We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for the book/fringe festival. The location of the hotel is one of the best, directly on George street and across the street from the book festival.

We checked in and were quickly helped out by the concierge, who was great.

The room was lovely and it's one of the most comfy night's sleep we've had in a while at a hotel. The view of Edinburgh Castle and Tattoo was amazing.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and chilling out in the tea room was lovely after a hectic day.

Okay, now the problems... and they were very few. In fact, some wouldn't even view them as problems. After all, this is only our view.

We were on the 5th floor and the lift to this floor is not just very slow but also small. When it's full you do feel like the lift can't handle more weight than two... although it does, it does feel like it's struggling, and it shouldn't really take more than 30 secs or so to go 5 floors...but it does. Not sure how long but it is noticeable.

The breakfast. Although still nice, it wasn't the best and portion sizes were poor. Which in our book, should fairly equal what you pay...which it didn't. If portion sizes were good and the food cooked well (which it wasn't...overcooked bacon and sausage), we don't really mind. But when you receive a small (any I do mean small) breakfast, with a high price tag; it gets you to wonder why.

The coffee was lovely though and so was the tea. The best in Edinburgh.


Although there were a couple of small problems for us...and they were small, the stay was extremely nice and if we returned to Edinburgh (which we are) we will definitley be booking the Roxburghe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMP1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear SMP1138

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am very happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us very much and our location was ideal for your trip. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to the city.

Warm wishes and Kind regards,

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    657
    226
    78
    51
See reviews for
282
944
61
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here overnight with my son when we came up for the Edinburgh Festival. Wonderfully efficient and helpful staff, reasonable sized room overlooking the courtyard, lovely bathroom, delicious breakfast. The Roxburghe's location on Charlotte Square makes it ideal for the Book Festival and window shopping for clothes on George Street, as well as being an easy walk from Prince's Street and the Royal Mile. It was well-kept and comfortable, and only the standard large chain hotel decor in the bedroom (I prefer a bit more individuality and charm), and a minimalist approach to toiletries in the bathroom stopped me giving it a fifth star. However, we'd happily stay here again, and next time I'd try and remember to bring swimming things, to try out the spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear s b

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wanted to rate as excellent but had to rate as very good in all honesty. Two nights here as part of a tour and overall not bad. Staff were helpful (although flustered on arrival as there had been a mix-up with my room). Breakfast was marvelous. Dinner slightly less so but quite good. Location could not be better. However, this hotel has to have the SLOWEST lift in the world and as my room was on the 5th floor that was a problem. It is not good when someone with a bum leg can take stairs to 5th floor and beat the elevator!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014Joh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear 2014 Joh

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. We are currently working on upgrading our facilities again and the elevators are high on our list for improvement which will reduce improve their operation. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for five nights at this hotel and we wouldn't change a thing. All the staff were genuinely friendly, helpful and accommodating, the room was well-appointed and very comfortable, the breakfast was impressive....all together it was a very pleasant experience. We would certainly stay again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkacbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear jkacbe

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us during your visit to Edinburgh. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to the city.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Quick stay this week - excellent time and really helpful staff, especially Craig the Concierge. Recommend it for location, free wifi, food, staff and cleanliness. Great for the Festival - very central!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Robert C,m

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having visited Edinburgh a few times over the years I've been able to try out a few of the big chain hotels, and this trip was the first time we had stayed here.

Overall, the building is well hidden away due to the lack of in your face signage, I guess keeping in line with the architecture of the local buildings. Once found, you walk into a beautiful period build and interior befitting of the surroundings.

We were welcomed by Leonard, who I have to say throughout the stay was a constant friendly face who remembered my name and was clearly there to help people, and helpfully doesn't come close to how good he was, so a huge recommedation and thank you to Leonard. (If the manager is reading this, he deserves a reward for being your star member of the team).

The Good

Lovely building, Great location, lovely period interior. Room spacious, bed comfortable, staff all very helpful and friendly. Feels like a small botique hotel rather than a large chain.

Breakfast was great, service was fast and friendly. Afternoon tea and cakes looked superb, but didn't get a chance to try those.

The Bad

Other than being awakened by a fire alarm and having to leave (which wasn't anyones fault), I cannot list anything as bad here.

Summary

If you are looking for a decently priced hotel, in a good location, with good services and friendly staff, look no further than here.. will certainly be staying here again next time assuming they have the room.

First class service, staff and comfort, well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muckypaws666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Muckypaws666

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. Leonard sends his very warms thanks for your kind words and feedback. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe during August 14. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel.d just gone. Every aspect of the stay was first rate, from the check-in, to the service we received in the Club Lounge, to the quality of the breakfast, to the way the concierge staff attended to our every need, to the efficiency of the newspaper delivery in the morning and to the level of equipment in the fitness centre. Our only slightly negative observation was regarding the sound proofing of the rooms, which meant that we did tend to have a somewhat interrupted nights sleep on both nights - my suggestion would be to ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street. Overall however, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and definitely intend to utilise the hotel as and when we visit Edinburgh again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymickChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear andymickChippenham,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and your experiences of the Club lounge, breakfast and staff service provided. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh

Property: The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly The Roxburghe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roxburghe Hotel is currently undergoing a top-to-toe refurbishment. More than 100 of our bedrooms and suites have already been given a smart, new look - and it's these rooms that guests will stay in when they book accommodation. For the next couple of months, we'll be tackling many of the ground-floor spaces, including the hotel restaurant and bar. Whilst these are closed, we will serve a complimentary breakfast as room service or take-away from the lobby until the end of March 2017; dinner will be served in the lounge area and also available as room service. Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing