We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night wedding receptions!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Saturday night wedding receptions!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room was lovely - we were upgraded to a better room on arrival which was nice. However, a member of staff let slip that the probable reason for the upgrade was because of a big wedding reception and the cheaper rooms are above the ballroom! The room, although lovely on first sight, was a bit tired. The settee had all but collapsed, but the bed was very comfortable. We had a nice view from the windows. On Saturday evening, the party was going strong and although we couldn't hear it from our room, we could certainly hear the car park noise which kept us awake until quite late. In addition, two big coaches took up a good deal of the car park which isn't very big. We slipped out for a bite (the hotel restaurant is very pricey) and when we got back couldn't get parked again, presumably because of the the reception guests. Inevitably, party-goers spilled into the bar and we found it loud and a bit tense - drunk people can be jolly, but.....

The location is handy for going Northwards, and is directly opposite a good shopping centre with lots of parking.

Overall quite nice, but not as nice as the HI-Express the other side of Edinburgh, at which we also stayed later the same week. We got a good deal on price, and that made it OK for us - hence the 'Average' rating, but had we paid full price we would not have been so charitable.

In summary, don't expect Holiday Inn standard from this hotel, especially on a Saturday night when they have a wedding reception in place!

Room Tip: Avoid Saturday nights! Go as high up the building as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Ian N, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor as your feedback is greatly valued. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room. I am sorry to learn that you were disturbed by noise levels and the lack of car parking spaces caused an inconvenience to you during your stay. We hope this has not detered you from returning to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    317
    161
    34
    17
See reviews for
228
207
38
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and our two kids stayed last week, booked direct with Holiday Inn and at a very competitive rate for two rooms including breakfast. Rooms and fairly small, but great view of city from 6th (top) floor. Breakfasts are ok, buffet style so not that hot, note they will do eggs to order, as the scrambled eggs from buffet not very good! Bar very comfortable with usual hotel prices.

City is accessed easily by bus, approx 2 miles away £1.50 each adult by bus, £3,50 for an all day ticket. There is an Indian approx 10 min walk away the Far Pavilion, well worth a visit if you like a hot curry!

Overall great value and well worth a visit especially if perhaps you have very young children, so then you can all squeeze in one room and benefit from the kids eat free dinner offers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Paul S, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor for our hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our views from the 6th floor. I am sorry to read you had a negetive experience regarding the scrambled eggs. I will pass your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A recent visit to our beautiful Capital City, staying once again at the Holiday Inn on Queensferry Road, this is our third visit to this hotel, perfect location, near shops and bus stop into city centre, our room was on the 4th floor with lovely views over the city, fab breakfast with the kids eating for free, no complaints, will always return to ths hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for room with ajoining doors, and got exactly what we asked for, perfect as there was three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Christine T, thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our superb views of Edinburgh. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We (family of four) stayed for one night during the Easter holidays 2013.

The price was very competitive, and we booked a family room with two double beds. The beds weren't huge but were adequate and quite comfortable. The room itself was clean and to the decent standard you would expect of a Holiday Inn.

There seemed to be quite a few of these family rooms.

Some minor quibbles:
There were four of us, but the hotel only provided 2 tea cups, two bathroom glasses and two bathroom towels.
The bathroom itself was small.
The room description included robes, which weren't provided.
It's surely time for large hotel chains to bite the bullet and provide free wifi access for customers.

That said, none of the above were huge problems for us and a call to reception would have sorted all but the wifi issue, I'm sure.

We stayed for breakfast - the usual cooked breakfast, pancakes, bread, meat & cheese or croissants and pastries were available. All very nice - although the selection of pastries was limited.

The hotel is located a mile or two from the city centre, but there are bus stops immediately outside the hotel for access to the excellent Edinburgh bus service. At time of writing, the fares were £1.50 per adult & £0.70 for kids - so, for us, a fare of £4.40 each way to the city centre (including a stop about 10 minutes walk from High Street, Castle etc) was ok.

Room Tip: May of the rooms look acress the city to the castle, Arthurs seat etc. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Iain T,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, I was sorry to hear that the room you were given was only set for two people, usually each room has the correct number of cups/towels/bedding etc for the number of guests checking in, you are correct though, if there is something missing from the room just contact the reception team and they will get supplies for you.

About the WIFI, from July 2013 this will be complimentary for our Priority Club Gold and Platinum members and from 2014 it will be complimentary for all IHG loyalty members.

We hope you will come back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I are pensioners and we recently spent three nights at this hotel and we loved it. We booked on a BB&EM basis. The breakfast buffet choice was very extensive and the food quality was excellent, while the three course evening meal, although having a somewhat limited choice from the menu because of the fact it was pre-booked at a discounted price, was also really good in terms of value and quality. The only fault I could find was that drink prices at the hotel bar were expensive and the bar itself was very uninviting and impersonal.The service provided by all members of hotel staff we met was both friendly and efficient, with the girls on the desk being worthy of a special mention for a rapid resolution of a billing problem. We had a room on the 6th floor with a splendid view of the city. The 2 hotel lifts were excellent. The room was clean and of a decent size, but the bathroom was quite small and the room had an adjoining door that made it somewhat noisier. As others have said, the hotel is located around 10 mins from the city centre by bus, with bus stops located on the road immediately outside the hotel. Bus fares have recently increased to £1.50 each way and the buses run every 15 minutes until late. Another bonus is that the hotel is located opposite an out-of-town shopping centre with a host of shops including an M&S and a large Sainsbury's. Well done Hotel City West, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poolie1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Poolie1940,

I am very happy you enjoyed you recent stay with us and glad my team were able to assist you promptly with the billing issue you mentioned. It's good to hear you will be back, next time you should try our direct website, this is where we have our cheapest rates and deals.

Thank you for your review,

Kind Regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just stayed for an overnighter to allow a quick shopping trip to Edinburgh.

Room nice and good value , though we had to ask for the robes etc which were part of the deal.

Also part of the deal was the evening meal which was quite simply dreadful. Very limited choice on our deal and the service was appalling.

We will use the hotel again but only for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Bluebobby,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I'm happy that you liked the room and the hotel, but am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience in our restaurant. I would be very greatful if you could contact me at the hotel and provide me with some more feedback, I would like to pass your comments on to the Food and Beverage manager and Head Chef to address the issue you faced.

Kind Regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
237 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a pleasant hotel that is very good value for money.

We arrived quite early and received a very warm welcome. Luckily our room was available, meaning we could unpack and get out and enjoy the day.

Our room was on the top floor and looked towards the castle which was lovely. There was a sofa that we turned round so we could sit and enjoy the view. The room itself was a fairly typical Holiday Inn offering, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

The bar wasn’t that inviting and the restaurant prices were expensive, so can't really comment. However breakfast was nice with a reasonable choice of hot and cold food. Fried eggs were made to order and the waiting staff were very friendly.

We know Edinburgh well and the location suited us. A 10 minute stroll takes you to the Stockbridge area which has a nice range of independent shops, bars and restaurants. There is also a retail park across the road from the hotel with M&S, Sainsbury’s, Boots, Next and a host of other big name retailers. The walk into the city centre takes about 40 minutes, but the bus network in Edinburgh is very good and there is a bus stop near the hotel.

For what we paid, this was a lovely short break. If you are looking for a hotel with extra trimmings, this isn't the best choice. But for a pleasant hotel with easy access to the city and beyond I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor looking towards the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, I was very happy to read that my team gave you a friendly warm welcome and i'm glad you enjoyed the view from your bedroom.
I hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing