We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new and fresh hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel was clean, fresh, and in a wonderful location. It was once a bank which can be seen through the high ceilings and intricate architecture. It's easy to see all the attention to detail, and it was much appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi Melissa

We would like to thank you girls taking a few minutes to review your recent visit to our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed the detail in the building. The location is brilliant to all who want take in all of Edinburgh's history and tourist attractions.

Thanks again
Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was expecting great things from the Inn on the Mile. The central location, historic building and recently renovated rooms in this picturesque and central location in Edinburgh’s Old Town captured my imagination after years of using bland hotels for business trips.

I am not one to complain, but find as I get older (I am 32!), my patience with substandard dining or facilities get shorter.

I had to carry my suitcase up 3 very large flights of stairs to start with, which after a long day travelling was not what I expected. Unfortunately it is not possible to install a lift, so this will immediately exclude quite a large market.

The bedroom was reasonably clean, although the bathroom did not have its full complement of shampoos so had to ask for these.

I dined in the Bar/restaurant, and can only say I am glad I was not paying any more than I did. My benchmark of a good restaurant is whether they can cook a good deal (which on paper is pretty straightforward). I asked for a medium to rare steak, and they proved a medium to well done. I hate to waste food, but this steak totally lacked in any flavour (no wonder they offer various sauces -- which I decided to have) to make this fact!

The staff were very friendly and helpful, but rather than apologising for my poor steal (which as I was so hungry, I had eaten most of) they took the plate never to be seen again.

No sooner had i got through my first course, but a lone singer struck up an acoustic set, which whilst good was terribly loud and inappropriate for the size of venue.

To be fair, the room on the 3rd floor was well insulated from the noise, and I slept very comfortably.

Unfortunately, breakfast is only available from 8, where most hotels start between 7 and 7.30, which makes all the difference!

The bacon Sandwich which I was looking forward to was a disappointment. The bacon was tasty, but the bread roll was verging on stale and certainly not of the quality I would expect (think cheap Tesco’s white rolls).

Overall it was a good location and the room was priced well.

Do not make the mistake of eating there and venture a little further for good food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBlack82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

NBlack82

Thanks for your detailed review on our Inn on the Mile hotel, we are glad you found location and room value for money. We will review your findings at our next team meeting to ensure we are meeting the expectations of our guests "every time". All comments will be reviewed and retrained where appropriate. Thanks again for your much valued comments.

Campbell & the IOTM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Fantastic location on the Royal Mile. This is our second time staying in this beautiful building. Rooms can not be faulted,Food is lovely, eating area is also a bar, so would recommend reserving a table in the busy season. The staff are just wonderful, however, not all of them seemed to know things about the accommodation side of things when we enquired about some services. They only have 9 rooms so you don't need to worry about a lot of people being around your room. There is no lift, so you do need to climb the stairs, but with the food serving sizes, this is a good thing to help work it off!

If you're looking for a review to decide whether to stay or not, this is it. DO IT. It's the little things that the staff do, and what the rooms have to offer that make this place shine.

Room Tip: Room 5 is our favourite. With the view over the Royal Mile and the beautiful bathroom and bath, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Eris M

Thank you for taking five minutes out to review your recent stay at the Inn on the Mile. We are so glad your review mentions great service, good food and our faultless rooms. We have recently retrained and reviewed with our team the services we offer for the hotel, we realise the benefits to both parties this brings. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you in Scotland again.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The room was clean and nicely fitted out and whilst it wasn't huge it didn't feel cramped. The minibar was well stocked with local drinks and snacks, and the other half appreciated the GHD straighteners in the cupboard. The bathroom was great, with a huge shower and decent toiletries.
It is located above quite a noisy bar, but the noise wasn't too bad even on a Saturday night, and there is a side door you can use meaning you don't have to walk through the bar to get to your room. There is no lift in the building and the top floor involves a few flights of stairs so probably not reccomended for the extremely unfit/lazy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Andy S

Thanks for your review of your recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel, we are glad the rooms met your expectations and all the little extra's added to your great visit. We unfortunately don't have a lift due to the buildings grade A listing, but it just adds a bit of quirkiness to the hotel. Many thanks again for taking the time out to put a review on.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A great place to stay right on the Royal Mile. The
room was lovely and impressive in a modern, minimalist way. Great views of Edinburgh city centre
Don't be put off by the business of the bar downstairs - incongruous but very ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1donlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi 1donlan

We appreciate you taking the time out to review your recent visit to the Mile, we are happy you found the rooms impressive and met your expectations of minimalistic and stylish. People should don't be put off by the way the bar operates to the hotel offering. It all adds to the quirkiness of The Inn on the Mile.

Thanks again
Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

the room was very good clean modern and well laid out 5*
the problem was getting to it , we checked in in a crowded bar area we had quite a lot of luggage which had to be dragged through the busy bar and carried up 3 floors no lift no help with the bags

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Siberian-gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Siberian-Gerry

Thanks for your five star rating of our rooms at the Inn on the Mile, the rooms mean so much to our guests. I will bring your luggage nightmare up at our next team meeting to make sure we are meeting everyone of of our guests expectations.

Regards
Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I wouldn't change a thing. The room was beautifully made up, more in the style of a bed and breakfast than a hotel and the actual Inn had great food and atmosphere. We ate several meals, all beautiful. The location is fantastic as you are actually on the Royal Mile and can walk everywhere (even in winter!). The staff were all really friendly. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimity E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi Dimity E

Thanks for the fantastic review of your stay. Our location is brilliant for all our guests and really helps you see all of Edinburgh's beauty. I will bring up at our next team meeting you found the team, service and food all excellent, they always like to know what they are do hits the guests expectations.

Many thanks,
Campbell and the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £103 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing