We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edinburgh City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$482
US$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$319
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$146
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveller rating
706
529
97
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
529
97
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaternity hospitalroyal milelauriston placeminute walkgrassmarket arealothian roadlovely hotelgrass marketwithin walking distancewould definitely stay here againfamily roomlarge roomstayed here for nightsprinces streetedinburgh citymain attractionswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
934 - 939 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel is in an elegant old building (used to be a maternity hospital). Our room was great - spacious and beautifully decorated. The hotel is not exactly in the centre, so it's very quiet around, but all the main sights are a walking distance away.
There is one weak point though - breakfast. The buffet is quite poor, unless you are a fan of muesli. 'A selection of cheeses' is a couple of vacuum-packed cubes. There is no toaster in the breakfast room so when your toasts finally arrive they are predictably cold. The cooked Scottish breakfast is good, but quite expensive.
So my verdict is: stay there, but but have your breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katya_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Katya_P,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the start of this month. I was glad to read that, overall, you were delighted with your stay and would be happy to recommend us to other guests. I was surprised to read that you were disappointed with the breakfast buffet options. Our breakfast buffet consists of freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit segments, prunes, fruits of the forest, selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, natural and low fat flavoured yoghurts and fruit juices. However, I have discussed your feedback with our breakfast team to ensure that future guests are able to enjoy a fully stocked breakfast and able to receive hot toast as standard.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A very enjoyable 5 days in Edinburgh with very good accommodation at this city hotel. Good location, room, breakfast and very helpful staff (helping us to look after 6 Italian friends who were staying at the Bruntsfield road Best Western). Limited parking if you go by car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stayed for one night on business. My room was cosy, quiet and well furnished. the location is great as it is not on a really busy main road - so no drunk people waking me up despite it being a Friday night. There is a tesco express near by and it is only about a ten min walk to the main sights. I didn't have dinner or breakfast so can't comment on those. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktq88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Very good hotel in an ideal location. Helpful staff, very clean and good breakfast @ reasonable price. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdemicoli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks very much for your fantastic review! On behalf of the team, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel and that you will recommend us to others travelling to Edinburgh.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards

Stacey Fleming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is situated about 10 mins walk from princes street and the castle and is pretty easy to find from the airlink bus stop. The staff were nice as nearly everyone we met in Edinburgh was. A very clean and cozy hotel. Only complaint is that our room was quite noisy. Woken up at 9 by some guy hosing down the windows! I would recommend this hotel, but only for a room on the first floor upwards.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastogne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks very much for your review and on behalf of the team at Edinburgh City Hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Apologies, you were disturbed by noise and I will certainly pass this on to the team. The hotel is grade A listed building with period sash windows, Portland Hotels invested in secondary glazing a few years ago too minimise noise in such a prime city location, ensuring a good nights sleep

Your feedback is valued and we will certainly use it for future reference. Thanks for recommending the Edinburgh City Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

With kindest regards

Stacey Fleming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews