We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Good hospitality, specially the location of the hotel not too much in the city, not too much far from the city

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnetEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2009

Good quality accomodation a few miles from the city centre but only 15 minutes by bus from the station or airport.

Located next door to the zoo, which you get entry to with the good value Edinburgh card (also includes bus travel, guided walks, boat rides, museums, etc).

Staff a bit surly at breakfast - one lady in particular had an 'I'm too good to be a waitress' air - mocking foreign visitors and telling me that if I wanted poached eggs on toast 'you can make the toast yourself'.

Other staff however were very helpful, both at dinner and on reception.

Rooms are standard for the chain - perfectly comfortable. High charge for internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We chose this slightly out of town hotel because we were driving and didn't want the hassle of a drive into the city centre.The driving directions given on the website however are a bit confusing-be prepared to drive a couple of miles along Queensferry road towards the city centre.We thought we must have taken the wrong route as Queensferry road does not appear on houses lining the route!
Once we found it the area is fine-there's a retail park with a Sainsbury's on the other side of the road for a cheaper option to the hotel restaurant.Bus services into the city centre are every 10 minutes but it is too far out to walk.
Holiday inns tend to vary across the brand-this one is fine-we paid £70 advance purchase rate including breakfast which was good value.Rooms are clean and spacious and the entrance foyer is also clean and modern looking

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights over Easter. We got a good deal through the hotel web-site £72 bed and breakfast per night with a 3-course evening meal on one night. Check in was excellent and our room on the 5th floor overlooked the City with great views. The room was adequate but the bathroom was tiny - I mean tiny! (half the size of the Holiday Inn Express room in Perth where we travelled on to). The bar area was fine and there was a big screen showing sport for those who wanted it but adequate quieter areas for those who didn't.

Breakfast and the evening meal were good value but the big negative was the furnishings throughout the bar and restaurant area. The fabric of several chairs was ripped with the stuffing showing. Rerally untidy and certainly not what you would expect of a 4* hotel. Very disappointing.

The hotel is functional with very good free parking. You can expect to mingle with tourists of various nationalities as the hotel is obviously on the tourist tour route.

The hotel is 2 miles out of the city but there are bus stops directly outside and the fare into town is only £1.20. (Bus number 41). Edinburgh is a fantastic city!

We would probably stay again at the rate we got but the hotel really must repalce the furnishings.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

I am too much of a planner to use websites like Priceline, but I decided to give it a try for a recent weekend trip from our current home in London to Edinburgh. I requested a three star hotel within the city centre for $50USD per night, and much to my surprise my request was not rejected; I was booked at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh North. While I disagree with Priceline's categorization of this hotel as being located in the city centre (the name after all is Holiday Inn *North*), we ended up enjoying our stay, and the value was excellent. The room was clean, functional, standard Holiday Inn fare, and the breakfast (not included in the $50 price) was decent. The hotel was a quick taxi ride from the airport, and approximately a ten minute bus ride from outside the hotel into the centre. Be sure to have exact change. We took the bus into the centre each day, and a taxi ride home at night which cost 10-15GBP. I laughed at the hotel's posted standard tariff of 270GBP per night, but I would definitely stay again for the price we paid as we were only in the room to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I have stayed in the Holiday Inn Edinburgh North a few times. On the whole its reasonably tired, but clean and adequate.

High rooms to the East have good views of the castle and the panorma towards leith, but if you like peace and quite, avoid the top floor 6, as there is quite a lot of low frequency noise and vibration, presumbly from air conditioining/heating units on the roof.

There is little to do in the local vicinity. There are a bunch of shops in the craig leith shopping center 5 minutes away. Noteable a Kentuck fired chicken and Marks and Spencers simply food. Add to this a couple of chinese takeaways, and that's your only choice for food within walking distance (other than in the hotel). There is a large Chenist (boots) and sainsburys supermarket there too, generally all open until 8pm in the week.

Its not far to walk to join the Water of leith, a nice walk that will take you a long the stream/river to the north of princes street via a very pretty walk though deans village and past the botanical gardens.

PC (plat) members get a free drink voucher, and bar of chocolate, water.

Parking is plentiful and free, a real bonus for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorianNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Deserves much better than Tripadvisor's mid-ranking for hotels in Edinburgh,

Found it all excellent value, good-standard accommodation, not located in absolute city cenre but a short and convenient bus ride away.

The staff were all exceedingly polite attentive and pleasant and the food [we stayed D B & B] surprizingly good.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,254 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing