We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 March 2011

First off, this is my second stay at this hotel. Previous reviews stating that the hotel is ages away from the centre is rubbish. There is a frequent bus service and it takes about 10-15 mins to get to Princes St depending on traffic.

At night I got a taxi from George St (East End) to the hotel and it only cost £8. So taxis aren't out of the question.

Didn't eat at the restaurant but I wouldn't bother, there's too many nice places to eat in the city. Oh and there's a huge Sainsbury's across the road for sandwiches etc too. Only negative is the lack of free wifi. Mobile reception is decent though so use your phone or pick up a cheap sim if you're not from the UK.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blulightning747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

I went there with my parents. The receptionists were very nice and we had a warm welcome. When we went to our room we were astonished by the view from our window as it was located in the fifth floor and we could see half of the city including the castle and the port. The hotel is located around 2 miles from the city centre (princes street that is) and the reception was very helpful by telling us the bus number, the route and the fare we needed in order to get there.

The room was very clean, the bathroom/shower spotless and the beds very comfy. There was also complimentary coffee and tea and free parking. We found the wifi very expensive (£15 or £16 per 24 hours).

The breakfast was buffet style with the option of fried eggs and we found it very yummy.

The only two downsides: when we went to the restaurant to dine the first night, we were told that we needed to order the set menu which included starters, main courses and desserts costing £20 per person (£60 in total). We said we were not that hungry and we only wanted to have a light dish. They said that we "had to" go for the set menu. I strongly believe that they took advantage of our ignorance and the fact that we were too tired to argue (we were traveling 8 hours by car). Needless to say we didn't dine there again during our four day stay. The other negative point was the prices of the drinks in the bar. They were way too overpriced. These two points are the only reason why I give it low rating for their service.

All in all a great hotel, where you will enjoy your staying as long as you avoid dining there.

P.S. make sure you don't even touch the TV's remote control if you don't want to be charged. My father just pressed the buttons of the remote control without switching it on and we were charged £1.20 !!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We were given a 4 star reception at this 3 star hotel from the reception desk staff to the restaurant staff. Food was good, though drinks were expensive, but hey ho show me a hotel where they aren't! Rooms were lovely and spotless. Breakfast was a bit expensive ,but varied and beautifully cooked. The hotel is about 25 minutes walk from the city centre. Near enough for access but far away enough to retreat from the hustle and bustle. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night - and at a special rate with breakfast included! The only drawback was no wifi connection, which is a problem if you're travelling.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindyloohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my partner. We booked it on the day of arrival after changing plans. What a delight it was to stay!

We arrived around 1600hrs on a Saturday. There were 2 people in front of us in the queue to check in - but as soon as we arrived they opened a second check in desk so we were in our room within minutes. The receptionist was very helpful when offering the usual - wake up call, newspaper, restaurant reservation etc. We didn't use the restaurant as we had had a long day travelling and so opted for room service. The menu is a fairly standard room service menu with lots of different options.

I ordered the cheeseburger and my partner ordered the sausages and mash as we weren't massively hungry. Both were very tasty and were delivered within about half an hour.

The Mini-Suite that we occupied was very clean, very spacious and offered excellent value for money.

The only possible problem that I could foresee is parking. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon so there was a lot of space, but with only 80-90 spaces in a hotel this size I could imagine that parking would be a problem during mid-week conferences.

It is situated a few miles from the main city but there is a large shopping park across the road (5< mins walk).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Hotel had no power on arrival. (not their fault)
Next morning though, generator also failed. No arrangements to inform guests regarding recurring power failure, safe descent of stairs - pitch black since no emergency lights. Eventually, they did appear with torches.
No alternative arrangements for breakfast and when asked at reception was told "I don't have a clue."
Because of power failure, couldn't use shower as pitch black in bathroom and toilet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank BrydonElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Upon Check in the lady got us the best room that she could. They had a great concierge service and the rooms weren't bad. Its a bit far from the center, and it was confusing because there are more than one Holiday Inns there, so we thought that we were in another one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

The Executive room which offers a lounge area made for a relaxing environment and the room facilities with tea/coffee and ironing board were useful The room was well maintained and housekeeping staff helpful at all times. The beds comfortable and we stayed Sunday to Tuesday and found noise levels low. A good standard HI Hotel wich though not bang in the centre provided easy access to the city and had a large retail park opposite with a Huge Sainsburys Boots M&S as well as TKMAX New Look and others. Eating options in Sainsburys and M&S and Kentucky FC. We ate lunch and dinner in restaurant and the £20 3 course dinner was very good value with outstanding attentive staff there as well as bar. Great Coffee! We will certainly consider staying there again at the right room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p.m.s.norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#111 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,350 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing