We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on the Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveller rating
870
343
63
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
343
63
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftchocolate covered strawberriesroyal milecomplimentary drink on arrivaltop floorghd straightenersrainfall showerfirst floorboutique hotelflights of stairsperfect locationhuge bedbottle of proseccomini barnorth bridgesmall hotelstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We realised very quickly when we arrived, that we had chosen the right place to stay. Excellent staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We stayed in Room 2 which was very spacious, and clean, with lots of lovely finishing touches.Huge bathroom with plentiful supply of towels.There was no noise whatsoever from downstairs although we were right over the bar. Street noise is to be expected in a big city , but it did not spoil our sleep.Two small suggestions.....instructions for the heating would be helpful.....and although the chair in the room is very stylish........a comfy chair would be most acceptable after a day walking around Edinburgh.!! Food is well cooked and presented..........with generous portions, and the bar sports a huge selection of drinks. We enjoyed our 3 nights very much, and would recommend the Inn on the Mile to anyone wanting to stay right in the centre of Edinburgh, but who like ourselves would not fancy staying in one of the big impersonal hotels.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the first floor.......remember there is no lift !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Sandra T,

Thank you for this top mark review! We are very proud of our Inn on the Mile and the fact you found us a great place to stay means a great deal to us. I will be sure to share your review with our team and certainly take your comments on board regarding our heating and our bedroom chairs. Come visit us again soon Sandra T, your welcome anytime…

Campbell Hazley – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for almost a week with my best friend. Yes, the rooms are on the small side, but they're very well done (aside from the frosted glass bathroom doors which seem to me either not at all thought-out or very well thought-out by a designer with a sense of humor).

The bar and restaurant is a great convenience, and the location is perfect. It's a quick walk from the train station, the airport shuttle, and major attractions.

Most important, the staff is fantastic. Stef and Rachel kept us caffeinated in the mornings; Chris and Jack kept us in ale in the evening. They were quick to answer questions, ready with information about the city, and just overall very friendly. They made sure we had directions when needed and even let us print our bus tickets and boarding passes at the front desk. (There was another one gee...Drew? Dabney? Hm...)

I'd highly recommend the Inn on the Mile to anyone looking to stay in the middle of it all in Edinburgh.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank eja8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Good morning eja8186,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on the Mile. It was fantastic to have you as our guest & your kind comments and top marks are greatly appreciated. I will personally relay your message to each individual team member mentioned regarding the service they provided, thank you in advance for highly recommending us going forward. We hope to welcome you back soon, safe travels…

Campbell Hazley – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a great little hotel situated in the heart of Edinburgh on the Royal Mile. The staff were fantastic, food was good (and plenty of it) and the room was amazing. The bed was big & very comfortable, the bathroom was very modern & although I didn't sample the bath it looked very inviting. The GHDs were a bonus & all the little extras (too numerous to mention) were great. The only drawback is that there is no lift. We will definitely stay here again & can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 & had an excellent view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dacgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Good morning dacgab,

Thanks so much for this top mark review, it’s a pleasure to hear you found our hotel fantastic! Great to read you enjoyed all the little extras within our bedrooms also, I will make a point of sharing your comments with the team. Next time you are looking to return please let us know directly, we would be delighted to have you stay again. Best wishes,

Campbell Hazley – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Me and my wife were hear for a weekend break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms were large, clean, and modern.
The bar was pleasant and comfortable.
We would recommend this hotel, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi PamelaS

Thanks off taking sound time out to review your Recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the modern clean rooms, and that you found our bar/ restaurant pleasant and comfortable. Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell and The Inn on the Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked a 3 night weekend stay so were able to take advantage of a good deal. Cannot praise the staff enough from the moment we arrived to when we left. Super friendly, super helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Our room was large and well appointed and the bathroom was HUGE with a deep roll top bath. VERY comfortable and big bed. Our only observations - one of which we pointed out when we left - a small easy chair would have been nice and also for the ladies, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom

. As other people have said it it is bit noisy from the street in the wee small hours but then you are very central. We did not hear any noise from the bar even though we were directly above it. Food is very good especially the fish supper served in newspaper. Cooked Breakfast was plentiful, not a huge choice of other things but what there is is extremely good. Very well stocked bar - found gins I had never heard of before!
We can highly recommend this pub come boutique hotel - you won't be disappointed!! Who needs faceless chain hotels when you can have quality and individuality like this !

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if sleep quality is paramount due to street noise
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pappy965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi pappy965

WOW thanks for a stunning review of your stay, so happy the team made your visit enjoyable will pass on these comments at our next meeting. The rooms are great and our bathrooms keep getting great comments especially the deep luxurious baths. Our kitchen team will be over the moon with your review as they can be overlooked sometimes but the effort these guys put in needs to recognised and as you stated no over complicated menu just good well prepared hearty cooking.

Thanks again for taking the time out to review your stay at The Inn on the Mile.

Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews