We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #11 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'd been to Edinburgh before so knew that The Inn was in a great position. We were greeted with a complimentary drink on arrival and our room was excellent with lots of nice little features. We got a card that gave us discount on food and drink at the bar and the food was decent and service was good. One complaint was that it was a bit noisy in the bar downstairs. I slept like a log as always but my partner suffered a couple of interrupted sleeps. That was the only fault though so if you sleep like me or don't mind earplugs to bed then I can't recommend it highly enough for the price of the stay. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayuuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Jayuuem

Thanks for taking some time out to review your stay at our Inn on the Mile hotel and thanks for your recommendation we really appreciate it. As you mentioned you knew where The Inn on the Mile was located from previous visits to Edinburgh and we are in the heart of all the city's excitement. We glad you mentioned some of our little features especially the complimentary drink which always goes down well.

Campbell and the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    286
    57
    14
    10
See reviews for
98
656
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed a night in January, was totally blown away with the rooms and top class service! Happily stay any time again. Everything you could want in a hotel. Loved the little touches and extras you had in your lovely rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreeennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Loreeeennn

Thanks for remembering and taking five minutes to review your stay, we are happy you enjoyed our bedrooms and all the wee touches and extras. Will pass on your lovely comments about the service at our next team meeting, they will be glad they made your experience memorable.

We will be happy to have you back anytime.

Thanks
Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just came back today from the Inn on the mile stayed there for 3 nights in room number 3 over looking the Royal Mile.
Room fantastic, clean and modern and the wife loved the GHD straighteners in the room!
The place is in an ideal position for exploring and the fact that there is a really nice bar down stairs certainly helps.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
The food and drink was reasonably priced considering some of the prices you can pay on the mile.
Had breakfast once which was extra but excellent! I can recommend the eggs Benedict.
One recommendation if you like a quiet night sleep is maybe ask for a room on higher floor but if you want to stay on the mile I would recommend embracing the whole experience.
Overall excellent I will definitely recommend the place and go back in the future.

Well done to everyone who works there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Neil W

The team and I at the Inn on the Mile would like to thank you for taking time out to give a really detailed and informative review of your recent review to our hotel. We are are glad you found the room and the little extras to your satisfaction. Chef will also be happy to get some feed back on his food. Thanks for a cracking recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in April and we honestly couldn't fault the place. All the staff were super friendly and went out of their way to help us out any way they could. The room was lovely with a huge bed and the rain fall shower was amazing. All complimented by the extra touches such as the lovely miniatures, mini bar, ghd's and of course the sound system.
The food was pretty good and reasonably priced and the entertainment in the bar in the evenings was a great way to chill out with a few drinks. Location was also perfect for everywhere we wanted to go.

All in all, price, location and atmosphere spot on! We were sad to be leaving!

Room Tip: Room 7. Nice and quiet but the stairs could be tricky for some...all 79 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Hayleigh M

We are so glad you and your boyfriend enjoyed our hotel and all it's little comforts. I will share with the team you found them " super friendly" , they like a wee compliment. We are also happy the food hit the mark. Don't be sad you leaft, be happy as you can come back to the Inn on The Mile anytime.

Thanks
Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Inn for one night in transit to other business in the Highlands. The proximity to Waverly Station (quick 5 min walk) and the room prices made the decision. Upon arrival, the Inn's atmosphere and B&B feel are such a nice alternative to ordinary hotels. Too bad our stay couldn't be extended.

Room Tip: The Inn is a walkup - be prepared if the room you receive is on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Joseph G

Thanks for taking some time out to review your stay at our hotel. I am pleased you mentioned our location in proximity to the railway station, it really is advantageous for the guests that stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Campbell and the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If I was a summer tourist I would love this place but on a cool spring evening on business it unfortunately fell a little short First the rooms are beautifully decorated with modern bathrooms and plenty of in room extras like good selection of tea and coffee, nice toiletries and free WiFi. However my room was cold with an unresponsive heating system, my shower water luke warm and a lot of noise from the street into the early hours and then from the bottles being binned the next morning. Shame as otherwise this place would be fantastic . I would return but only on the promise of a room on a higher floor (be warned the stairs to the rooms are steep and plentiful)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi ZanyB

Thanks for the detailed review of your stay at our Inn the on Mile hotel, thanks for mentioning our great rooms and bathrooms and the little extras they have for our guests stay overs . We will definitely look into the maintenance issue you identified. We hope that you will return in the summer and certainly take advantage of requesting a room on a higher level.

Thanks again
Campbell and the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

March/April 2014

So much better than going to a standard chain hotel which will charge roughly the same price. I received a friendly welcome (including a free drink at the bar!). The rooms are fabulous - a great bed, excellent wifi and I love a good rainfall shower. The location is perfect. I have already recommended it to my colleagues at the university - they often need a place to suggest to visitors and this hotel is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Jon H

Thanks for review of your recent review of our the Inn on the Mile hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your complimentary free drink at the bar on check in, just a wee thank you for staying at the hotel. You mentioned so many of the room facilities and glad you enjoy the bed and rainfall shower. We appreciate your recommendation to your colleagues at the university.

Thanks agin
Campbell and IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Property: The Inn on the Mile
Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing