We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burns' Bothy - CLOSED

Burns' Bothy
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: I have found the best eating place in Edinburgh and would like to share this with others. My partner and I ate here about a month ago and were so impressed we took two of our friends last week. The food is brilliant and the service is superb. We raved about this place to our friends and they thought we were exaggerating. Well they were just as impressed. We would really like to see this take off as it is a new business and we would like to be able to visit it for many years to come. The owners have clearly put so much effort into the business and no visitor will be disappointed.
Lossiemouth, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Found this place by chance and went inside after liking the look of the menu displayed outside. The place was empty when we arrived and was a bit weary of staying for food. Really glad we did.

We both had excellent meals. The steak was cooked to perfection and great value at £13! Had a slight wait for food but certainly do not mind if worth waiting for. Have looked for this establishment on TripAdvisor for some time to leave a review and now glad that others are leaving reviews.

Everyone that has mentioned they are visiting Edinburgh, I always recommend Burns Bothy for good quality pub food at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
750 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

If you have food allergies of any kind, do not go near this place. They refuse to take responsibility for the ingredients in their food. My family recently visited and upon inquiring about my son's food allergies they simply refused to help and told us they would not be responsible for the contents of their food. Virtually all restaurants can tell you what should be safe and what is definitely not - this restaurant would do no such thing. If all restaurants took such a position a person with food allergies would simply never be able to eat away from home. Ridiculous.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“must try it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Excellent .what a surprise.pie, lovely chips and beans and a pint of your choice for a fiver! right by the station too. desserts were really pricey tho so give those a miss if your on a budget. but it was a pleasure to go in and will again!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nic450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bothy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

This place might not look very impressive from the outside - just a doorway on the street - but once inside it's roomy and comfy. The food was excellent, every single thing was totally delicious! The hand-cut chips are possibly the best we've ever tasted. The service couldn't be faulted, the staff were welcoming, genuinely friendly and very helpful - they were excellent with our two year old, said anything on the menu could be done in a child sized portion and offered to wrap up the remainder of her meal to take away.
A modern twist on some traditional Scottish dishes, like mini haggis balls and pork with Stornoway black pudding were so delicious they 'had to be tasted to be believed'. Even the curried lentil soup and roast veg pasta were gorgeous, the chef here really can cook!
The 'iced scottie' dessert is simply bliss - like a boozy ice cream milkshake with the liqueur of your choice and homemade chocolate sauce.
Just go......go now! But make sure you take cash because apparently they haven't been there for very long and are still waiting to get the chip and pin machine installed.
Enjoy, we'll certainly be going back before we leave Edinburgh!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic, you must try it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Visited Burns Bothy with a group of 7 colleagues form across the country. Decided to try it after seeing the reviews on here, but as unsure of the food we popped in to check the menu before booking a table. There was only one main dish on the menu for vegetarians who don't eat fish. Mentioned to the owner when booking the table that we had a few vegetarians in our party and by the time we had returned an hour or so later the chef had added another veggie main to the menu especially for us. All the food we had was fabulous, can't say any more! Food has a scottish bias but good variety of choices across the courses. The place was very welcoming and the staff serving us couldn't do enough for us. It was a Sunday evening so was quite quiet but i got the feeling the same welcome would be extended even on busy days. This restaurant is not well advertised and is easy to miss in its location but definately well worth seeking it out. i will definitely be back

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotlandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burns' Bothy also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing