We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel / Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel / Great Service”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My family and I stayed two nights at this hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our room was very tidy and we had great free internet service. Morning breakfasts were well prepared, and the major attractions are not too far away.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    495
    88
    20
    15
See reviews for
244
586
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We spent this new year in the fantastic city of Edinburgh, a gem among cities. If you like medieval surroundings this is the town.
City Hotel was well spent money, we had a room on the top floor, a bit of noise from the traffic, but we still had good nights sleep, because there wasn't much traffic. Good sized room, clean and modern furnished. There was a free security box, the only thing we missed was a refrigerator in the room (not even a minibar to steal space in). We had a breakfast included, good choice of food but we missed mustard, HP and ketchup on the table, sure you can ask for it, but way should you have to do that?
We can very much recommend you to stay in Edinburgh at New Year (the Scots really know how to celebrate!), and the City hotel is a good choice. If you walk right, left and right again when you get out of the hotel you are at Grassmarket in five minutes and from there you have five more minutes to walk to the upper part of the Royal Mile. From the hotel to The National Museum of Scotland you have to walk for 10-15 min. Edinburgh is very handy that way, everything is reachable by foot. We loved the town and will be back for sure!
Info: a taxi cost 20 - 25 3£ and took about 20 minutes from/to hotel and airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussie_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough,Berks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My hubby and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel in Edinburgh.We had a lovely time and the hotel was perfect for all our needs.
The room whilst not being huge,had a big double bed,plasma TV,bathroom/shower room,tea/coffee facilities,loads of drawers and a big wardrobe for clothes.Very warm and cosy also and nicely decorated.
We had breakfast there on our 2 mornings which was very good we thought.A full scots brekky if required (or you could pick and chose just what you wanted)or continental with the normal cereals,pastries,meats,cheese,fruit etc.,Also toast,orange/apple juice and as much tea/coffee aswell.Should have been £12.50 each (bit dear really),but doing special offer at mo for £6.95 each.Not bad.....and loads of it.Didn't use the restaurant in evening or the bar,but prices for both seemed OK.
We walked to centre on both nights which took about 20/25 mins depending where you ended up or you could take a cab for about £5.00 or more.We liked the Grassmarket area which wasn't to far from our hotel at all (about 10 mins walk).
The hotel also had a lugguage storage facility which we used on our last day,so we could spend our last few hours in the city not having to worry about trailing a suitcase around before we took the airport link bus (very good value for money and run every 10 mins) to travel home.
We would definately return to this hotel (there are obvs hotels nearer to city centre if you like being close to the attractions),but it was find for us.
Nice hotel and a wonderful,friendly city.......

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesseche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Just got back from visiting our daughter in Edinburgh. We chose this Hotel as it is just a couple of minutes walk from her flat. The Hotel was a Maternity Hospital ( one of my daughters friends was born there ). It is a magnificent building and the conversion has made great use of the original features with its wide staircases and high ceilings.
The Staff were warm and friendly, the rooms spotlessly clean and the decor tasteful.
We did not take breakfast but took advantage of being just a two minute walk from the excellent "Two Thin Laddies" a family run Cafe as warm and welcoming as was the Hotel.
Speaking with my wife, we both agree that this will be our base when we venture up in future, a great Hotel highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

immaculate hotel inside...breakfast fantastic, so much to choose from...lots of nice towels and toiletries in the room....huge bed..a bit lumpy...only negative comment is that the hotel appears grubby from the outside....taxi costs approx £4-5 to princess street....the staff were so helpful..couldn't do enough for you, especially the trainee girl that was on duty...will definately be back again as very child friendly...well done best western

Room Tip: we had room 401 which was a corner room, huge amount of space for four of us...heard the wind quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardengnome689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Arrived on the Friday at around 3pm, free parking in the courtyard is limited with room for 8 cars at a push (never got a space). There is a 24 hour carpark around the corner (Reigo street carpark) £15 a day, but the hotel do give you 20% back £3. There was some confusion with the reception staff to what the process was in getting the refund - if uncertain talk to the manager.
The room was a top floor upgrade package which was well worth the extra £20, spacious, big bed, nice TV, bath, comfy sofa, dressing gown/slippers, wine, fruit & crisps. Tried the restaurant only for Breakfast which was nice, would recommend the egg on smoked salmon crumpet, lovely. An excellent hotel with history, friendly staff and clean spacious room. The only gripe would be the parking but nit picking really. Will recommend and definately stay here again when I come back to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: £20 Upgrade package, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Booked off Laterooms, and being honest cannot remember why I chose this one. Got train into Waverley and walked as it didn't look too far. The first hill was like a mountain and I would recommend if you have unmanageable luggage don't even think about it. Takes about 25 mins at a decent pace. Hotel stands a on a main road just down from Novotel and a Premier Inn. Not really a great deal about until you pass the hotel in the direction of Haymarket where the road meets up with Lothian Road and civilization starts again. Lothian Road leads back upto behind the castle to Princess Street so the hotel is perfectly located for a good "lap of the old town". Building is old, reception is down the side and in a small yard. Reception was clean, they were expecting us and apart from a minor dispute over pre-payment of breakfast (which was half the advertised price) we were in our room within 10 minutes. Rooms as stated very clean and well decorated but we hadn't come to Edinburgh to sit in the hotel had we ? - 15mins after arrival we were having a brisk stroll up Lothian Road to find some decent pubs.

Reading other reviews I can only sense that there were issues on the weekend we stayed as the breakfast was a real pain. We came down at 9.15, and waited behing a party of 3 to be seated. There are 13 tables, and only 2 were vacant but had not been cleaned. The waitress was buzzing around taking table orders leaving her no time to turn the tables, the guy who was obviously in charge just could not seem to finish anything. It was like watching Mr Bean as he repeatably walked up to a table clutching a spray and a wipe got distracted and walked off. In fact he did not more than hand wave across one of the tables to knock crumbs on the floor. It took them 20minutes to recycle the tables. The breakfast was ordered from a menu. Salmon, Kippers or the usual fry-up where you chose from a list of items. We went for the fry-up. At around 10.00 I looked around the room to see who was eating and was staggered to realize their were 11 orders to be delivered to tables before ours. We counted down for 20 mins before ours came at 10.20, a full 20 mins after the breakfast had finished and we were not the last to arrive. Given it has taken nearly 40mins I expected it to be cooked from scratch, Sadly it was not. Not a very good experience, although as said I will give them the benefit of the doubt that maybe someone was off on holiday or sick ?

After a very long day out we returned to the hotel and went to the room. I went down to the bar to get a drink. As I went in I was met by two guests who were quite upset that they had been waiting 15 mins for the barman. Another couple said they had to wait also. I stood there for a while and just as I was about to leave, a jovial bar man entered the area - telling everyone "don't worry the bar man is here" . That was about enough for me, I took the drink to my room.

The hotel did suit us down to the ground, although I am not sure we would stop here again. Possibly next time we will go for something a little more in your face as I just did not get on with the laid back atmosphere.

Check out the Brauhaus on the left past the hotel.

Room Tip: The lift is away from reception and stairs are steep - there are rooms on the ground floor next to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mardood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#20 of 148 in Edinburgh
789 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing