We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #86 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definately will go back”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Last stayed in this hotel 41 years ago when it was the Esso Motor Hotel and it has certainly changed. Room was very comfortable although not all that big, with the usual en-suite facilities, and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a huge selection of both hot and cold options which could not be faulted. Would not like to spend too long in the bar however as a vodka and lemonade and a pint of beer was almost £10. Not a cheap option for bed and breakfast unless you book in advance though but the service was very good and staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Stuart A,

thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent experience you had whilst staying at our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you found it excellent. We hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    325
    163
    35
    17
See reviews for
234
212
40
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Just what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Staff very helpful and friendly. I marked down slightly on location as for us it was a little far out. Having said that, however, the number 41 bus stops outside which takes you straight to Princes Street. We paid £1.50 per single journey or £3.50 for all-day use.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matilda1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Matilda1229,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldorado, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Arriving at Edinburgh airport take the Airlink bus £3.50 one way £6.00 round trip. Take to the Weaverly Station. Then take bus 41 to the Holiday Inn (Craigleith stop). The holiday in will be at top of the hill. If you chose to take it will cost about £20.00. I was traveling alone so the bus is a better option for me.
The hotel is average. Nothing just wowed me about my stay. The front desk staff was a hit or miss on helping you. Some did tend to answer questions better than others. Most would give very vague answers. My room overlooked the "mountains". I was told that the rooms facing the castle was for 4 people. It's not that good of a view. The rooms were okay. The bed I found was not the beds in most other holiday inns around the world that I have stayed in. But, were okay. There was a choice of pillows. I did find to step out of the shower was a long was down and a hand rail should be installed to prevent accidents. Coffee, tea and kettle was provided in the room. For an International hotel I would have expected more channels on the TV but not a lot of options. Was to get a newspaper in my room of a morning but only got it one morning.

There is only one option for a bus to get into the city which is bus 41. Only a 10 minute ride. If a taxi is called from the hotel it is automatically a higher rate. From the hotel to the center city will cost about £8-9. Had soup one night in the restaurant. Was pretty good. Service was good. I went down one morning and looked at the breakfast and choose against it. Wasn't much to choose from. Wi-if is very expansive. Better to get a SIM card for your phone and computer. Runs about £12.95/ day which was more than 20usd/day. I did buy 3 days. The more days you purchase the cheaper the price. You can only hook 2 devices up per charge. Air/heat made noise when turning on. The doors slam when closing. So, the hotel seemed noisy because this couldn't be helped.

This wasn't a bad hotel but for the cost I would find somewhere else to stay in returning to the area. Wasn't worth the 174usd spent there per night plus wifi and vat taxes. Will do More research upon my return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The rooms at the elevators are probably hearing the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear farmngal,

thank you for sharing your comments on your recent experience at our establishment. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and found the service to be good. Thank you for your comments as we value your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the service we provide to our guests. We hope you will come back and visit the hotel again and give us the opportunity to better your experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for work for 4 days while the Festival was in full swing in August. Due to the dates, the nightly rate was through the roof for what is a very typical Holiday Inn property. Presumably the hotel was full as IHG Platinum didn't grant an upgrade on this occasion. Location only truly useful in Edinburgh if you have a car, or are prepared to take a taxi back and forth as walking to the town centre will take approximately 60 minutes. No complaints - did everything I expect a Holiday Inn to do and nothing more or less.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FlyingChris47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear FlyingChris47,

thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. I am pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our hotel met your expectations . Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break in Edinburgh.
Not too far out of town, approximately 25-30mins easy walk.
Bus stop across the road costs £1.50 to City centre.
Good size room, nice and clean, two comfortable double beds, decent bathroom.
Didn't eat or drink at the hotel, parking was free.
Would use this hotel again when we return to Edinburgh.
Best thing about Edinburgh? The Scottish people! Honestly. Lovely, friendly, funny and the pubs............

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear ByJean,

thank you for your recent review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
254 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked this hotel because we are in the IHG rewards scheme and the price was good. Parking is free. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from Princes St but you can always catch a bus outside for £1.50 single - sadly they do not take Manchester over-60s bus passes, unlike London. Our room was on the 5th floor with a view over the city and the Forth estuary - brilliant and far better than the view from the roof of the National Museum of Scotland. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. The bar is nice and the food served there during the day is good - we had chicken and avocado sandwiches which were excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast. I would rate the breakfast as average and unexciting but there was plenty of variety and perhaps we should have ordered omelettes or similar to be cooked fresh. A couple of minor niggles - bath tiny and towels small - but nothing that would stop us returning for another visit.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridianManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear MeridianManchester,

thank you for you recent review for our hotel. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our views from the room to be brilliant. Thank you for your comments regarding the towels and the bath as we value your feedback and this will be used in a constructive manner. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team regarding the friendly and efficient service they provided during your stay. We hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My wife and I enjoy eating at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West. There is always a warm welcome from staff and excellent food and drink. Ask for a window seat to enjoy the garden view while you enjoy your meal.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Douglas0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Douglas0504,

thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. I am delighted to learn that you enjoy dinning with us and that you find our food and drink to be excellent. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our Food and Beverage team. We hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing