We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on the Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
US$533
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$540/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$958
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$763
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,319)
Filter reviews
1,319 results
Traveller rating
878
349
63
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
349
63
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftchocolate covered strawberriesroyal milebank hoteltop floorcomplimentary drink on arrivalghd straightenersrainfall showerfirst floorboutique hotelflights of stairsperfect locationhuge bedbottle of proseccomini barnorth bridgesmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,319 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent a night at the inn on the mile on the royal mile Edinburgh. Found this to be a wonderful experience room was fantastic and the staff so so helpful and friendly (especially Glenda ). Once again a wonderful hotel experience thanks again guys brilliant.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Billy B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

WOW! What a great feedback!

We really appreciate it and I will pass your kind comment to Glenda.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

The Inn on the Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great spot, lots of action with lots of things to do. Easy access to buses to see Edinburgh. Great r3taurants nearby. Train station was only a 5 minute walk, so easy access to the train as well as the bus. Tour buses started from the train station , so it was easy to see all that Edinburgh has to offer.

Room Tip: Nice room! Good bed. Nice bathroom, great shower. Lift(elevator) would be nice.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heber4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Heber4,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the central location.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

The Inn on the Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really loved Inn on the Mile and will stay there again for sure.
We were there for only one night at the end of our trip. I chose the Inn based on its proximity to Waverly as we were taking a train out the next morning and the good reviews. I only gave it 4 out of 5 as it does not have a lobby (the check-in is in the ground floor restaurant) and you do have to bring luggage up a lot of stairs. They do you warn you there is no lift on the website but I was a little unprepared for the amount of stairs. I don't want to dwell on that though as the location is great if you want to be on the Royal Mile and close to things. We also really liked the room. The room has a contemporary feel in an old charming building. The bed was very comfortable, they had robes and slippers, a minibar, a dyson fan and we had chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of processo waiting for us (book on their website for that.)
When we first arrived, we did not realize we needed to check in at the desk in the restaurant. We proceeded through the restaurant to the doors marked Bedrooms and then Vincent caught up with us and asked if we needed help. We explained we were checking in and he took us back into the restaurant/bar area to get us checked in. He was very polite and friendly and very graciously helped us up the few flights of stairs with our luggage. He pointed out all the amenities in the room and was very welcoming.

The room was not large, but that was fine as we were there for one night. It would be fine for a few days too as it has storage as long as you don't need a sitting area, etc. We had stayed at the Waldorf-Astoria earlier in the week and we had a lot more room there, but I preferred the Inn on the Mile's location. For me personally, I would take location over space when my main purpose is to be out exploring, but I know others would differ.

Breakfast in the morning was good. It was unclear to me when we sat down if items on the menu were complimentary as we had booked the breakfast option. We had not seen the buffet options across from the bar when we entered so we thought we were supposed to order from the menu. It was not really explained to us or I missed that, so maybe that could be explained better. We did order off the menu, and it was good and not terribly expensive so it was fine. Just a suggestion they could explain that better in e-mails or at check in.

The bar/restaurant is quite good and it is busy.

Room Tip: They provide a hair straightener hot tool which was nice.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coloradowahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear coloradowahine,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear you chose The Inn on the Mile to end your trip in Scotland before going back home.

We really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure Vincent will know about your kind comment.

Kindest regards

The Inn on the Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Great location and the room was lovely. Welcome drink and chocolate strawberries waiting for us. We were on the top floor so there were a lot of stairs but it’s a lovely old building.
Don’t be put off by the rooms effectively being above a bar. They are worth it.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LynnWColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear LynnWColchester,

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent visit to us. I am so pleased to hear that you loved our rooms as much as we do.

After a long day travelling we are glad to be able to offer our guests a wee drink to relax of their trip.

We have a very helpful team on site who are more than happy to porter bags for all our guests up and down, since our beautiful Georgian hotel is a Grade A listed venue which mean that alas we shall never be able to to install a lift.

We hope this won't be your only visit and that you remember to contact our team on (0044)131 556 9940 or on info@theinnonthemile.co.uk for the best returning rates.

Kindest Regards
The Inn On The Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Amazing place. Clean bright and so worth a visit. Lunch was great classic Caesar salad a small one with a wee cheeky chardonnay. Price wise well worth it. Would recommend this place to everyone I know.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank JackieT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JackieT1959,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our restaurant.

We are glad to hear you liked your caesar salad matched with a glass of chardonnay.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

The Inn on the Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews