We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$680
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
301
366
179
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
366
179
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitequeensferry roadretail parktwo double bedsupgraded to a suitefifth floorgood sizefree wifiminute bus ridebus servicean upgradereception stafftwo night staystayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentfamily roomhaggis
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stay at this hotel every week through choice as a direct result of the wonderful staff! I have very early starts in the morning and the night porter and reception guys ( Scott and .......... ) are so happy to bring me a breakfast to my room at an unearthly hour!!
however the hotel staff in general are all so helpful and professional!
this makes all the difference when staying so often.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Pauline M,

thank you for this wonderful five star review on Tripadvisor. I am truly delighted that you found Scott and the whole hotel staff helpful and professional. I will take great pleasure in sharing your very kind words with the team here, and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We chose this hotel as we were looking for a comfortable full-service hotel within walking distance of Murrayfield (Six Nations 2014) that had free parking. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West ticked all the boxes, and proved to be a very nice hotel into the bargain. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon about 2 hours before the match and had no trouble at all finding a parking space. The easy walk to the stadium (through a nice suburban area) takes approx 20 minutes and doesn't involve any strenuous hill climbing!

We paid another £10 per night to upgrade to an Executive Room on the 4th floor, which had a separate lounge area with comfortable sofa and armchair and a large screen TV. The room was also equipped with aircon (though not needed in March), a fridge, a safe and tea/coffee making facilities. The sound insulation seemed fine but we were disturbed a bit in the night by the noise of the wind whistling through small gaps around the windows - this could really do with some maintenance attention to improve the seal. Another minor niggle was that it would have been nice to have a connecting door between the sleeping and lounge area in the room - always useful if one occupant is an early riser and the other likes to sleep in undisturbed by the TV on and kettle boiling.

We paid extra for wi-fi - which is very expensive at around £10 per day, but we were aware of this in advance and had factored this expense into our budget for the trip.

We had breakfast sent up to the room each morning (£2.50 tray charge), which was promptly delivered at the time we requested it. Didn't eat in the hotel as we dined in the city centre both nights (taxi fare around £9 each way). We did visit the bar once, which was OK but didn't have much atmosphere and had a very limited selection of whiskies.

Overall we'd definitely stay here again for a similar price if our travels bring us back to Murrayfield.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Gordon2112,

thank you for sharing this five star review from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found our hotel a nice option for visiting Murrayfield and that you enjoyed your stay. However I am disappointed to learn that you were disturbed by the noise of the wind whistling through small gaps around the windows, I will report it to the maintenance department. Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you to Edinburgh again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is located in a leafy suburb to the west of Edinburgh centre. The airport bus and frequent 26 bus services stop here; there is parking on site. The room was excellent, immaculately clean with high quality furnishings; the bathroom was good and could do with a re-fit in the not too distant future. I slept well with no disturbance from inside or outside the hotel. Room service was spot-on, well prepared and presented. In general, the hotel has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere with excellent staff. One of the best at this comfort level.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Steve J,

thank you for this fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a nice hotel with nice clean rooms plenty of of tea/coffee available .its a little out of the city but there is a good bus service right outside the hotel ,for £7.50 you can get a day pass for a family of 4.breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from,the only negative thing was the fire alarm went of about 6:45 in the morning waking everyone ,we walked down 6 flight of stairs and stood in the cold and rain for about 10 minutes and where told to go back in,I understand these things happen but a explanation would of been nice

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlow307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear barlow307,

thank you for your comments of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our hotel nice, and sorry that you were disappointed at the fire alarm. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Paid about £200 for four nights with family and was disappointed - terrible rooms , uncomfy beds , iron was old school no water steam ones but the ones that take no crease out of your work shirts!! The rooms were not clean , the pillows had hair on them and the bathroom was disgusting - the tiling needs regrouting , as yellow - the staff did their best to assist when need complain but surely the reason to complain x 5 times shouldnt even be part of your stay - as these issues should be checked before hand. May be worth 4 nights but not at expense I get arash from eith sheets or bed bugs itching and also the breakfast was poor - no juices , funny egg , waiters cleaning your table when you are still eating !! and the rooms were not good - not great for the price ??? 3 star no way - i rate it 1 stat

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratedforareason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear ratedforareason,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the cleanliness of the accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We would like to obtain some additional details on your stay and have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews