We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of the Royal Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Trying to find a hotel on/near the Royal Mile during Tattoo/Fringe (even 4 months ahead) was a challenge but the Inn on the Mile (formerly the Bank Hotel) thankfully had a room. The room and bath were nicely appointed and recently redone making a small size room have a luxury feel. The best thing was the kind and attentive service provided to us by Stewart from the moment we checked in. I had just come down with a cold and was not in best form. Stewart went out of his way to get us settled and to get me something to eat and getting it to our room upstairs. If you will be staying at the Inn during Tatoo, it's a jumping place well into the wee hours -- but that can be said of the entire Royal Mile during the festival weeks. Post-Tatoo, much more quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Good afternoon Europophile,

Thanks for leaving us such a great review. We are delighted that you were happy with the service and our rooms; we want everyone who comes in to have the best experience possible during their visit. We hope to welcome you back soon and I will pass on your wonderful comments to Stuart.

Many thanks and best wishes,

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was in Edinburgh recently for the Fringe festival and decided to visit the newly renovated 'Inn on the Mile'. I had visited the venue previously when it was the Bank Hotel, and may I say what an amazing improvement! The new layout is great, the food was delicious and the service was delightful. We were served by a young lass named Carlie, she was very friendly and courteous, and made our time at the pub just that extra enjoyable. I will definitely be back to visit soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HighlandHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good afternoon HighlandHamish,

It’s great to hear you like our new look, thanks for taking the time to review us. I will personally make sure Carlie get to see this and next time you’re in Edinburgh be sure to pop in to see us again. Best wishes, Jamie Carruthers

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Surprisingly comfortable and modern rooms above a restaurant and bar on the Royal Mile. Our family booked 2 rooms for a 3 night stay during 'the Fringe' and Military Tattoo. We arrived late in the evening and walked with our luggage into a pub with live performer playing. Staff at the bar transitioned to hotel check-in and we were escorted to 2 very comfortable rooms upstairs. Staff had arranged for a foldaway bed for a third in one of the rooms. Despite music downstairs into the early evening, the rooms were quiet and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again in the future. The only drawback might be the lack of a 'lift', but staff was more than willing to carry bags.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abeebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good afternoon Abeebes,

Wow, what a review! Our hotel has just been refurbished & re-launched and reading these kind comments makes all the hard work worthwhile. I will be sure to read these out at our next team meeting. Next time you are visiting Edinburgh again it would be a pleasure to have you back. Best wishes, Jamie Carruthers

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I was in Edinburgh on the bank Holliday weekend And after watching some show we went for food. after been messed around At a restaurant around the corner from here we ended up in the inn. The waitress went out of her way to get a table for us even when the where full and we where served very quick. When the food came it was vary good and the portions where very big ! The waitress was always ready to fill our drinks and nothing was too much. Over all I really enjoyed the experience and it was very good value for money.

Will defo go back next year !!!!!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Mickey87123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good afternoon Mickey87123,

Thanks for taking the time to write this very kind review. Hearing these comments really makes a difference & a pleasure to inform my team. We look forward to seeing you in 2014, remember we have lovely new bedrooms if you’re looking for a central festival base. Just let me know. Best wishes, Jamie Carruthers

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our third trip to the hotel for the fringe. The first time since its refurbishment and what a massive difference.
Cannot praise the managers Laura and Chris enough. Everything is run quite efficiently and friendly.
The rest of the staff that keep the hotel running smoothly were fantastic.
The new kitchen menu offerred just the right amount of choices and the food was fantastic.
Highly recommend this hotel for its situation on the royal mile, for its presentation, its food menu,for their choice in managers and staff. If you choose to stay there then expect to want to keep going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faldo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good afternoon Faldo71,
Thanks for this great review and it’s a pleasure to hear you like our new look. I will be certain to make sure Chris and Laura get to see your message. Next time your returning to Edinburgh please let me know directly, I’ll make sure you are well looked after as a loyal guest.

Take care, Jamie Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I visited the Inn on the Mile recently with friends for some food and drink. From the moment we walked in until the moment we left we had a thoroughly fantastic time. Sarah served us at the bar and was extremely knowledgable about all the different ales your establishment has to offer. She also suggested some yummy cocktails, my favourite of which was bitter fruits (I think this is the name). Throughout the night we got chatting to two lovely Australian waitresses who made the night just that bit better. I would most definitely recommend to anyone who visits the Inn on the Mile the fish supper with its unique presentation.

Definitely worth a visit!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good afternoon Rebecca M,

Thank you for this lovely review! It’s our pleasure to have you as our guest & will make sure Sarah has the chance to read your review. I’ll let Chef also know you like our fish suppers, it’s my favourite. Thanks again,

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great location for exploring Edinburgh!!!!!!. Very friendly staff from checking in to checking out.Fabulous rooms, very clean & luxurious. Will definitely be returning to The Inn On The Mile when next visiting Edinburgh!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Jackie T,

Thanks for leaving us such a great review. We are delighted that you were happy with the service and our rooms; we want everyone who comes in to have the best experience possible during their visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks and best wishes,

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £97 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing