We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Quick stay this week - excellent time and really helpful staff, especially Craig the Concierge. Recommend it for location, free wifi, food, staff and cleanliness. Great for the Festival - very central!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Robert C,m

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    657
    226
    78
    51
See reviews for
282
944
61
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having visited Edinburgh a few times over the years I've been able to try out a few of the big chain hotels, and this trip was the first time we had stayed here.

Overall, the building is well hidden away due to the lack of in your face signage, I guess keeping in line with the architecture of the local buildings. Once found, you walk into a beautiful period build and interior befitting of the surroundings.

We were welcomed by Leonard, who I have to say throughout the stay was a constant friendly face who remembered my name and was clearly there to help people, and helpfully doesn't come close to how good he was, so a huge recommedation and thank you to Leonard. (If the manager is reading this, he deserves a reward for being your star member of the team).

The Good

Lovely building, Great location, lovely period interior. Room spacious, bed comfortable, staff all very helpful and friendly. Feels like a small botique hotel rather than a large chain.

Breakfast was great, service was fast and friendly. Afternoon tea and cakes looked superb, but didn't get a chance to try those.

The Bad

Other than being awakened by a fire alarm and having to leave (which wasn't anyones fault), I cannot list anything as bad here.

Summary

If you are looking for a decently priced hotel, in a good location, with good services and friendly staff, look no further than here.. will certainly be staying here again next time assuming they have the room.

First class service, staff and comfort, well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muckypaws666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Muckypaws666

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. Leonard sends his very warms thanks for your kind words and feedback. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe during August 14. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel.d just gone. Every aspect of the stay was first rate, from the check-in, to the service we received in the Club Lounge, to the quality of the breakfast, to the way the concierge staff attended to our every need, to the efficiency of the newspaper delivery in the morning and to the level of equipment in the fitness centre. Our only slightly negative observation was regarding the sound proofing of the rooms, which meant that we did tend to have a somewhat interrupted nights sleep on both nights - my suggestion would be to ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street. Overall however, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and definitely intend to utilise the hotel as and when we visit Edinburgh again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymickChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear andymickChippenham,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and your experiences of the Club lounge, breakfast and staff service provided. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twynholml, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family (2 adults, 2 children) and had a very enjoyable stay. Concierge were extremely helpful, valet parking was seamless, check in was pleasant and informative. Upon arriving at our room we found it to be spotless and large.

We decided to take advantage of the leisure facilities and took our 2 young children to the pool. The changing rooms and pool were clean and the leisure attendant was pleasant.

The only let down of the evening was the food in the George street bar and grill which I have left a review for separately (in short, just don't!!!!).

Our nights sleep was disturbed by the noise from the next door pub at 3am and 6am but otherwise, beds were clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was tasty, plentiful and reasonably priced.

Overall a pleasant stay at an affordable rate.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Niomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Niomi B,

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and leisure club so much during your time with us. We will review your comments on the restaurant and reply separately on this point.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be returning to Edinburgh in the future.

Warm wishes and Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very nice hotel, conveniently located in town centre near heritage site, walkable distance from Edinburgh castle and aptly placed for day-tours.
The hotel was near High-street and lots of restaurants, amazing variety of food available nearby.
We stayed for 2 nights and it was a very convenient stay. Being a Crowne Plaza, no shortage of excellent amenities.
Room was excellent and well-made, the area of improvement was the Elevator. Didn't take use of the gym/lounge facilities due to the short stay time available.
Had a bed and breakfast with Train offer from superbreak site. Excellent offer for a great hotel !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundaresan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sundaresan S

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked just one night for a quick visit to Edinburgh. The location is perfect at the end of Princes street near Charlotte square. George street just behind is a beautiful wide Georgian avenue with very good bars and restaurants. Easy walking to most places and the buzz of the festival. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the whole atmosphere was very pleasant. The traditional and modern mix of the decor worked well and our room was a good size.
The one downside which actually didn't effect us too much, was that the lift wasn't working on our first night. We didn't mind the stairs to the third floor but would have been difficult for anyone elderly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojomac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear mojomac2

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Chose to stay here as we had stayed here when it was a MacDonald hotel. Ideal location, just off Princes Street and about 5 minutes by taxi from Waverley station. The staff are very good, not just professional and friendly but lots of them! There is always somebody on reception, at the concierge desk and in the bar and restaurant, which is lovely to see. The room was spotless and very quiet. The food is very good - the cooked breakfast is prepared fresh, not buffet style, which I much prefer - my Mum had smoked haddock which she said was one of the best she had had. All in all, next time we go to Edinburgh, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Louise H

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your return stay at the hotel with your mother. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for a third in the near future,

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing