We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good inn on the Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn on the Mile
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent the night here with my wife from friday 9th - monday 12th of May.
Great location, really nice bar downstairs, just a tidy loud, when a band was playing.
If you want great spacious rooms, with really nice comfy and modern furniture.
We had room 4 on the second level, so we weren't disturbed by any noise.
If I could bring one tip to the hotel it would be to ask them to put some kind of carpet in the inner hallways between the rooms.
Woke up one night of some really high heels clacking on the wooden floor.
But all in all, a great stay, good location to everything. Good food as well.
If you want to see a lot of Edinburgh, grab the 24h grand ticket to the 5 tourist busses, and you have a good ride all around the city. Will definitely go here again. Great for couples, or just a trip with good friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olecjoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi olecjoha

Thanks for taking the time to review your May weekend get away, your review was very detailed and we certainly will look into the suggestions you mentioned. We are glad you enjoyed the modern bedrooms, the location and the food it all sounds like a successful break in Scotland's capital. The location is great for all who visit the Inn on the Mile... We look forward to your return visit.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Amazing room, super food and unbelievable bathroom, I could have stayed in that huge bath all day. Honestly, I wish we had had less to do in Edinburgh so I could have enjoyed that room more - it was beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Lucybutton

Thanks for taking two minutes to review your recent visit to our hotel, we are so happy you found the room and bathroom unbelievably amazing and that we serve super food. It sounds like you should take a longer visit next time to really chill out.. So see you soon

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at the fantastic set up which was priced extremely well. My dealings staff wise were with the 'bar people' whose knowledge of Edinburgh and attention to detail were simply superb and I encountered a small business travel problem that a young lady whom I believe to be an assistant manger, Rachael, sorted out promptly and efficiently for me saving me from wasting several hours of my trip. The staff were immaculate in their uniforms and the hotel/bar were spotless and well run. I recommend this hotel 100% for anybody visiting Edinburgh be it business or pleasure. My company will be using it ahead of some of the 'bigger' named and known hotels in future.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff and they will help in any way required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALFRED H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Alfred H

We are so happy you decided the Inn on the Mile as option to stay in Edinburgh while on business. I will bring up your kind remarks regarding our team, especially Rachael. We are glad our little touches and thoughts really brought you a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming back soon business or pleasure.

Campbell & the IOTM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while on our honeymoon in 2010. Loved it! We were so centrally located it was delightful! We sat out in the verandah and people watched, had breakfast in their upstairs nook, lots of ales in their pub and our bathroom was almost as big as our room, and our room was huge! The room we stayed in was the one with organ tubes, named after the inventor. Not sure if they are still there. We stayed in mid July and the weather was gorgeous. I didn't want to leave! We walked up from the train station, I was 3 months pregnant and had no troubles at all. Everything was just so accessible from our hotel, it was called The Bank Hotel when we visited. Hope some day to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Leslie S

"Wow" a five star review from 2010, now that's impressive. We are so happy you remembered to review your visit to our Bank hotel while you were on honeymoon. We have to honest and say that we changed ever so slightly both in our rooms and in our bar and restaurant. We still carry the same values of good food, great service and well the rooms you will just. Have to come back and see they will speak for themselves. We look forward to welcoming back to the Inn on The Mile.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in April. Great location at centre of Royal Mile. An Inn with 9 rooms above. Very positive experience. Modern rooms, bright artistic design, very comfortable bed and a bathroom that would be hard to surpass. Considerable thought and imagination clearly went into design. Staff were really helpful without being fussy and provided helpful information. Complimentary drink offered on arrival, bottled water in room and coffee\tea making facilities, nice extras. In summary a great location to explore Edinburgh if you want to stay in heart of city in a small modern hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor. A little further away from noise from street with a nice view. No lift so on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Ciaran H

Thanks for reviewing your recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel, you have mentioned so many of the small things we do to make your stay with us really exciting. Our rooms really are special with to die for ensuite bathrooms. You also mentioned our great location for all the great tourist destinations in the city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell & the IOTM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The Inn has 9 modern rooms above the restaurant. HUGE en suite in ours (room 9). No elevator, but the friendly staff are more than willing to lug your stuff up for you! There are drop-down screens for sports and also live music. It has an after-work, professional clientele (at least during the week), and is both a foodies' dream and a quiet place to sleep. Good sound insulation I guess!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LuvUrZZZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi LuvUrZZZs

Thanks for reviewing your recent visit to our hotel, thanks for the kind remarks regarding good food and a great nights sleep. That's what we all about and more. Thanks for mentioning our teams effort to your stuff up the stairs, after all it is your time to relax.

Campbell & the IOTM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here whilst sight seeing and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms, and the friendly nature of all persons who I dealt with, I would definitely re visit at a later date knowing what I do now. Many thanks for a top stay, attention to detail was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Scottang

Many thanks for taking the time out to review your recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel. The team will be pleased you found them friendly and you rated the rooms pleasantly surprising. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,920 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £95 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on the Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. Please be aware the hotel has no lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing