We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on the Mile
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
866
336
64
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
336
64
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftchocolate covered strawberriesroyal milecomplimentary drink on arrivaltop floorghd straightenersrainfall showerfirst floorboutique hotelflights of stairsperfect locationhuge bedbottle of proseccomini barnorth bridgesmall hotelstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
926 - 931 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel right in the middle of it all on the Royal Mile. Walking distance from Waverly Train station too. Rooms are updated, and clean. Not many electrical receptacles in the room, but I am noticing this more and more in renovated hotels. Small and cozy.

Only thing I would caution is that there are a few bars close by, including one that is open very late (we were there until 2am on a weeknight ourselves). Great bar, but a lot of loud patrons come out of there and you hear them from the street and it kept us up a couple of nights. It is a trade-off for a hotel right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suprgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Suprgrover

Thanks for reviewing your recent visit to our hotel, thanks for bringing up the location of the hotel in proximity to the train station and the local attractions. We are in the middle of the old town and during the summer season Edinburgh becomes vibrant and lively experiences are to had all over the city. Thanks again for a cracking review and hope you recommend our hotel yo others.

Campbell & the Inn on the Mile team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights here, and I really want to go back. Loved it. The location is a perfect base for sightseeing. The room was clean, comfortable and stylish, and the chocolate covered strawberries on arrival were a nice surprise. The stairs aren't for the faint hearted, but we knew about this before we booked so it wasn't an issue. The staff are all really friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent too. The bar downstairs had a great atmosphere, with entertainment each night.

This was our first visit to Edinburgh, and when we come back, I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you struggle with mobility, don't choose a room on the 3rd floor. This is a listed building, and the hotel can't have a lift.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Issy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Issy M

Thanks for reviewing your recent visit to the hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh, and glad we could add to,the experience. The rooms are lovely and cater well for short stays, our strawberries dipped in chocolate do add to the welcome. Our bar can be amazing with live music which shortly moves to 7 nights a week, moving in August. We look forward to welcoming you back, and Issy there is no need to stay anywhere else.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I visit Edinburgh a lot, and we've stayed in plenty of different hotels. This trip was to celebrate my birthday and we decided to give the Inn on The Mile a go because of its central location. We are so glad we did, not only was the location perfect but the hotel itself was probably the best we've ever stayed in (and not just in Edinburgh). We love boutique hotels and they don't get better than this one. The attention to detail was awesome. The staff were lovely and attentive. We stayed in room five which had great views of the Royal Mile and the North Bridge, excellent for people watching!!
We had one minor glitch while we were there, the water didn't drain quickly enough in the shower and we managed to flood the bathroom but a member of staff came up with a mop and sorted out the flood. We used the gorgeous bath for the rest of our stay (we stayed two nights), so we weren't really put out, though this could have been a bigger problem for others. However, this did not cloud our stay one little bit and we were very sorry to leave. I can't recommend this hotel enough and we will definitely be returning. Thanks to all for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We loved room five: light, airy, big, great views. On the second floor so a few stairs to climb but worth it for the view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lewises2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Lewises2013

Many thanks for a wonderful review of your recent stay at our Inn on the Mile hotel, the location always pops up in reviews and once people stay and realise we are right in the heart of the old town with attractions and the train station a stone throw away it becomes real that we are in a prime location. I will pass on your lovely comments regarding the team, they really are a lovely bunch. Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell & The Inn on the Mile team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay at the Inn on The Mile. Beautiful room, loads of little extras and perfect location. Great bar and restaurant downstairs which was great to come back to after an evening out for a couple of drinks and bit of live music!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elk01477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi Elk01477

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel, we are glad the room and it's little extras hit the mark during your stay. Our location is amazing for all visiting and wanting to be central to it all. Our wee bar/restaurant is buzzing most days and the live music creates a fantastic atmosphere. Thanks again.

Campbell & the IOTM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Ended our 2 week stay in Scotland with 3 nights at the Inn. Wonderful,friendly staff. Appreciated the tips on sights to see and help with dinner reservations. Loved the location and all of the little extras in the rooms. The chocolate covered strawberries were a nice touch and we appreciated the welcoming drink. Enjoyed watching World Cup in the pub. It was nice to end the trip on a positive note. Linda-Loved the Devil's Advocate. Perfect place to celebrate a birthday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Katherine229

Thanks for taking the time out to review you recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel. I'm glad the teams friendliness and service was top notch. They really are a cracking bunch of people. We are so happy you enjoyed the end of your holiday with us, and that we could give some lovely memories. We hope you will recommend us to your friends and family.

Campbell & the IOTM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews