We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whisky Flights..Wahey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 January 2014

we didnt stay at the Inn on the Mile but we did use the bar for food and drinks over two days.
the first visit was just for a drink and Wow! £12.50 for three excellent single malts of your choice, this is a great idea and one we enjoyed very much indeed. even my missus, "She who must have lemonade in her scotch" even she helped with the sampling.
the ales are great but the best part was our food, not cheap but good portions and, "The Fish Supper" served up the old fashioned way, in newspaper, was a real delight.
their steaf pie in the enamel dish was delicious also. next time we are in Edinburgh........
WE'LL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Morning pickybeggar,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! Always great to hear such great feedback & glad you enjoyed our whisky flights, always a great way to sample some fine malts. I will be sure to pass your comments on our food along to the kitchen team also, we hope to have you as our guests again soon.

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Really cool place with absolutely lovely staff who go out of their way to make your stay perfect. You check in at the ground floor pub (used to be the Bank Hotel; much improved now!), are given a free drink on arrival, and someone will take your suitcase to your room while you unwind. If you're looking for somewhere central you really can't beat the location, and I was surprised by how well insulated the room was from external noise given it's right on the Mile. Noise from the stairs/corridor was much less insulated but it's not the kind of place that crazy parties would be drawn to, so apart from people simply walking up to their rooms everything was peaceful and the amenities were impressive. I was in town for a conference and it was a perfect place to have a quick drink in the pub before heading up to prepare for the next day, and they seem well-equipped to help tourists plan their adventures as well. I got an amazing weekday rate and this will be my first choice whenever I come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi Lauren H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It’s a joy to hear we will be your 1st choice when you return to Edinburgh for accommodation, you’re welcome back anytime. Next time you’re coming to Edinburgh please let us know directly, we will make sure you are well looked after.

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We chose hotel due to location and were not disappointed. Although in a very busy area we slept well, so good soundproofing in rooms. Warm welcome from staff. Fab facilities in boutique style rooms.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: No lift so if you dont like walking up too many stairs ask for rooms 1-3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi Liz C,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Inn on the Mile. The fact you would highly recommend us really means a lot, I’ll be sure to share your comments with the entire team at this week’s meeting. Come visit us again soon,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The small Hotel is very nice! It is in the middle of the royal mile from a side , the High Street from the other and the train station is only minutes away. Complementary drink is also offered upon arrival and the staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angbella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Angbella83,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this very kind review. I’ll make a point of sharing your comments with the team at our next meeting regarding the friendly service you’re received. Next time you’re returning to Edinburgh please let us know directly and we will be happy to assist.
Best wishes & hope to see you again soon,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

⑩My husband and I had a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh staying at the Inn on the Mile. We chose this venue as my brother had been in Edinburgh the previous week and told us about the great live entertainment they had. We were not disappointed. On both the Fri and Sat the entertainment was excellent. We were in room 6 which is very tastefully decorated. The bathroom has a walk in shower and was supplied with lovely soft towels, bathrobes and toiletries. My favourite item in our room was the bed, it was fantastically oversized and was so comfortable we missed breakfast both mornings. When we did appear the staff couldn't have been nicer. This little gem of a hotel has a great location situated on the royal mile and minutes from all major attractions, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Afternoon Margaret M,

Lovely to hear you had a lovely weekend staying with us in Edinburgh. Your feedback really is appreciated so thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on the Mile. Our bed’s really are very comfy so I can see why you skipped breakfast, next time your visiting Edinburgh & want to stay please let us know directly.

It was a pleasure having you both as our guest. Best wishes,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were looking to get away for a night and chose the Inn on the Mile due to its location and the fact it only had 9 rooms.
The location is unbeatable and is literally 5 minutes from the train station and Princes Street. We stayed in room 5 which had a magnificent view down North Bridge and as it was a corner room, we had views all round.
I may go on a bit here but the facilities in the room are second to none. There is a flat screen tv which looks as though it is floating in the curtains as no fittings are visible. The tea and coffee making facilities are all stainless steel with Villeroy Boch ultra modern mugs and plates with a 'Uri Gellar' type spoon that sat aloft the mug. There is a well stocked fridge, complimentary biscuits and bottles of water and every conceivable extra you may need. This ranges from the White Company soaps/shampoos etc to shaving kits, toothbrushes and most important for women (I feel) is that there is a turbo hairdryer and GHD's! There is an i pod dock built into the wall which plays out of speakers in the ceiling.
The bathroom is as big as the room with a huge modern shower, a huge stand alone bath and an extra long double sink.
The beds are also at least super king size with fluffy pillows and luxurious quilts.
If, like us, you want to spoil yourself for a night, then this is one I would genuinely recommend.

Room Tip: I can only recommend room 5 as this is the room we stayed in but you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinnyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi vinnyGlasgow,

Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. It’s a pleasure to hear you thought our facilities are second to none and you appreciated all the little touches within our bedrooms.

I will be sure to share this review with our team, please get in touch with us directly if you would like to come back and visit us again. Have a great 2014…

Best wishes, Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Many thanks to the staff at the Inn on The Mile for their wonderful service!

I visited with my girlfriend and we were met by a wonderful atmosphere. A modern pub with traditional values, a must visit! Great food, great ale, great prices! We will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joshdixon2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Morning joshdixon2003,

Hope you had a great weekend and thanks for this kind review. I will be sure to inform our team of your comments regarding our wonderful service, It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Come visit again soon,

Best wishes, Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing