We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel
Ranked #68 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special attention”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Enjoyable stay with a very good location. We were lucky to be greeted by Dave who went out of his way to make our stay a very pleasant one. Breakfast was really good, hall much nicer than rooms... Recommendable due to its perfect location.

Room Tip: Choose the new area, no views but much larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guiomar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guiomar U,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that we were able to welcome you so efficiently and look after you to your satisfaction.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future,

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    675
    234
    82
    53
See reviews for
294
979
64
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited for afternoon tea. The service was exceptional. The building is stunning and I would love to visit again to explore, it is easy to get to either by George Street or Princes Street. Afternoon tea started with a palate cleanser which was delicious. Having been to a few afternoon teas it was nice to be served something different to the customary sandwiches. One was an open roast beef sandwich which was lovely although perhaps a little rare for my particular taste. The cakes were so delicious. The bubbly was also a delight and you could tell it was a better quality from the others we have sampled.I also visited here for brunch last year and the same excellent service has been maintained. I had croque monsieur and a glass of fizz and still think about how delicious it was. I also felt the brunch menu prices were very reasonable. My friend had an omelette and I have never seen one so large and fluffy. Yum! Cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdoug62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear jdoug62,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel and your experience of afternoon tea. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit so much and our offering. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After travelling for 5 hours it was with much relief that we landed here. Exquisite surroundings blending the traditional with a modern twist. The staff could not do enough to help and were bedecked in traditional hotel attire including tails, which brought an additional touch of nostalgia to our visit.

The food was simply superb, as was the quality of the room. The only downside, being the very poor shower pressure (room 462).

Room Tip: Select Room 462 - you can just see the castle and has a great balcony for alfresco dining for 4 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338David_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 186338David_S,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and you found the food, service and surroundings to be so enjoyable. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It was my friend's surprise 50th birthday and Gavin arranged ice buckets, drinks and canapes at the club lounge for 8 of us. Allison says thank you so much for looking after us.
It wasn't planned and I mentioned to Gavin that I need his help. Within the next minute, club lounge was all set up. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Tan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear 888Tan888,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am delighted that the team managed to look after you and arrange the celebrations for your friend. Gavin, Alice and Sylvia all send their very best wishes and thanks for your kind words. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights after being recommended by a friend. We were not disappointed! A warm and genuine welcome from all reception staff, an upgrade to a spacious suite with bay window with the most comfortable bed in Edinburgh!!
Centrally located with everything within comfortable walking distance including a lovely tapas bar just a few doors along.. Delicious range of offerings for breakfast in a light, airy and very clean dining area.
Will return for a longer stay next time...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kim L,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we were able to upgrade you accommodation for your visit.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Roxburghe offers a really friendly welcome when you are greeted at reception.

We were offered choice of floors and chose the 4th floor which led us to an attic room this was a little dated so we asked to switch which was done immediately and we switched to a much more modern room on the 'newer' side of the hotel.

Rooms on this newer side are modern spacious and really comfortable. As expected there were robes etc and a great sized bed and bath.

The lounge and eating/drinking areas of the hotel are really clean and comfortable.

We booked in for spa treatments well before our visit and this was the highlight of the hotel facilities. I recommend the hot stone treatment and facial for men. Was the most relaxing massage I've had, The staff at the spa are really friendly and I felt they enjoyed their jobs which obviously rubs off on the clients - excuse the pun.

The location of this hotel is perfect within waliking distance of lots of restaurants, bistros and bars.
Would definately book again

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel not floor 4 unless you want an attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrensullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear darrensullivan,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that the highlight for you was your spa treatments, the team in the spa are incredibly pleased to read your kind feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One can generally expect a comfortable, well-maintained and well-appointed room when booking a Crowne Plaza - but in the case of the The Roxburghe Crowne Plaza in Edinburgh we were very impressed with the genuine Scottish hospitality. Even before traveling to Edinburgh the concierge
Gavin Stirling communicated by e-mail and set a tone for attention-to-detail that continued once we arrived weeks later. He and the entire staff added a personal and personable dimension to our stay. When traveling in the U.S. or abroad - it's always the staff that are the first-line of local
flavor. Beyond the attentive friendliness of the staff - the Roxburghe Edinburghe is a classy and classic hotel situated perfectly in proximity to the Old and New Town sections with the best of Edinburghe within walking distance. Perfect for daily jogs and blocks from world-class restaurants
And near Edinburghe Castle. Even the taxi drivers are friendly.

Distilleries in the Highlands are quite tasty but don't overlook the Midlands and distilleries such as the Glenkinchie Distillery, with exceptional whiskies, just 15 miles from Edinburghe.

Room Tip: An above ground room facing Charlotte Square affords a little of the Edinburghe ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear RobinReview,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and that Gavin and the team were able to provide you with service that was memorable and enhanced your stay with us. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be returning to Edinburgh again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regard

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing