We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, decent rooms & yummy breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, decent rooms & yummy breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with work. The price was good as got a corporate rate but it does get booked up quick!

The location is great on Charlotte square and has a gym which was good for me! Weights were decent enough to squeeze a workout in.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and I loved the free Scottish shortbread and chocolates in the room! Tea and coffee making facilities too!

Breakfast was included in the rate with choice of hot and cold. Porridge was OK buy to be fair the hotels never make it as good as a home made version.

Overall will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear auditmunki

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you were able to take advantage of our leisure facility while you stayed with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again should you be visiting Edinburgh in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    657
    226
    78
    51
See reviews for
282
944
61
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The reception and check-in is good and the dining room and sitting rooms are nice. Good location but the place needs a revamp. One small elevator to service the rooms we were in and although it stipulates it can carry 8 people, it was a squeeze with four and the floor indicator did not work. Something had been spilled on the floor of the elevator at night and it was still there all through the next day. The corridors need a face lift and the carpets need replacing. The room we had was very good and spacious with good amenities, linen and towels etc, Breakfast was basic but the hot food was not so hot. All in all it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear eanandjoan,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel and your honest feedback. I do apologise if for the issues that you experienced during our stay with us I can assure you it is not at all reflective of our usual high levels of hospitality we provide at the hotel, we are constantly upgrading our facilities and indeed in the ;last 18 months have spent over £1M in upgrades and refurbishment of the hotel. I am glad that you found our reception and restaurant areas to be nice.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed on a hen do - It is a fantastic location, a very good price, it's very clean and the staff are really friendly. WONDERFUL breakfast! Would certainly go again. It also has a nice bar for functions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munciegirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Munciegirl86,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found our breakfast offering to be so good. I do hoe we will be able to welcome you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at The Roxburghe at the beginning and the end of our trip to Scotland. One room was a standard and the other was a club room. Both were clean and comfortable. Our club room on the 5th floor had a wonderful view of Edinburgh Castle. We enjoyed both breakfasts but really enjoyed the perks that came along with the Club lounge breakfast. They also had a cocktail hour with complimentary drinks.
The staff was very friendly and hospitable. Would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jennifer F,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay so much both at the beginning and the end of your trip to Scotland. I m glad to see that you were able to experience our club lounge facilities and that they enhanced your stay which is exactly what we intend them to do for our guests. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Won an overnight stay at the hotel by bidding at a charity auction, well worth it. A warm welcome from reception staff, helpful and interested, made sure we knew to buy our ticket before boarding the tram and gave us local information. Had dinner in the restaurant in the evening with some good choices for vegetarians, even better it was made to order, I know that seems a silly thing to say but it doesn't always happen. Breakfast was excellent with more than enough to please everyone, fresh fruit was available to take with us as we left. All in all a really good experience albeit the room was a little bit small but well presented with complimentary water, biscuits, tea and coffee. The Roxburghe is in a convenient part of the town for tourist attractions, handy for buses and of course the tram!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinJam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear LinJam2,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed you stay with us so much and equally happy to know that the proceeds raised as a result of your visit will be going to what I am sure is a well deserved cause. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast at the hotel. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I just wanted to thank all the staff of the evening Thursday the 29th May2014 . I had a really bad fall just around the corner in george street haveing left a restaurant. Knowing where the hotel was, as i tried to book in last year i called in to try and get sorted out. I actually thought id knocked some teeth out. Barry makin the operations manager was on duty and didnt hesitate to help me. Paul mac who was not on duty but in the hotel at the time, being a first aider was on the scene immediately. I was so annoyed with myself in getting in such a state, but these things happen. So a huge huge thank you to all, what lovely staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear steve d,

Thank you for your kind words regarding the way in which we assisted you after your very unfortunate incident on George Street. Both Barry and Paul are delighted to hear that we managed to assist you and that you are on the way to feeling better. Both Barry and Paul send their very best wishes and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel either as a guest for coffee or perhaps a residential stay next time you are in the city. If we can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed with my husband at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh The Roxburghe for three nights and really enjoyed the hotel. The room was spacious and beautiful. The staff, particularly concierge and the check in desk, were fantastic. We travel quite a lot, and rarely encounter service close to that provided at this hotel. We arrived very early, hours before check in, I went to the desk asking if it was possible for us to check in early and if not, could we park our car ( which we had prearranged as hotel parking in limited). Our room was not ready at that stage, but I was advised that we could certainly park our car, and that our luggage would be stored until we did checked in. I was then just amazed at the wonderful service... The lady assisting me at the check in desk then summoned a gentleman from concierge who accompanied me to the front of the hotel where my husband waited in our parked car. Concierge removed the luggage and stowed it very promptly and then return and accompanied my husband to the car park. This was greatly appreciated as we are not familiar with Edinburgh and would never have found the car park. We found a lovely Pub for lunch and returned to the hotel to complete the check in. Every ,time that we left the hotel, the concierge manager would check to see if needed anything..excellent service. The breakfast was wonderful, extensive continental buffet and excellent choice if individually cooked options. Room service also was great, plenty of choice, prompt and high quality. The location of the hotel is also perfect, very close to lovely restaurants, pubs and shops. I suggest bookings suite and pre book parking if needed Also book your room with breakfast and enjoy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear janelle016,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe. am delighted to read that you and your husband enjoyed your 3 days with us so much and that you found the service provided by the team here at the hotel to be of such a high standard and helped to make your stay such a memorable one.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Roxburghe again in the future for another relaxing and enjoyable visit.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing