We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel
Ranked #66 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Chose to stay here as we had stayed here when it was a MacDonald hotel. Ideal location, just off Princes Street and about 5 minutes by taxi from Waverley station. The staff are very good, not just professional and friendly but lots of them! There is always somebody on reception, at the concierge desk and in the bar and restaurant, which is lovely to see. The room was spotless and very quiet. The food is very good - the cooked breakfast is prepared fresh, not buffet style, which I much prefer - my Mum had smoked haddock which she said was one of the best she had had. All in all, next time we go to Edinburgh, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Louise H

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your return stay at the hotel with your mother. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for a third in the near future,

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    687
    243
    83
    54
See reviews for
305
1,003
66
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel to visit Edinburgh. There where 2 adults and 2 kids.

Staff very friendly, room spotless and very spacious.

Breakfast very well presented and tasty.

Great hotel to stay in for visiting Edinburgh, perfectly placed to visit everywhere on foot and the tour bus stops right outside.

Fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Chris M

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

another lovely afternoon tea here.. great friendly service, lovely light scones, delicious cakes, good sandwiches.. and very nice prossecco..
however, I had a knee injury, so they were kind and got me a stool for my knee, made me very comfortable... so a nice pampered afternoon with a very kind waitress..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear murphy-edin,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel following your visit for afternoon tea. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you found the afternoon tea to be so lovely. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm usually pretty picky when it comes to writing reviews of hotels, but I have nothing to complain about with this one - it's well-maintained, the staff are unfailingly helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are lovely.

Room Tip: Opt for the newer section of the hotel, away from the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear AndyAiken

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Roxburghe to start our Scotland experience, and the hotel did not disappoint. Very clean, exceptionally polite staff, wonderful breakfast and breakfast area. The rooms are a bit 'wee' but, what room wouldn't be in a centuries-old building. The bathrooms are updated and the beds exceptionally comfortable. We really enjoyed this hotel. The Green "hop on, hop off" bus goes right by and picks up / drops off at the other side of the square. A great location! The hotel also recovered nicely from a fire alarm at 3am on our first night - quick response, and a lovely letter apologizing the next morning. Well done Crowne Plaza!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North of the hotel face the Firth of Forth (visible in the distance), Charlotte Square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Tim W

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

excellent location nice room for me self i have group around 36 people all of them they like it so i will recommend next time then i will bring my another group thank you all for you helping me and make my group fill happy all the time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adnan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Adnan A

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. When you have a date in mind to return please do contact us directly on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We originally come up to Edinburgh to celebrate a wedding. We knew we had made the right choice from the first moment we arrived when James greeted us, parked the car and sorted out our luggage. Then Chris Barnes was so helpful at check in. Things just kept getting better. In our room there was a bowl of fruit from Barry congratulating us on out wedding anniversary. The Roxburghe doesn't look much from the front, only 4 brass plates draw your attention to the door which looks part of the typical Georgian Facades of New Town, Edinburgh. But once you are inside, well what a transformation! Roomy doesn't really cover it! There is so much space and of course the very special welcome you get from all the staff there. Nothing is too much trouble! This extends to the adjoining restaurant where the same first class, friendly service is standard. Our room was a club room in the front of the hotel which is part if the original Georgian building - the ceilings are so high! The bed was very large and very comfortable we had a great view over Charlotte Square. We had our Breakfasts in the very comfortable Club Lounge. Dimitrious gave us first class service there. We would like to thank Hannah Matthews, Justin Milae, Barry Makin and all the many others who worked so hard to make our stay so memorable! Well done and Thank You. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Chris4127

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us, and once again may I take the opportunity to congratulate you on your wedding anniversary. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,092 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,439 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,775 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. The Spa and pool close from the 13th of August then the gym will close from the 3rd of September. When the club reopens we will have a refurbished poolside, complete with new Sauna, Steam Room and Experience Shower. The changing rooms will have been completely refurbished, and the Gym will include new equipment and have been given a smart new look with increased relax space and new couples/ twin treatment room. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing