We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Hotel in the centre of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great Hotel in the centre of everything!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Found 'The Inn..' to be a great place to stay in the centre of Edinburgh. After a long drive, the complimentary drink on arrival was a lovely touch. The rooms are spacious and we wanted to take the bed home with us as it was lovely. The caramel wafers in the room were a lovely touch, as was the proper coffee in the room. The location was excellent, as were the craft beers on offer. Really enjoyed it, be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi Sean B,

We are delighted to hear you found The Inn a great place to stay. Our location is of great benefit to our guests, thanks for mentioning in your review. It is also good to hear that the complimentary goods in the room made your experience special our aim is to please.

Thanks for taking time to review your visit to Inn on the Mile, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell Hazley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    280
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
96
646
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Inn on the Mile sits right on High Street in the old city of Edinburgh, only 300m from the main Edinburgh Waverly train station. The hotel is an old bank converted into a combination pub/guest house. If you arrive looking for a hotel, you will have a hard time finding the Inn on the Mile. The "front desk" is located at the end of the bar and the entrance to the guest room section is a non-descript door at the back of the pub. There are 3 floors above the pub where guest rooms are located, and no elevator - so be prepared to lug your bags up 4 flights of stairs. However the rooms, small as they may be, are renovated in a deco-modern style with all the conveniences one can need (except an elevator of course).

The staff running the pub (and hotel) were friendly, accommodating, and sincere... offering me a welcome dram of scotch and keeping the kitchen open to allow me to order dinner after my late arrival. The breakfast was delicious... all fresh and cooked to order, served piping hot with strong Cafe Americano expertly prepared from their espresso machine.

The Palace of Holyrood is a quick 700m walk straight down High St. and most other historic sights are a convenient walk from the front door. For longer excursions, the main train station is only a 2 minute walk away and offers regular service to all points.

Although the rooms were small and the hike up the stairs requires some effort, I would return again gladly.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms on each floor... the lower floors are easier to get to by stairs. The upper rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnbhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hi Johnbhansen,

Many thanks for your detailed thoughts on our Inn on the Mile. Our location in the city centre certainly is a huge advantage to our guests especially the train station.
We will pass on your comments to our chef regarding breakfast, he does take pride in his breakfast.

We are glad you enjoyed our quirky and friendly experience. Many thanks and we hope to see you soon.

Regards
Campbell Hazley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberseen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on room only basis but found food and service first class. On arrival we received a discount card that gave you 20% off drink and 30% off food, excellent touch. The hotel provides entertainment most nights and on Sunday night the resident singer was brill. I would certainly use this hotel in future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Laclan M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad we could play our part in what sounds like a great visit to Edinburgh. I will share your feedback at our weekly meeting as we are all happy to hear what we do makes our guests experience a memorable one. We will also let Callum know you enjoyed his performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Inn On The Mile soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We were recommended about this place by a friend, on this type of referral we will listen to him again.
It has just been fully restored and the people were extremely friendly. The restoration has been carried out to a very high degree.
We decided to stay and eat in the place as there was live music coming on later. We both had the fish suppers of the menu and they were excellent. The young local singer was extremely good, singing songs from the Beatles thought to delamitri.
On leaving we were asked what could they do to improve what we had said was a great stay.
Markings on the taps to say hot and cold, a mention that it take a wee while for the hot to come through.
The traffic coming into the pub means that the doors are open continually, it would be a good idea to look into how they can keep the heat as it should be.

Other wise wonderful

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aldial44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Aldial44,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us and that you had a great stay. I will be sure to pass these comments on to the team at our next meeting, it’s always good to know what’s working for our guests and what we can do to excel in our service provided and maintain the ambiance of our bar/bedrooms. Thanks again for this. We hope to welcome you back soon to our Inn on the Mile, best wishes…

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George's, Grenada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We absolutely LOVED our stay at The Inn on the Mile. First off, the location is AMAZING, right in the middle of the Royal Mile! The staff was very friendly and helpful; we couldn't ask for better service. The rooms were both cozy and clean. We loved the live music at the bar and had a delicious meal as well. Really, I would recommend this hotel (and the Mile Ale) to anyone planning a trip to Edinburgh. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Stephanie P,

Wow, what a review! It was a joy to have you both stay with us and lovely to hear your comments about our great location and excellent service. Thanks for recommending our hotel (and Mile Ale) also, your are welcome back anytime.

Best wishes,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great room, beautifully chic and stylish, and extremely comfortable. Great attention to detail with nice touches including iPod player and music in the bathroom. Quality toiletries and good tea and mini bar items.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Marion S,

Many thanks on this lovely review. We are very proud of our Hotel here at The Inn on the Mile and your comments ‘beautifully chic and stylish, and extremely comfortable’ means a great deal to us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Come visit us again soon, have a great weekend…

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights mid week. It's very different and quirky and I booked this based on Trip Adviser reviews. We were on the top floor (3 floors up but no lift) in bedroom 8 which was very nice and clean but quite small. The bed was a super king but took up most of the room. It was however extremely comfortable. The hotel is very central, in a great location for getting out and about but all night the noise from the street was terrible.

The bathroom was small with a "drench" shower however I had to run around a bit in it to get wet.There was no shelf or any place to sit any toiletries or any other items. The only place was on the floor either near the shower where they got wet or next to the toilet!

The staff were friendly enough but totally inattentive. On both mornings at breakfast we had to ask for cutlery, napkins, glasses for juice and other items which should have been on the table in the first place. The continental breakfast was also disappointing with little choice although the cooked breakfast was nice. Also a refill of coffee would have been great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Good afternoon ShirleyTroon,

Thanks for taking time out to review your time with us. It’s genuinely appreciated to receive such feedback on what we are doing well and what we need to tweak to make our guests experience with us all that more special.

Each week we sit down at our team meeting and go through each review in detail and I can assure you your comments will be fully discussed and followed with an action plan of improvement. Again, thanks for your invaluable feedback. If you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let us know directly, it would be a pleasure to showcase our improvement following your stay. Have a great weekend and best wishes,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Property: The Inn on the Mile
Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing