We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Fantastic location on the Royal Mile. This is our second time staying in this beautiful building. Rooms can not be faulted,Food is lovely, eating area is also a bar, so would recommend reserving a table in the busy season. The staff are just wonderful, however, not all of them seemed to know things about the accommodation side of things when we enquired about some services. They only have 9 rooms so you don't need to worry about a lot of people being around your room. There is no lift, so you do need to climb the stairs, but with the food serving sizes, this is a good thing to help work it off!

If you're looking for a review to decide whether to stay or not, this is it. DO IT. It's the little things that the staff do, and what the rooms have to offer that make this place shine.

Room Tip: Room 5 is our favourite. With the view over the Royal Mile and the beautiful bathroom and bath, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Eris M

Thank you for taking five minutes out to review your recent stay at the Inn on the Mile. We are so glad your review mentions great service, good food and our faultless rooms. We have recently retrained and reviewed with our team the services we offer for the hotel, we realise the benefits to both parties this brings. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you in Scotland again.

Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    280
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
96
647
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The room was clean and nicely fitted out and whilst it wasn't huge it didn't feel cramped. The minibar was well stocked with local drinks and snacks, and the other half appreciated the GHD straighteners in the cupboard. The bathroom was great, with a huge shower and decent toiletries.
It is located above quite a noisy bar, but the noise wasn't too bad even on a Saturday night, and there is a side door you can use meaning you don't have to walk through the bar to get to your room. There is no lift in the building and the top floor involves a few flights of stairs so probably not reccomended for the extremely unfit/lazy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Andy S

Thanks for your review of your recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel, we are glad the rooms met your expectations and all the little extra's added to your great visit. We unfortunately don't have a lift due to the buildings grade A listing, but it just adds a bit of quirkiness to the hotel. Many thanks again for taking the time out to put a review on.

Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A great place to stay right on the Royal Mile. The
room was lovely and impressive in a modern, minimalist way. Great views of Edinburgh city centre
Don't be put off by the business of the bar downstairs - incongruous but very ok.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1donlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi 1donlan

We appreciate you taking the time out to review your recent visit to the Mile, we are happy you found the rooms impressive and met your expectations of minimalistic and stylish. People should don't be put off by the way the bar operates to the hotel offering. It all adds to the quirkiness of The Inn on the Mile.

Thanks again
Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surgut, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

the room was very good clean modern and well laid out 5*
the problem was getting to it , we checked in in a crowded bar area we had quite a lot of luggage which had to be dragged through the busy bar and carried up 3 floors no lift no help with the bags

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Siberian-gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Siberian-Gerry

Thanks for your five star rating of our rooms at the Inn on the Mile, the rooms mean so much to our guests. I will bring your luggage nightmare up at our next team meeting to make sure we are meeting everyone of of our guests expectations.

Regards
Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I wouldn't change a thing. The room was beautifully made up, more in the style of a bed and breakfast than a hotel and the actual Inn had great food and atmosphere. We ate several meals, all beautiful. The location is fantastic as you are actually on the Royal Mile and can walk everywhere (even in winter!). The staff were all really friendly. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimity E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Dimity E

Thanks for the fantastic review of your stay. Our location is brilliant for all our guests and really helps you see all of Edinburgh's beauty. I will bring up at our next team meeting you found the team, service and food all excellent, they always like to know what they are do hits the guests expectations.

Many thanks,
Campbell and the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'd been to Edinburgh before so knew that The Inn was in a great position. We were greeted with a complimentary drink on arrival and our room was excellent with lots of nice little features. We got a card that gave us discount on food and drink at the bar and the food was decent and service was good. One complaint was that it was a bit noisy in the bar downstairs. I slept like a log as always but my partner suffered a couple of interrupted sleeps. That was the only fault though so if you sleep like me or don't mind earplugs to bed then I can't recommend it highly enough for the price of the stay. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayuuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Jayuuem

Thanks for taking some time out to review your stay at our Inn on the Mile hotel and thanks for your recommendation we really appreciate it. As you mentioned you knew where The Inn on the Mile was located from previous visits to Edinburgh and we are in the heart of all the city's excitement. We glad you mentioned some of our little features especially the complimentary drink which always goes down well.

Campbell and the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed a night in January, was totally blown away with the rooms and top class service! Happily stay any time again. Everything you could want in a hotel. Loved the little touches and extras you had in your lovely rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreeennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Loreeeennn

Thanks for remembering and taking five minutes to review your stay, we are happy you enjoyed our bedrooms and all the wee touches and extras. Will pass on your lovely comments about the service at our next team meeting, they will be glad they made your experience memorable.

We will be happy to have you back anytime.

Thanks
Campbell & the IOTM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Property: The Inn on the Mile
Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing