We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here on the 5th of December.
What a good choice!
We were offered a welcoming free drink of our choice on checking in and our host Chris was politeness and helpfulness personified,
The rooms were decent sized and extremely comfortable.
Very nice bathroom with rainfall shower and very comfy bed.
Liked the iPod Dock and above bed speakers with option to listen in the bathroom!
Well stocked mini bar and straighteners,hair dryer,iron and board all present and correct.
Nice wall mounted telly too.
There are a good few stairs to climb but that's a small price to pay for what you get here.
We come to Edinburgh a lot and this is the best value we have encountered in all our years here.
A benchmark for value for money and great customer service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordybee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hi Gordybee53,

Thank you for this great review of our Inn On The Mile. It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest and your kind comments will certainly be shared with Chris and the team. Your feedback is most greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed on Tuesday 3rd December, from start to finish the staff were great, so friendly and efficient. We were in room 9 - 4 floors up. If you need to use a lift this hotel is NOT for you and you will miss out! Our room was a good size, and the bathroom was fantastic, high class. No plastic tea service in sight but a good quality metal service and funky cups, a well stocked mini bar, a safe (free), ironing board and iron, and a large wall mounted TV. What more would you need? The bed is large and very comfortable.

We eat in the bar, which has a great choice of beers, and good wine. We both had a starter followed by the fish supper each, which was perfect and more than adequate. All for £15 each great value.

You are right in the heart of Edinburgh, with easy access to all the main attractions. For me this is a very special "Pub With Rooms" and one that we will come back to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilmory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Kilmory,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and fantastic to read you consider us ‘A great find’. We are very proud of our new hotel here at the Inn On The Mile and reading your comments really means a lot. Come back and visit us again soon, you’re welcome anytime…

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Called in for a drink and were given a very warm welcome. Staff very friendly and helpful. Decided to try the wine tasting where we got 3 x100ml glasses of white wine and 3 x100ml glasses of red wine served with labels on their own wine glass stand. A nice, quirky way of serving, just wish more bars used this idea! Will definitely be back on our next visit to Edinburgh, and will book a room here as well now we know how fab the place is :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Morning SandraA22,

Many thanks for the great review and kind comments. Our warm welcome and friendly staff are a key part in the service we deliver so thanks for taking the time to feedback, I’ll be sure to make sure our team get the chance to read this. Come visit us again soon, best wishes…

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for the night for my husband's birthday. We received a warm welcome and were able to leave our bags until check in time. When we came to check in we were given a complementary drink and shown to our room at our leisure.

I had emailed in advance to say that it was my husband's birthday and to enquire as to whether our room could be upgraded which it was! Our room was fantastic, a lovely comfortable super king sized bed, his and hers sink, large free standing bath and shower with the waterfall head. The room accessories were as described and the GHD hair straighteners and hair drier meant that I could, for once, travel relatively light!

The only down side to the room was that there was a stylish clock but because the electric was powered by the key card, therefore it was off when you left the room which was fine but this meant that you either have to reset the clock every time you go in the room or put up with it flashing - in the end we just unplugged it.

Some people have complained about the noise from the traffic but to be honest I would expect that staying in any city centre. If you are a light sleeper, take some ear plugs but the traffic noise certainly wasn't (in my opinion) too obtrusive.

Breakfast was served in the bar and there was a choice of continental and/or full English - something for everyone and lovely. The black pudding was the best we have ever tasted! Had we not already had plans for our evening we would have very much liked to have tried the food served in the bar and had a few more drinks as the atmosphere was very friendly and the bar very welcoming - maybe next time!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice place to stay in a great location for exploring Edinburgh. We would love to come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeebieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi FeebieCat,

Thank you for this great review, it was a pleasure to play a part in making your husband’s Birthday that bit more special. It’s great to hear you appreciated our new look bedrooms after our full refurbishment and enjoyed the little extras we include to make your stay all the better. Please come visit us again soon, myself and the IOTM Team wish you both a great Christmas.

Best wishes,

Craig Brodie, Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here with friends for two nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Although we had 70 steps to climb to Room 7, no problem, nobody stays in a Hotel and keeps running up and down stairs all day !. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent. Location was just right, 5 minutes from the Castle and 15 minutes from Holyrood Palace. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Eltasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi Eltasho,

Thank you for the lovely review, it’s great to hear you loved every minute of your stay. Let us know next time you’re returning to Edinburgh directly and we will make sure your well looked after. Have a great Christmas & come stay with us again soon…

Craig Brodie, Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I was out with the family trying to do a little Christmas shopping,hard work with a 2 year old and also a 3 year old. We had to escape the cold weather in Edinburgh, stumbled upon the inn on the mile. What a fantastic find, inside the decor was amazing! We were greeted by a handsome young man who was ever so polite. Straight away I knew this was going to be a good place to relax and have a bite to eat. I ordered a tuna and cheese panini and my partner had the fish cakes, and the children had chips with a glass of milk (sorry for the spillage, kids will be kids). We were not disappointed as the food was excellent. Sadly we got given kids menus without any colouring pencils for the children to be kept occupied, this however was soon to be the highlight of the day as the waitress entertained them and kept them amused by pretending to be a cat until the manager got back from the shop with crayons. Thank you to Chris and Cordelia( I hope that was her name ) and the rest of the staff for making this visit special for me and the family, we will be back next time we are in Edinburgh.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank BigTastyBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Morning BigTastyBazza,

Firstly, big thank you for this fantastic review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you all as our guest, your good self, partner and lovely kids are welcome anytime. I’ll be sure to pass your kind comments on to Chris and our resident cat impersonator Cordilia also. Hope you have a great Christmas and New Year BigTastyBazza, come visit us again soon…

Craig Brodie, Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Perfect location if you want to be in the middle of everything..... staff very attentive.... But !! The Inn on the Mile do not really make in clear, that the lovely rooms are directly above the very busy noisy pub/bar , which on the 2 evenings we stayed played very,very loud music ,first night a live band until 01.00 am and the second night about 12.30 am !! THE music was so loud it was truly impossible to sleep and although we mentioned this ,staff said we should have rung down to reception ( which is in the bar area) we actually did this but our call went unanswered probablybecause could not hear it !!!!!!!!!!!! I think the first night our bed was actually vibrating ! Also a loft hatch was left hanging down in our toilet for the whole of our stay although we mentioned on more than one occasion.I do think customers should be made aware of the noise problem, the rooms are trendy and very clean but will be looking for something quieter next time .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Hi tracey w,

Much appreciated for taking the time to review us & your kind words regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass this along.

With regards to the music, I will be sure to bring this up with our entertainment provider & monitor this carefully. If you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know personally at info@theinnonthemile.co.uk and mark for my attention. I will personally make sure you are allocated the quietest room possible & do our best to make your stay the best possible. Many thanks for your time Tracey, we hope you can visit us again soon.

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing