We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Scottish welcome in west Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Scottish welcome in west Edinburgh”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here recently for a couple of nights whilst on a short leisure trip to Edinburgh. The room on the fourth floor was nice with two double beds (we'd booked a Standard Double), although the bathroom was compact. We had a good view of the castle and surrounding area. The hotel is very near a shopping centre with a large supermarket and some other famous stores, this was very convenient for us to do a bit of impromptu shopping. We didn't take our car, having travelled up on the train; there is a bus route nearby with regular buses taking about 15 mins into the town centre. Taxis cost around £8-9 into town and it would take around 40 mins to walk in. We ate in the hotel on the first evening and the meal was cooked fresh, tasty, and reasonably good value for money. Good choice of food at breakfast including a machine to make your own pancakes, as well as the usual full Scottish hot breakfast with haggis if required. Staff were very obliging - I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juls63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear juls63, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your short leisure break with us and that you experienced our views of Edinburgh. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding the quality of the food and our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    327
    167
    35
    17
See reviews for
239
212
40
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed at the holiday inn for one night before flying from Edinburgh airport.. check in was very quick with friendly receptionist, on check inn she informed us they were having a problem with the water system in the hotel, but provided us with bottle water free of charge..Our room consisted of 2 double beds with a fab view over Edinburgh. Next morning water was off again manager of hotel was at reception apologising to guests for the inconvience and offering to extend your stay at hotel until water was back on very professional some managers would have hid away in the office. Breakfast was buffet style and very nice it was too. No complaints at all regarding our stay and would not hesitate to return...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Ladyburn, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and professional. I will pass on your kind feedback to our team. I am also delighted to learn that you experienced our views of Edinburgh from your room.Once again thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Good hotel with excellent staff. Rooms clean and comfortable and every ammenity needed for a one night stay.
Food better than normally found in a Holiday Inn with some flair and care evidentv in the preparation.
Good size car park and near to the city centre.
i would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Antarctic, thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff excellent and our rooms clean and comfortable. Thank you for your kind feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed here over Easter, it was great, they had lots of activities on for the kids.
Meals were very good, and very reasonable considering.
Used the bus to get into edinburgh as the bus stop is directly outside and buses pass every 10 minutes.
Will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Lisa P, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Easter break with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Had a great stay on business. Check in was flawless and informative and I was really welcomed as a priority club member.
Rooms clean and restaurant had quick service and a good choice.Good parking
I will return when next in Edinburgh

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to get views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear VoyagersLondon, thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you found your check in experience flawless and the service you recieved in the restaurant was quick. Thank you for your kind feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Staying on busines, this is handily located for travel into central Edinburgh by car.

The restaurant offers a good range of eveing meals. However, before leaving my room I decided what I wanted from the menu in the room, found it wasn't listed on the menu in the lift so changed my mind and then found a third version in the bar and had to choose again. The meal I had was OK and clearly freshly cooked, service was good.

Breakfast was extensive and fresh as you expect from a Holiday Inn.

I was on the top floor at the far end of the corridor. Good view and quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Plane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Jack-Plane, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you found the service in the restaurant good and that you experienced our fantastic views from the top floor. We hope you will come back to visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upavon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Hotel was great. It was a little bit far from the city centre, which took extra long to get to because of the tram-works. But we weren't going out in the city that night, so it didn't really matter.

Check in was fast, the room was spotless. Went to the restaurant for dinner which was standard but really good. The servers were really attentive - but check the price of the wine when they offer it to you! (Luckily I wasn't paying)

Will be joining the rewards club after this trip - lots of my coworkers have given it great reviews and have gotten many free stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxsimpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Sxsimpers, thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff attentive and our rooms spotless. Thank you for your kind feedback and we will look forward to welcoing you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,175 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing