We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£117
Expedia.com
£117
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£95
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,721)
Filter reviews
1,721 results
Traveller rating
1,151
429
90
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,151
429
90
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift royal mile top floor ghd hair straighteners first floor boutique hotel perfect location bottle of prosecco mini bar old town street noise haggis definitely stay here again edinburgh castle comfy bed waverley station tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,721 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023

There are plenty of better hotels in the area , customer services is poor. Strikes in London and was unable to get to the hotel and was unable to get any type of refund. Not willing to work with you at all. Big time thumbs down!

Room tip: Work with your customers.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

The Inn on the Mile may have the best location in Edinburgh. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The lack of a significant reception area took a bit of getting used to. We entered a nice pub with the expectation of sleeping there, rather than necessarily buying a pint.
The staff were really nice, especially the manager Monika, who did everything she could to make our stay pleasant, so kudos to her in particular.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SeanOhEid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Inn on the Mile The Inn on the Mile, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Hi SeanOhEid,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at The Inn on the Mile. We are delighted to hear that you found our location to be the best in Edinburgh, and that your room was clean and comfortable.

We apologise for any confusion regarding our reception area. As a unique concept hotel, our welcoming pub serves as both a lively gathering space and a check-in area. We understand that this may have initially caught you by surprise, but we hope that it eventually added to the overall charm and character of your stay.

We are thrilled to read your kind words about our staff, particularly Monika, our manager. It is always our goal to provide exceptional service and create a pleasant experience for our guests. Rest assured, we will pass along your compliments to Monika, as they will undoubtedly brighten her day.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Inn on the Mile. We truly appreciate your support and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Be aware the prices at the bar will include a 10% sevice charge, even though there is a sign clearly stating this is voulentery and at the customers discretion they automatically apply the charge to the price of the drinks without the customer being made aware.

We purchased 2 drinks at the bar which cost over £18.50! and only noticed the service charge once we had sat down. The drinks themselves were of poor quality and very small measures.

Far better bars around and more competivly priced.

Be aware!!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bobbyongaurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Inn on the Mile The Inn on the Mile, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Hi Bobbyongaurd,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at our bar. We understand your concerns about the automatic 10% service charge and apologise for any confusion caused by the discretionary sign. We will look into the wording of the sign to avoid any further misunderstandings.

We are sorry to hear that you found the drinks of poor quality and the measures to be small. We prioritise maintaining high-quality drinks and satisfying portions, and we apologise if we did not meet your expectations. Rest assured, we will investigate this matter and take steps to ensure our drinks meet our standards.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the availability of better bars with more competitive prices. We will use your input to improve our pricing and offerings in the future.

Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience and appreciate your feedback. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Sincerely,
Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

Review of PUB not Hotel. Good selection of drinks, friendly staff and a good location. Prices are fair and seating comfy so we hopwd to spend a couple of hours here, BUT, we couldn't stay because we were plagued by small flying insects as we sat drinking.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rustyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Inn on the Mile The Inn on the Mile, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Dear Rustyangel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to our pub. We truly appreciate your kind words about our good selection of drinks, friendly staff, and convenient location. It's wonderful to hear that you found our prices fair and seating comfortable, creating an inviting atmosphere for your intended extended stay.

However, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the presence of small flying insects during your visit. We understand how this could have dampened your experience, and we take this matter seriously. We are working diligently to address and resolve this issue to prevent any re-occurrence in the future.

We appreciate your understanding and wish to extend an invitation to return to our pub. We are confident that your next visit will be a more enjoyable one, free from any disturbances. Should you require any further assistance or have any additional concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to our management team directly. We value your feedback and are committed to continuously improving our services for the comfort and satisfaction of our valued customers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Worth the splurge. After more than a week of traveling the UK, our final stop on our trip was Edinburgh. We needed to make the most of our time in the City, and the Inn is in the thick of it all. Centrally located, under a five minute walk from the train station, very walkable to the museums, Castle, or the Palace at either end of the Royal Mile. Lots of pubs and shops all around. A bagpiper spent the afternoon playing outside our window - can't get any more of a Scottish experience than that!

Accommodations are very comfortable! From soft bedding, to a full standalone bath tub and rainfall shower in our double room. They provided a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, and there was a mini bar that included Scottish Whisky. The view from the room's many windows (nearly floor to ceiling) had great sights of the Royal Mile. While it was a lively area, we had no problem with street noise or the restaurant below.

The pub on the ground floor of the Inn is a nice vibe as well, with live music every night, good service and variety of food/drinks. A nice spot for a nightcap while staying on site.

This site was on the pricier end of accommodations available, far from unreasonable for any city, but it was worth it with the location and amenities, allowing us to see all the prime sites of the old city in an efficient way to make the most of our visit.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ASlats23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Inn on the Mile The Inn on the Mile, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Hi ASlats23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our inn. We are thrilled to hear that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and that you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer.

It's fantastic to know that our central location made it convenient for you to explore the city. We are glad that you were able to make the most of your time in Edinburgh and visit the various attractions, museums, and the Royal Mile. And how incredible that you had a bagpiper playing outside your window! That truly is a Scottish experience to remember.

We're glad you appreciated the little touches we provide, such as the complimentary bottle of Prosecco and the mini bar with Scottish Whisky. It's great to hear that your room had stunning views of the Royal Mile and that you didn't experience any issues with noise from the street or our restaurant.

We're also delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our pub, with its live music, good service, and variety of food and drinks. It sounds like the perfect spot for a nightcap after a day of exploring.

We understand that our prices may be on the higher side, but we are glad to hear that you found the location and amenities to be worth the splurge. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience, and we're thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our inn in the future.

Best regards,
Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews