We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #88 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

close to the city centre but had its own car park. Reception very efficient,rooms were
excellent, i stay at a number of holiday inns and this one was one of the best.
top marks

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    321
    162
    34
    17
See reviews for
232
210
39
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, west Yorks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Needing a hotel with free parking and a full english (help yourself) breakfast and after reading reviews on this hotel, I certainly was not disapointed, even asking for a room with a view of the castle and not on the top floor (due to noise prob that has been mentioned before) I was given room 412, just perfect.
The 41 bus stop just over the road(single fare £1.20) runs every 15 minutes during the day and takes 13 minutes into the centre.
The centre at the moment is a nightmare, Princess street closed for new tram way opening 2011, so take a good pair of walking boots, didn't know that Edinburgh is hilly as this is first time visited.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gingermick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

First the good- we had a great view from our room. Also the room was a good size and had a proper bed for our daughter rather than a foldaway bed which was a huge plus. Nice decor. Restaurant was fairly reasonably priced. Free parking. Across the road from a shopping centre with supermarket, KFC etc. No other restaurants close that we found. Too far out of the centre of Edinburgh to walk (unless you are very keen), but buses go past the door. The main problem was the smell of mould in our room. We didn't want to swap rooms because we had such a good view, but the smell was really quite bad. We absolutely had to leave the window open all the time. Luckily it wasn't too too cold.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

had a 2 night stay here. Originally booked twin room on 4th floor however we were offered an upgrade to a mini suite on 5th floor which we accepted. (£10 extra per night). The room was comfortable, well furnished, quiet and with a good view over part of the City and Pentland Hills. all the staff were friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast included in our room price and this was £13.75 each. It was not at all worth this - not a very good selection of fruits and cereals and rather sparse buffet table. When shown to my seat I was a little taken aback to see that the fabric on the chair was ripped to shreds - at least half top cover missing and the interior of the chair hanging out.
We didn't think the breakfast was good value at all so did not eat their on our second morning.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Good hospitality, specially the location of the hotel not too much in the city, not too much far from the city

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnetEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Good quality accomodation a few miles from the city centre but only 15 minutes by bus from the station or airport.

Located next door to the zoo, which you get entry to with the good value Edinburgh card (also includes bus travel, guided walks, boat rides, museums, etc).

Staff a bit surly at breakfast - one lady in particular had an 'I'm too good to be a waitress' air - mocking foreign visitors and telling me that if I wanted poached eggs on toast 'you can make the toast yourself'.

Other staff however were very helpful, both at dinner and on reception.

Rooms are standard for the chain - perfectly comfortable. High charge for internet access.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We chose this slightly out of town hotel because we were driving and didn't want the hassle of a drive into the city centre.The driving directions given on the website however are a bit confusing-be prepared to drive a couple of miles along Queensferry road towards the city centre.We thought we must have taken the wrong route as Queensferry road does not appear on houses lining the route!
Once we found it the area is fine-there's a retail park with a Sainsbury's on the other side of the road for a cheaper option to the hotel restaurant.Bus services into the city centre are every 10 minutes but it is too far out to walk.
Holiday inns tend to vary across the brand-this one is fine-we paid £70 advance purchase rate including breakfast which was good value.Rooms are clean and spacious and the entrance foyer is also clean and modern looking

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing