We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Inn on the Mile Edingburgh

Was not a nice experience at all . We paid £125.00 for one night which did not incluede breakfeast The tap broke in the bathroom sink at about 6.30pm the boiling water would not stop from the hot water tap and would not turn off 'the plumber did not turn up untill just before 10pm that evening in the meantime we had lots of staff from the hotel try to turn off the tap including the duty manager for that evening. It seemend a bit like wavely station the amount of people that were coming in and out of our room, after a day of travelling all we wanted to do was to sleep we found ourselves sitting on the edge of the bed until they all decided to leave we asked to move to a different room but was told that there were none availble The plumber did manage to put a bend in the pipework to stop the flow of boiling water but that left us with only cold water in the sink.

We were told that because of the inconvenience that we would be given a free night stay with them with breakfeast but we are still waiting to have conformation this was promised to us on the following morning We have left a number of emails to them they have still not confirmend the free night

This was promised to us by the manager on the morning of departure 2 weeks ago

We were told that the Comformation booking would be waiting for us on our return home that was two weeks ago .



Would not recomend

Room Tip: Room Number 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Good morning Tracy J,

Many thanks for getting in touch. Please note this is never the level of service we look to provide at The Inn On The Mile and apologies for the late response. Please contact me directly Tracy at info@theinnonthemile.co.uk and mark the subject for my attention with your contact details.I will be in touch as soon as possible once received.

Thanks for your time Tracy, best wishes…

Craig Brodie
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    299
    58
    14
    10
See reviews for
104
683
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

we were pasing and noticed the door was different and decided to go in for a look- couldn't believe the transformation in here it's great now ,we had a drink and were served by the lovely polite young girl-- who is not yet bar trained but will no doubt be an asset when she is! seating is very comfy and the bar area is very tastefully laid out and even nicer at night when it's lit up.
we did not need to eat there but will make a point of that next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi JaniceHome,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review on our new Inn On The Mile. It’s great to hear you liked our transformation and the service provided. I will be sure to pass these comments along. Come visit us again soon Janice.

Thanks for your time,

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We recently ate at the newly refurbished restaurant and were not overly impressed with the service or standard of food. We were supposed to go in August for a birthday celebration but when we arrived at the restaurant they had no record of our booking, a suspected gas leak and with no apology we were sent off to eat elsewhere - not easy to find a last minute table in Edinburgh city centre during the festival! Despite all this we returned and this time when we arrived they once again could not find our booking! They were able to give us a table as they were not very busy. Our waitress was friendly but it took a long time for anyone to take a drinks order and a really long time for our drinks to be taken to our table. The food was alright but nothing particularly spectacular, average at best! Looking around there were lots of tourists who were struggling to get served that I felt like taking an order for them and taking it up to the bar! Perhaps this place will be worth a visit once again once the staff are up to speed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AMC21522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi MrsC215,

Firstly, apologies for the level of service that was provided during your visit, especially on such a special occasion. This is never a standard we ever want to portray to our guests but with a suspected gas leak in the area we had to put safety first. On this note please get in touch with me directly at info@theinnonthemile.co.uk to discuss further.

Thanks for your time, I look forward hopefully hearing from you soon.

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had been to The Bank Hotel before but didn't rate it too much. We then tried it under it's new name 'The Inn on the Mile' and we love the décor and ambience. A special mention goes to Stevie Scott who is an amazing singer - stayed all night to listen to him!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelled1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi WellTravelled1974,

Thanks for this great review! It’s our pleasure to have you as our guest, come visit us again soon. I will make sure Stevie Scott hears about your mention. Thanks for your time…

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Trying to find a hotel on/near the Royal Mile during Tattoo/Fringe (even 4 months ahead) was a challenge but the Inn on the Mile (formerly the Bank Hotel) thankfully had a room. The room and bath were nicely appointed and recently redone making a small size room have a luxury feel. The best thing was the kind and attentive service provided to us by Stewart from the moment we checked in. I had just come down with a cold and was not in best form. Stewart went out of his way to get us settled and to get me something to eat and getting it to our room upstairs. If you will be staying at the Inn during Tatoo, it's a jumping place well into the wee hours -- but that can be said of the entire Royal Mile during the festival weeks. Post-Tatoo, much more quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Good afternoon Europophile,

Thanks for leaving us such a great review. We are delighted that you were happy with the service and our rooms; we want everyone who comes in to have the best experience possible during their visit. We hope to welcome you back soon and I will pass on your wonderful comments to Stuart.

Many thanks and best wishes,

Jamie Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was in Edinburgh recently for the Fringe festival and decided to visit the newly renovated 'Inn on the Mile'. I had visited the venue previously when it was the Bank Hotel, and may I say what an amazing improvement! The new layout is great, the food was delicious and the service was delightful. We were served by a young lass named Carlie, she was very friendly and courteous, and made our time at the pub just that extra enjoyable. I will definitely be back to visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Good afternoon HighlandHamish,

It’s great to hear you like our new look, thanks for taking the time to review us. I will personally make sure Carlie get to see this and next time you’re in Edinburgh be sure to pop in to see us again. Best wishes, Jamie Carruthers

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Surprisingly comfortable and modern rooms above a restaurant and bar on the Royal Mile. Our family booked 2 rooms for a 3 night stay during 'the Fringe' and Military Tattoo. We arrived late in the evening and walked with our luggage into a pub with live performer playing. Staff at the bar transitioned to hotel check-in and we were escorted to 2 very comfortable rooms upstairs. Staff had arranged for a foldaway bed for a third in one of the rooms. Despite music downstairs into the early evening, the rooms were quiet and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again in the future. The only drawback might be the lack of a 'lift', but staff was more than willing to carry bags.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abeebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Good afternoon Abeebes,

Wow, what a review! Our hotel has just been refurbished & re-launched and reading these kind comments makes all the hard work worthwhile. I will be sure to read these out at our next team meeting. Next time you are visiting Edinburgh again it would be a pleasure to have you back. Best wishes, Jamie Carruthers

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
324 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Property: The Inn on the Mile
Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing