We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Korean Dining of the North! ”
Review of Kims Mini Meals

Kims Mini Meals
Ranked #105 of 2,487 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: £10 - £12
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Dear Kim's Patrons, We update some our food pictures with better cameras. As you know, we do not use any MSG and we only open from 5:30 to 8:30 because we prepare for long hours and use fresh products and good quality meats and cook perfectly clean.(For example, Aberdeen Angus Beef, 5% Scotch Beef Mince and rooster potatoes, three times as expensive as regular potatoes) And we do not take any reservations that's why if you come around 5:15 pm , or 6:15pm, or 7:15 or 8:00 you will be waiting for short time. Thank you!!!
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for authentic home made Korean cuisine in the UK, this would be it. We ordered a chef's special aubergine starter, with 2 mains. The mains come with a free soup and Korean side dishes. First came the soup, the side dishes, then the ordered starter, the bar has now been set really high. I highly recommend the Beef Bulgogi made out of Aberdeen Angus Beef. Tender, juicy and cooked about just right. The Dol sot Bibimbap ingredients used are of the freshest quality, and I just can't praise enough of the Kimchi! The meals are decently priced, huge portions, with unlimited rice refills! They are also recently recommended in the 2016 Michelin Guide.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank vicol580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016

The dolsot galbi was probably the best I've had in a while! It's a family-run restaurant and service was really good! I think the mum and brother were in the kitchen while the dad and the sister were running the floor. Value for money, and they also cater for vegetarians! The restaurant is pretty tiny, so go early to avoid disappointments :) Food came really quickly as well - good for the hungry tummies! The decorations in the place were a plus! :) Super cute restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 903gaylel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We enjoyed all dishes ordered which include spring onion pancakes, tasty boiled sliced rice & fish cakes, spicy stew cooked with pork & vegetables. The dishes were as authentic as its names like Ddeokbokki, Bibimbap, Pork Bulgogi, etc. Free tasty side dishes complemented the main dishes . However, we were disappointed that they could not serve the traditional Korean ginseng chicken soup. Perhaps, they needed advance notice to prepare.

At first, we were a little put off by the stern-faced owner Mr Kim who directed us to join the queue as we stepped into the restaurant. Being our first visit, we wanted to view the inside of the family-run restaurant before we joined the queue. Mr Kim turned out to be a warm and friendly guy once we settled down and ordered our dishes. The dining area was rather cramped, but adequately comfortable for quick dining. The decor was somewhat cluttered with nostalgic artefacts.

Perhaps, the limited seating capacity and the excellent cuisine attributed to the long queue during peak hours. We stood outside the restaurant in the cold for almost 45 mins, but it was a worthwhile and memorable dinner.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank afongsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Amazing place. The food is delicious, very traditional Korean food. We even had the chef/owner come and talk to us and tell us about the food. Great family restaurant. The only downside is that it's hard to get in and sometimes you need to queue outside!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kika_auxtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Price to quality: it's cheap considering the varieties of items (sides dishes, soup and dessert etc) that comes with your £10 main dish. Did I also mention that the rice is refillable.

Atmosphere: from the interior decor, crockeries and plating style, it's hard to relate it to korean food but I Guess that makes it very relatable to Caucasians.

Service; it's fast like under 10min, food will be lining to go on your tiny table. The boss himself goes around like chief commander making sure customers get what they need.

Overall, tiny shop and you should go early or risk getting turned away.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Genuinestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kims Mini Meals also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kims Mini Meals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.