We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was a very nice stay at this Holiday Inn while in Edinburgh for the military tattoo. We had a nice mini-suite on the 6th floor with great views over the hills. The hotel has free parking so was ideal to park up and get the bus into the city centre without any hassle. 40 & 41 takes you to Princess street and beyond just next to the hotel.

Breakfast is typical Holiday Inn and sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Salmo01,

Many thanks for this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you had a very nice stay with us and that you liked the views over the hills. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good hotel and perfectly positioned to the city centre. 7 - 10 minute bus ride. To and from bus stops right in front of the hotel. There is huge sainsbury about 5 min walking distance from the hotel and a big mall too. Spacious room for a express hotel and clean too. There is a restaurant and bar and also the petrol station which is a minute walk has freshly made sandwiches and a COSTA kiosk which is very convenient. Approx 30 min drive to the airport / 30 Euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jnayson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear jnayson9,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found your room spacious and clean. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff. Really comfortable stay.

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and would recommend it. I have never had any problems. There is a nice restaurant / bar area which is very convenient.

The hotel is perfectly positioned and close to the city centre

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lloyd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Lloydrayner,

Thank you for this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you visited us again and that you are so satisfied with our staff and the facilities. I appreciate your feedback on the restaurant and the bar as well. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband and children aged 4 and 6. The room was on the small side with virtually no floor space. The shower was feeble to say the least. The corridor was very noisy with banging doors, and soundproofing between rooms poor. We didn't pay the massive price for breakfast but had bought snacks from the Sainsbury's over the road. There is also a cafe there. The staff were efficient and generally everything was clean and well maintained. There is a small play area behind the hotel which is visible from the bar and restaurant and was useful to entertain our kids when we were lingering over a coffee or loading the car.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a city view for views of the castle, higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Annie P,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your room and I am sorry that you were disturbed by some noises. I appreciate your feedback on the play area of the hotel. I hope you had a great time in the city and you will be back again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was the hotel we stayed in for our Edinburgh trip over 3 nights. As always these days, arrange your stay in advance by booking online through an trustworthy online agent will lower your costs for the stay.

We were placed in a room on the first floor right opposite the lifts. This would not have been a negative if only the door was sound proof, which it wasn't. Chatter from the corridor and the waiting space for the lifts just outside the room could be clearly heard. Views of the room weren't great.

Now, this was a real disappointment: Where is the fridge? Congratulations on being the first hotel with a known brand we stayed in that did not have a fridge in their rooms... Thinking about it, this might have been the first time we stayed in a hotel room that did not have a fridge in it. Even some B&Bs have one.

The room could do with a little bit more space. The bed and pillows provided average comfort, sheets looked clean. The hotel claims to provide a range of different pillows for their customers. Wide screen TV with customised software designed for an Holiday Inn room, and a range of TV channels were available. A guide of Edinburgh was available in the drawers (Please do leave it behind for future visitors).

Maintenance in the room we stayed in was below average, holes / repairs on the walls were quite visible and the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work. The bathroom itself looked tired, and it's time for the sealing work around the bathroom to be redone. Cleanliness was average.

The room was cleaned daily while we were out in the city, however it was better attended to the first day than the second.

The customer service was sluggish and did not feel genuine. They failed to provide some slippers in the room and when informed these expected amenities were missing it took them nearly an hour to get some to us.

Not all everyday essentials expected from a standard hotel are provided, but they are listed on a card in the bathroom should you require them.

Breakfast is expensive even if you pay for it in advance. There are [plenty of] places for a great brekky in Edinburgh, so if you have the time, dine somewhere with a taste of Edinburgh.

While the hotel is not terribly expensive it's quality for value just does not match up. Given the price tag, the management needs to invest more into keeping the hotel up to date and in good repair, and staff needs more care towards their work behind the scenes. Your smile behind the reception desk is not going to make up for customer's sub-standard experience of the hotel.

Had to give it a 3/5 because tripadvisor does not allow scoring of 2.5/5 and it's not really a 2 yet. We do expect more from an Holiday Inn hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 120 and 121 are right opposite the lifts on the first floor, so if you can afford it, stay awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CecilCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear CecilCLee,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am really sorry and disappointed that you found our customer service sluggish and not genuine. Following your feedback I will be sure to look into this and provide further training to our team as we are very proud of the amount of positive feedback we usually gain regarding our excellent customer service as demonstrated in numerous other reviews. As a Holiday Inn hotel we have two types of rooms which are standard and executive. The items you have mentioned that were missing are usually found in our executive rooms which can be upgraded to for a small additional fee. I appreciate your feedback on the maintenance and the cleanliness of the room and I will personally inspect the two rooms you have mentioned to ensure they are up to standard. Thank you once again for your comments and I can assure you these will be used in a constructive manner.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

stayed here for 2 nights as a part of a tour. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was abundant. The location was not idea, about a 10 min cab ride from the center of town, but it is located very close to a bus line and some very nice walking paths. They recently stopped offering free wifi and the prices are pretty high. Overall, no complaints. I would recommend if you don't mind staying outside of the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Lauren W,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us and giving us a feedback. I am pleased that you found the hotel very comfortable and clean and the breakfast abundant. I am sorry that you were disappointed because of the wifi however I am happy to share with you that from the 1st of July 2014 our standard internet is free of charge for all IHG Rewards Club members. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We first stayed at the property in July 2010 and this was our second stay.

1) Location: Out of the city centre, about halfway between the Edinburgh city centre and the EDI Airport. Right in front of it is a large shopping complex with Sainsbury's, M&S, Costa, etc. Right next to it is a petrol station as well.

2) Building: Maintained but has a slightly worn down feeling. The car entrance/exit is sort of weird. In order to exit the main parking lot, you need to go down a slight incline, which merges with one of the car entrances, then up a slight incline then pass a roundabout by the hotel main door then go out another entrance/exit. Its hard to explain but is definitely odd and sort of dangerous because an incoming car may hit the right side of your car when you go down the initial incline.

3) Room: Average room. Nothing impressive. Feels dated and seems like nothing has changed since 2010. Bathroom is also acceptable. One good thing is that it offers a view of Edinburgh in the distance and you can get a glimpse of the beautiful buildings over there.

4) Price: We chose this property because we had to drop off a family member at the airport really early the next morning. We stayed at the Radisson Blu Edinburgh few days earlier for slightly more money and was definitely better. Holiday Inn Edinburgh City-West is quite expensive for the quality and I am not sure if it offers value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRUS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear KRUS_87,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am happy to read that you visited us again however I am disappointed to learn that this time you were not fully satisfied with the hotel. I am delighted that you liked the view over the city and I hope you had a pleasant stay in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,257 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing