We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimi's Bakehouse

Mimi's Bakehouse
Ranked #3 of 35 Bakeries in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Mimi's is wonderfully located by the river. We went for tea and cake. The waitress was extremely helpful, polite and knowledgable. The cakes were delicious (particularly the peanut butter blondie.) Highly recommended for a traditional tea house style afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    346
    123
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever,,,,”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

wonderful almost hidden delight - make the trip to Mimi's and enjoy great food, ambience & decor. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Wedding Reception Ever!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is what I was told by all my guests that Our reception at Mimi's Bakehouse was the best ever! The staff were amazing from the initial contact to the running of the event on the day. We were able to hire the venue exculsively for the price of afternoon tea for all our 50 guests. Mimi had told us that a previous event had hired a band and we followed suit, which with the decor of mimi's the rearranged table settings, low lighting just made the evening super special for us all. Ashley, mimi's event coordinator was super fun and relaxed and on the ball which made me so comfortable in her skills to pull of an amazing day for us. I will not hesitate to suggest Mimi's bake house for anything from a relaxed coffee to a very special event. Over the Moon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super spot”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Came here as had time to kill before a meeting locally and could not believe how busy it was, and deservedly so.
Lovely coffee and enough cakes and buns that you could come here every day for a month and have something different.
Lovely place for locals to meet and chat. Possibly a few too many small children to make it a good place for a business coffee, but fabulous for everything else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as I expected”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My daughters and my wife's favourite place ever since Loopy Lornas went downhill. Si finally agreed to go along and to some extent it was exactly what I expected. Quite a lot of yummy mummies etc. But surprisingly as few businessmen and older couples there as well.

My wife was a bit unwell with tonsilitis and the staff offered to get water and honey for her tea etc to help with her throat. Staff were amazing, genuinely friendly and helpful. Was initially concerned with the length of time for the food to arrive but I have to say it was excellent, fresh, well cooked and presented. Baking was amazing especially the scones and lemon meringue cupcakes. And I say that as someone who has managed major bakeries in the past.

One of the best we have visited and we will be back every time we are down there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mimi's Bakehouse also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mimi's Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing