start on lukewarm plates. Of the two "chunks" of calves liver, one was almost all gristle. Anyway, plates went back after trying to explain to the waiter what was wrong and they were sorted, very hot...recooked! Didn't get the sides of mushy peas and creamed spinach back that we had put onto our plates and had to battle to get it removed from the bill. Next morning at breakfast, my wife asked if there was going to be any more tomato juice brought out...it was only 0915 after all and the grumpy old waiter, said they had run out and promptly turned his back on her and mumbled something that sounded to me unacceptable. They had also run out of poached eggs(?) which left me speechless until the waiter said they had no vinegar to cook them in...and the evening before when my daughters had room service of a tuna mayo sandwich, there was no mayo, leaving her with dry tuna. So they ran out of tomato juice, mayonnaise and vinegar...sounds like pretty poor stock control to me.

I have been Plat member for many years and asked if there was any chance of being able to take a drink in the Club Lounge, after all I had spent almost £1200 on the stay in the hotel but I was told they had no capacity...so I ask myself what was the point of the 700+ nights in IHG properties if Platinum turns out to be worthless.

There were good things of course, the location, standard of the rooms, very friendly bar staff but the thing one remembers is the bad and these little things were what we took away from the hotel.

I do think it time, in the absence of any tangible benefits from Plat membership, to move across to the Hilton group, I know they are more appreciative of those who put something in the order £50k into their pockets over a 3 year period!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2names
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 2names,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am glad to see that you found our location and bedrooms to be so good along with he friendliness of our staff. I do apologise for the issues that you experienced during your stay and would very much like to opportunity to discuss them further with you. If you could contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com I will be happy to feedback from my findings. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver. British Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The location is wonderful-overlooks Charlotte Square and is 2 blocks off the noisy, touristy Princes street. The hotel itself has a early Georgian front with a new wing built in. Definitely ask for the new wing. Room was quiet and comfortable. Lobby, sitting areas, bar , restaurants were well designed and comfortable.
Two issues were problematic- housekeeping was erratic- first night we got chocolates- never saw them again .On the last night we were given bathrobes. Each day the room was made up very late in the day-seemed to focus on check outs first which is annoying to come back at 3.30 and find the room is still not made up. There were several weddings on the weekend and the last one had a very disruptive band that thumped away very loudly until12 midnight.
The entrance to the hotel is very small and all the smokers congregate there for a puff which makes exiting and entering smelly and difficult. The hotel needs to find another area for the smokers to congregate!

Room Tip: Best to overlook George street or ask for interior room- overllooks the large atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 561967,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and that you found our facilities n the bar and restaurant to be so good. I do apologise for the late servicing of your rooms, we do endeavour to get all rooms services by 3pm and for the vast majority of time we achieve that comfortably.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcelo Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I made a surprise travel for my wife's 50th birthday and made a 6 days trip in Scotland. Fits hotel I chose was the Crowne Plaza The Roxburghe.

First impression is very good, staff at the desk was very friendly and the concierge very nice ! He explained everything we neede to know about what was available in the hotel and the accesses of Club Lounge.

We had a TV connection problem, that was fixed very shortly and efficiently.

Romm was very nice and beds very comfy. The view wasn't great but not bad neither. Only "bad" point was all the cigarette butt just behind the window.

Situation is very good, not far from Princess street and all the tourist attractions.

We could try the Restaurant on the evening, and had to wait a little at the bar. Staff was also very friendly, but, as I discovered it at this hotel and the other Crowne Plaza in Edinburgh, staff at the restaurant and at the desk are almost all non-english or scottish. It doesn't change anything for me, but sometimes, it makes it difficult to be understood, as my english isn't perfect, as their english isn't very good neither..

Dinner was good, nothing very special, but good and at reasonnable price for such a hotel.

Brekfats was good, but the buffet isn't very furnished, and I'm always a bit disappointed when you have to pay another supplement to have something like pancakes in your breakfast menu. But again, staff friendly and food was good.

I will certainly go back to The Roxburghe, and espacially if I have to choose between the 2 Crowne Plaza hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear spooty,

Thanks you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be returning to Edinburgh again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcelo Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights while at a conference and I found this a great hotel. The location is fantastic, breakfast was great. The only fault I could find with it was that the lift was out of order for my stay which made my 5th floor room a bit annoying!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Johnnyshaker,

Thanks you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and found the breakfast to be so good. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be returning to Edinburgh again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcelo Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,042 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing