We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel is in an elegant old building (used to be a maternity hospital). Our room was great - spacious and beautifully decorated. The hotel is not exactly in the centre, so it's very quiet around, but all the main sights are a walking distance away.
There is one weak point though - breakfast. The buffet is quite poor, unless you are a fan of muesli. 'A selection of cheeses' is a couple of vacuum-packed cubes. There is no toaster in the breakfast room so when your toasts finally arrive they are predictably cold. The cooked Scottish breakfast is good, but quite expensive.
So my verdict is: stay there, but but have your breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katya_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Katya_P,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the start of this month. I was glad to read that, overall, you were delighted with your stay and would be happy to recommend us to other guests. I was surprised to read that you were disappointed with the breakfast buffet options. Our breakfast buffet consists of freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit segments, prunes, fruits of the forest, selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, natural and low fat flavoured yoghurts and fruit juices. However, I have discussed your feedback with our breakfast team to ensure that future guests are able to enjoy a fully stocked breakfast and able to receive hot toast as standard.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

A very enjoyable 5 days in Edinburgh with very good accommodation at this city hotel. Good location, room, breakfast and very helpful staff (helping us to look after 6 Italian friends who were staying at the Bruntsfield road Best Western). Limited parking if you go by car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stayed for one night on business. My room was cosy, quiet and well furnished. the location is great as it is not on a really busy main road - so no drunk people waking me up despite it being a Friday night. There is a tesco express near by and it is only about a ten min walk to the main sights. I didn't have dinner or breakfast so can't comment on those. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktq88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Very good hotel in an ideal location. Helpful staff, very clean and good breakfast @ reasonable price. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdemicoli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks very much for your fantastic review! On behalf of the team, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel and that you will recommend us to others travelling to Edinburgh.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards

Stacey Fleming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is situated about 10 mins walk from princes street and the castle and is pretty easy to find from the airlink bus stop. The staff were nice as nearly everyone we met in Edinburgh was. A very clean and cozy hotel. Only complaint is that our room was quite noisy. Woken up at 9 by some guy hosing down the windows! I would recommend this hotel, but only for a room on the first floor upwards.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastogne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks very much for your review and on behalf of the team at Edinburgh City Hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Apologies, you were disturbed by noise and I will certainly pass this on to the team. The hotel is grade A listed building with period sash windows, Portland Hotels invested in secondary glazing a few years ago too minimise noise in such a prime city location, ensuring a good nights sleep

Your feedback is valued and we will certainly use it for future reference. Thanks for recommending the Edinburgh City Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

With kindest regards

Stacey Fleming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Really sweet little hotel, with accommodations for three (my mom, brother and me) without feeling at all cramped. Comfy beds, great location, friendly staff, great prices. All and all we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srjenkins19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

we first stayed at the City Hotel a few years ago and were impressed then. We have just returned from a few enjoyable days, again at the City Hotel. The breakfast room is excellent, and the staff very pleasant and efficient. The bedrooms are very comfortable and it is in a quiet location with easy access to the centre. Excellent value all round.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing