We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here due to the price which was great. The building is nothing to look at but inside it was ok. I arrived and the staff were good and helpful. The room was modern and clean. Only thing i did find was that the price of drinks seemed a bit rich. It cost £1.60 for a small tonic and about £4 for a gin. Best thing to do would be to buy your own from sainsburys across the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear David f,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you found our staff helpful. We hope you will come back and visit again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    313
    159
    34
    17
See reviews for
223
206
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had an executive room which was well equipped with tea, coffee, water, hot chocolate and sweets and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were too thin for us whether hard or soft, but too thick to use two together. There is some noise from the road - but we always take earplugs when staying in hotels. There were some noisy guests but that's not the hotel's fault. Very convenient for transport into the city centre and easy to access from the M8 or city bypass. All the staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful. There is a very good buffet breakfast - great haggis. Unlike other reviewers we were comfortably warm and even had to put the AC on to cool the room down. The charge for WiFi is unacceptable nowadays - you can get that free in most coffee shops! The reviewer who said it's a 25 minute walk into the city must be super fit. It takes nearly that long on the bus!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel - no view but probably less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Balstel2013,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our breakfast buffet to be great. Thank you for your feedback regarding the wifi I am pleased to say that this is now complimentary for our gold and platinum IHG Reward members and in 2014 will be complimentary for all other members too. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hi there,

We had booked a couple of nigths stay for a wknd in Edinburgh. Prior to arriving I had contacted the head office and the hotel directly for a dietary requirement for breakfast. We had also asked for a quiet room.
After a lengthy check in we were given a room, top floor at the road end facing in away from the road. Everything seemed fine until 18hrs when the roars of the kitchen fans kicked in. We initially thought it was a helicopter outside so contacted reception. The lady arrived and said she could give us another room so we decided to move. Arrived in the room to see a door which my wife asked, 'is that an adjoining room', we were told shortly and sharply NO. Sounds goods, so we went out for the evening, the breakfast requirement still had not been guaranteed and was told that it could not be sourced.
Both rooms did not have fridges in as should have and also robes etc.
We arrived back to the hotel to be told that they had sourced some items for breakfast, went up to our room and guess what, terrible speaking noise from people next door, contacted the lady who said it was not an adjoining door, she arrived, we opened our side of the 'join' knocked and this guy walked into our room, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Spent the next 40mins or so having a chat to the 'duty manager girl' who told me that I had said '4 times' that I could not believe she did not know it was an adjoining room. We should have checked, dont think so........
I went to great lengths to explain to her she had a duty of care to us but this fell on deaf ears, I think her name was Jen or Jenny......
Moved room again , this was now very late. Given a room again without a fridge and the seals on the windows was non existent so noise and wind draught all night. Used toilet roll to try and seal windows. Woke up shattered and cold but needs must.
Mentioned this at reception to be told hotel full today. Came back that evening to have to move the matress into the lounge area on the floor. I put my back out and both had a rough night.
The breakfast that was promised (gluten free) was 2 rolls and chipolata sausages.......
Complained on leaving and when back home to get some points on our loyalty card, something ironic in that I think.
So in short if you want any quality of sleep, stay then dont stay here, convenient for rugger but thats it. Absolute shambles throughout with attitude to match.

Room Tip: stay somewhere different for your health
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear billstark,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your recent visit. Our goal is to provide excellent guest experiences but it is unfortunate we weren't able to do so on this occasion. Please accept our sincerest apologies if the service you received was not at par with expectations and if the room accommodations' condition was sub par. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed two nights whilst working for a day in Edinburgh. The hotel is basically fine - pleasant and efficient staff - wonderful hot chips from the bar - decent breakfast, There is a large Sainsburys across the road in a retail park.The hotel itself is some distance from the main city. My room was OK - good size TV - but like many hotel rooms, it was too dark. The shower was the tiniest I have ever attempted to use - a small triangle. I am not a large person by any means, but I found it awkward to use because it was so cramped. The bed had a very thin covering and I was cold. I looked in the wardrobe for the blankets that hotels usually provide but there were none. Although I could have phoned down and asked for some, I really just wanted to go to bed, so I used my coat as an extra blanket. Internet access was £4 for an hour. I think hotels should provide this free since it is now such a basic commodity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letchworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Letchworthian,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you found our staff friendly and efficient. Thank you for comments regarding the shower and room temperature we value your feedback and we will use this in a constructive manner. We hope you will come and stay with us again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Friendly staff, decent views and comfortable bed. Perfect for a few days business travel in the fantastic city of Edinburgh. Its a good 25 mins walk into the city centre, but that's no bad thing in my view if you want to stretch the legs. Holiday Inn food is never that inspirational, but here it is slightly better than the average.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Wilburwills,

thank you for your recent review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you found our staff friendly and our beds comfortable. We hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just come back from a very enjoyable weekend away in Edinburgh.We stayed at the City West having booked it via Superbreaks as a mystery hotel (however it is quite easy to find out which hotel you will be staying at).Slight problem with relying on your SatNav to get you there as it takes you around the houses to the rear of the hotel and we ended up in a cul-de-sac at the edge of the hotel grounds but easy to then get around to the front entrance.
The hotel is very clean and the staff at reception very welcoming.We were given an upgrade to a suite on the 6th floor at no extra charge simply for enrolling in the rewards scheme.The room was very spacious and had ample storage and facilities for our stay.The hotel is located a good hours walk into the city centre but frequent bus service (no.41) with an all day ticket for £3:50 was great to get into the centre several times - bus stops outside hotel.Taxi fares range between £8 - £9 depending on the time of night.
Breakfast was very good and particularly liked that eggs could be cooked to order.Again staff were very polite and friendly and paid attention to the customers needs.
We had a drink in the bar on both evenings before retiring to bed and although slightly pricey were typical of similar hotels in most cities.
On our final day we asked whether we could leave our car on the car park after check out to allow us to have another day in the centre and were pleased to find that this was ok with the staff which gave us more time to enjoy Edinburgh.
We would definitely stay again at this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Better views from rooms to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartBWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear StuartBWigan,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our breakfast to be very good. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you will stay with us again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nice large hotel with plenty of car park space. The staff were very professional and helpful. The room was in very good condition as was the bathroom. I was a little disappointed that I had to pay extra for WiFi, but there were some offers depending if you chose to purchase a block of 1 day, 2 days or a week of internet access. Once purchase, WiFi connection was excellent; so perhaps it was worth the extra cost in any case. I would stay again if I returned to Edinburgh. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Digantam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Diggsir,

thank you for your recent review for our hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you would come back and visit the hotel again. Thank you for your kind comments and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing