We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel at a decent price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here one night prior to flying home. The room was clean and the accomodations were good. The staff was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Matt H,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we are glad you enjoyed you stay.

Please come again next time you are in Edinburgh!

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this Holiday Inn with our two small children, for 3 nights in April. We chose this hotel as the price was good and parking was free, but it was still close enough to the city centre. It was an easy bus ride into the city. An array of shops are just across the street which was very handy. Staff were very helpful, we needed housekeeping to come to our room twice and both times they arrived within minutes. Room was really clean. We had a family room, with a large bed for us, in the bedroom area which allowed us to stay up while the kids slept on the pull-out couch in the living area. The only negative was that I didn't find the bed or pillows comfortable for sleeping, but next time I'll just bring my own pillow. Kids loved the breakfast buffet. We purchased the room and breakfast rate when we booked and it was very good value. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel provided the basics - comfortable, clean and quiet room. I stayed over the Easter weekend, and the hotel was quite full. My husband usually gets an upgrade because he is a platinum member, however when we checked in we were told that all the junior suites were full. We were given a nice room, far away from the lifts, with a fantastic view.
The hotel seemed to have trouble coping with the volume of guests. The toilet roll in our room was not replaced and when I asked the chambermaid for a refill she said that they had run out! She did offer me a box of tissues, so was trying to be helpful.
One morning at breakfast we were allocated a table (as is the usual practice) when we came back with our food somebody else was sitting there - she had managed to sneak in past the staff because of the crowds. My slow pace of eating meant that all the pastries had been wolfed down.
That said, our room was thoroughly cleaned every day.
This hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the city centre, but it is on a bus route and the buses come fairly often.
One gripe about the room: there was a sofa, but no reading light. This is often a fault of hotel rooms - in my opinion. Okay for those who want to watch TV, but I like to unwind with a book at the end of the day, and would prefer not to sit in bed to read.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lifts, and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looklovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear looklovely,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I hope you enjoyed your Easter weekend and enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I’m very disappointed to hear about the hotel staff running our of toilet paper and would not expect this kind of thing to happen. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27748559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

People visiting Edinburgh must visit the resturant!

I am a platinum member of Holiday Inn (basically I live in various Holiday Inn across the country 4/7 days of the week, enough of me) but this resturant specially the Italian Bread, Olive Oil, Balsamic Vinigar and Grilled Bruschetta, Portuguese Tart were outstanding.

They were outstanding in quality, quantity, taste and value for the money. This compired with other Holiday Inn in Edinburgh, Norwich, Reading. And food and service here is much better then Hiltion as well.

Futher more the staff here gets simply 5/5 or 10/10 Udit and Emma are the people you want to speak to and get to service you! They made my family meal outstanding and they were so great that it was too good to be true.

And I had to visit them again, next day (my wife's Birthday). She chose to celebrate here as oppose the her favorate one in the city. And as expected outstanding food and service again! (i think they have good team here!)

Atmosphere in the resturant is great for family.

Here is to the next on!

Cheers,
abhi

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbhishekChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here with my partner in March - staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the meals at the hotel were excellent (dined in both nights!)
Rooms clean and have everything you need - location is a tad out of the centre but was a 20/30 minute walk along the main road into the action of Princes street (and not, as told by a police officer on arrival at the train station, 'too far to walk')which suited us fine after eating a fairly substantial buffet breakfast!
Can't comment on the rates as we did a package break but understand it's a reasonable option if you want something decent in Edinburgh - would we go back? Yep!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COCOWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

After my stay in February I once again booked this hotel for me and my wife for an overnight stay, this time for dinner bed and breakfast. Booked b&b and paid for dinner at the hotel. Great rate booked on their own website. Given room 121. Bit noisy due to being at lift. Last time had 509 which was a Much better room. Standards again very good. As this was for pleasure I had more time to relax in hotel.

Dinner in hotel excellent value. Had £20 inclusive menu. Steak and chips included which seemed to be very heavily promoted outside the restaurant. Really tasty. Breakfast again really good. Merina and Megan really pleasant and chatty as was Emma the night before. As my wife is a chef, it's these things that helps me our stay.

My only criticism would be the gents toilets in the bar. The wall tiles look as if a blind man has done the grout. A small complaint I know!!!

Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifer1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Fifer1973,

Thank you for your review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us again!

I will report you comments about the gents toilets to our maintenance manager, unfortunately I'm female so I'm never in there to spot these things to get them fixed.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My stay in Holiday Inn City West, Edinburgh was a brilliant experience (if you haven't gathered that by the title already). I booked through expedia so got an economical rate for the room and was never disappointed. The location is perfect for anybody looking to explore in/out of Edinburgh. Loads of parking space where I never had to struggle for spaces and a breathtaking view of the city and Edinburgh castle.
The rooms were tidy and a spacious bathroom to match. The front-office staff were warm and cordial...not to mention helpful and gave us some tips for exploring the city as well. Breakfast was included and was a bargain...even though both of us were vegetarians. We had plenty of vegetarian options like hashbrowns, continental breakfast and fruit-salads. Overall a great experience and i'm probably a fan of the Holiday Inn group now.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the higher floors (i.e. 4th floor and above) and ask for a view of the Castle. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s11has
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear reviewer,

I was very pleased to read your review this morning, the staff at the hotel try hard to make your experience with us as comfortable as possible.

We are always looking for ways to help our guests be themselves and any feedback we get is greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#110 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,358 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing